Posting your rating...
Botran Reserva rum
Botran Reserva rum

Botran Reserva

Guatemala | Aged

7.2/10 (66 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
1
9
23
24
2
3

Rate Botran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


66 Botran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3be4c509aa364a5b8ed11af3c4b345ba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Det er de samme folk bag som laver Zacapa "De har 60 %". Men den når slet ikke Zacapa til sokkeholderne!

Bab88dcca4c074a333221abaeec7b9b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

The Botran Reserve is not a bad drop, neat. The nose is good, the initial taste is on par with faint burnt toffee notes but the after taste kills it for me.
If RumRatings let me I would score it higher than a 7 but not by much.

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A step up from the 12 year anejo, if you ask me. Little more sweetness and flavor with less burn and funk. This rum can be enjoyed neat or mixed. Guatemala sure makes decent rums as is evident in this representation from Industrias Licoreras de Guatemala. Not as sweet as Zacapa!

2499375047af2e8484a8819d1122cd5a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 137 ratings

Pleasant and fruity. Overall well balanced with full body and decent aftertaste, that could have lasted a bit longer.

0d2eb74e303579fb6807d58d3a00d075.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 14 ratings

Less Carmel than the Solera but I enjoyed savoring it and it was less sticky alcohol than the Solera. Pairs well w/light seafood.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 352 ratings

Dieser Ron bietet viel für sein Geld.
In der Nase und Gaumen eine schöne süsse, Vanille und Karamell.
Der Ausklang könnte länger sein (wie immer).
Bevorzuge Ihn dem Solera 1893.

This Ron offers plenty for his money.
In the nose and palate a nice sweet, vanilla and caramel.
The ending could be longer (as always).
Prefer him to Solera 1893.

A09ef3ba12319215824b4d095e0acd79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 175 ratings

Aftertaste has just the faintest molasses. Maybe a very small hint of oak. Mostly an antiseptic flavor unfortunately. 

4a77781718c6a7860dccf5cdbe581f13.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by ondras.82 from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

I would recommend if you like more sweet rum with neutral taste.

B0e7552b39f9687f3c0cc34fc4f88af3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by BARCAS from Colombia with 24 ratings

Traído de Guatemala por mi hermano es digno representante de las tierras centro americanas. No se puede dejar de probar

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

One of the classic solera entry level rum. Is a blend of selectet rums aged between 5 and 14 years in solera system. Natural sweet notes of vanilla and dried fruits on the nose. Between guatemalan rums, I still prefer the Zacapa high end's.

47a41333812d487efa9175b357d09636.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I spent $23 US on this, and I expected something more along the lines of a mixer for that price. Instead, what I got was a delicious, complex, smooth rum perfect for drinking straight, with a splash of water, or on the rocks (my preferred if I can't put it in a freezer... I love my spirits very cold, for some reason).

Another surprise is how sweet it is, considering the results of the sugar test conducted by nomad and edited into their review back on page 1 (0-5g).

This rum is made from virgin sugar honey and aged via the Solera system in bourbon, port, and sherry casks. It definitely shows from the amazing palate. There's some dried fruits, almond, and orange (I love that orange citrus note on the tongue). The finish is almost like a chocolate cinnamon, only more on the dark/bitter-sweet side than the milk/creamy side.

The nose is also wonderful, giving off some charred wood aromas like oak, as well as creamy caramel and honey.

I absolutely recommend this one, especially as a baseline for introducing someone to Reservas. Obviously better can be found, but this is definitely the definition of a good Reserva.

Enjoy!