Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893

Guatemala | Aged

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

7.0/10 (126 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
25
59
24
9
1

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


126 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Nico from France with 15 ratings

Un rhum qui ne m'a pas convaincu. Un peu déçu au final.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

Excellent vanilla odor. Good color. No overpowering alcohol taste, no burn. Good straight or with ice

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 188 ratings

Solid performance from the manufacturer.
The smell is amazing, I love this fruity sweet aromas. It reminds me of Zacapa.
I can tell you, this is a good rum for small money. I think the most Zacapase are based on rums like Ron Botran 15 and Ron Botran 1893.
I have the old bottle, what a beauty for just 28€.

A fresh bottle is not that aromatic and has too much wood aroma. But after some months the rum gets better with oxygen in the bottle.

Smell: Caramel, herbs, fruits (mandarine), dried fruits (plum), some wood, vanilla, lard (very nicely balanced, not too sweet)
Taste: mandarine, caramel, herbs, burned sugar, toasted barrel (wood), nutmeg, spice.
Finish: earth/cask, spice, wood, bitterness
Aftertaste: typical sherry aftertaste, cherry compote, orange

Country: Guatemala
Place: Quetzaltenango
Barrel: American white oak, whiskey, pot and sherry wine barrels
Material: Virgin Cane Honey
Age: 5-18

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (27€): 4.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 69 ratings

This is not any favourit of mine. Drinkable yes, but lacks character and I experienced it as too dry.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 137 ratings

Significant alcohol burn in aroma, full sherry body with alcoholic plain tail.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Trini-tallman from Trinidad and Tobago with 7 ratings

A little harsh, but good with soda to enjoy. This is 18, but I've had better 12 year old runs.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Nismo86 from France with 12 ratings

Un bon rhum, facile à trouver, accessible tant en terme de prix que de goût, pas de parti pris extrême... Je ne le trouve pas "épicé", contrairement à beaucoup, mais très équilibré, et facile à boire tout en ayant un réel plaisir.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Better average, not surprising but you'd be able to drink it the whole night long.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Der Geruch des Ron Botran 1893 Solera ist gut, der Geschmack dagegen 0815. Positicv: nicht nachgesüßt, jedjeInsgesamtoch fehlt Frucht und v.a. Raffinesse. Insgesamt kein schlechter Rum, ohne großartige Ecken und Kanten, aber am ehesten zum Mixen geeignet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 159 ratings

This Solera Ron with distillate between 5 and 18 years old has a well balanced sweetness. In your nose you can feel oak, vanilla and caramel but also dried fruit. Then in your mouth you can together with above mentioned also feel some orange, I believe.
It’s also quite complex and a good budget priced Ron.