Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893

Guatemala | Aged

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

7.0/10
130 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
27
61
23
9
1

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

130 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Color:Dark caramel
Nose:Strong vanilla,caramel, alcohol
Body:spicy,oak
Tail:aftertaste is long lasting and warming

Bottle: I have the old bottle,this is a masterpiece!The new one is pretty standard,under average.

I really like the old bottle, the rum is similar to Zacapa,but not as sweet,for me much more interesting! Price is very reasonable!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Was not very impressed with the flavor, smell, or taste. One of the most disappointing aged rums I've had. Still better than a majority if white rums, but at the bottom of aged.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Pomerne výrazný, mierne vanilkovy a malo sladký rum bez zlej pachute

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

A rum with an honest approach. The nose is decent, offering slightly sweet and dry notes of molasse, dates, caramel, vanilla and oak, but it lacks a bit reffinement. The medium bodied palette has a distinctive oaky character, but supplements this with lightly sweet molasse and dried fruits, giving a decent balance. There's a medium long aftertaste, consisting mainly of deep rounded oaky notes.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by gilel from France with 29 ratings

Rond, doux sans être trop sucré, épicé.
Il exprime son style (solera) tout en finesse.
Bon rapport qualité/prix.
Après plusieurs dégustations je suis toutefois un peu déçu du manque de personnalité de cette bouteille...

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Lasse Andersen from Denmark with 16 ratings

næsen er en anelse bedre end smagen. næsen er sødmefuld og med noter af sherry. smagen er skarpere end hvad næsen indbyder til, du får en lille overraskelse. smagen er semisød (7/10), men mest af alt tør. rigtig fin og godkendt afslutning. den smager som en lagret rom uden tilsat sødme. 7.5 af mig.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

Gave it some time to breathe & tried it again. It's a good rum but missing something. Just a very simple smooth rum. I would buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This one was a good one.. Great suddle nose, In the mouth it was lean, almost like a thick whisky.. With some burning sensation.. The finish is one of the longest i have experienced.. Full with complex tones that explodes and slowly fades away.. Great for a cold evening to sip on..

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 157 ratings

Endnu en af de rommer der i eftersmagen har noter af røg.
Denne er lidt lig Ron Zacapa dog med en eftersmagt af røg, dog er den en anelse mere tør en Ron Zacapa.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

I hope the change of the ownership of Zacapa won't influence the future of this rum.Its an almost perfect rum,typical Guatemalan,not as rich as a 23yo Zacapa but the price is the half. There is no rum in the price-class of 30€ which is better then this one. Wonderful teardrop bottle,quite heavy.Dark amber color, in the nose fruity,tasty.Compared to the smooth Zacapa a little bit of a bite in the throat,but it disappears immadiately and a little explosion of aromas follow.I start to hoard this,just for case it disappears

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 315 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: Aroma je suché, kořenité (stejně jako u Reservy hlavně skořice), s tóny kůže a sušeného ovoce. (84 b)
Chuť: Chuť je více do sucha, kořenitá, s kůží a dřevem, nic řídkého, docela bohatá. V dochuti je patrná mírná dřevitost a slabě i nahořklost. (84 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Od nákupu této lahve jsem si sliboval o trochu víc, tím spíš, že mladší stájový bratříček Botran Reserva dopadl při ochutnávce lépe. Špatný rum to ale není.
Teď už ho ale seženete spíš v novém designu lahve, měl jsem ještě starší plnění.