Posting your rating...
Botran Reserva rum

Rate Botran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


66 Botran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 344 ratings

Dieser Ron bietet viel für sein Geld.
In der Nase und Gaumen eine schöne süsse, Vanille und Karamell.
Der Ausklang könnte länger sein (wie immer).
Bevorzuge Ihn dem Solera 1893.

This Ron offers plenty for his money.
In the nose and palate a nice sweet, vanilla and caramel.
The ending could be longer (as always).
Prefer him to Solera 1893.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Aftertaste has just the faintest molasses. Maybe a very small hint of oak. Mostly an antiseptic flavor unfortunately. 

Posted over 3 years ago by ondras.82 from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

I would recommend if you like more sweet rum with neutral taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by BARCAS from Colombia with 24 ratings

Traído de Guatemala por mi hermano es digno representante de las tierras centro americanas. No se puede dejar de probar

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

One of the classic solera entry level rum. Is a blend of selectet rums aged between 5 and 14 years in solera system. Natural sweet notes of vanilla and dried fruits on the nose. Between guatemalan rums, I still prefer the Zacapa high end's.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I spent $23 US on this, and I expected something more along the lines of a mixer for that price. Instead, what I got was a delicious, complex, smooth rum perfect for drinking straight, with a splash of water, or on the rocks (my preferred if I can't put it in a freezer... I love my spirits very cold, for some reason).

Another surprise is how sweet it is, considering the results of the sugar test conducted by nomad and edited into their review back on page 1 (0-5g).

This rum is made from virgin sugar honey and aged via the Solera system in bourbon, port, and sherry casks. It definitely shows from the amazing palate. There's some dried fruits, almond, and orange (I love that orange citrus note on the tongue). The finish is almost like a chocolate cinnamon, only more on the dark/bitter-sweet side than the milk/creamy side.

The nose is also wonderful, giving off some charred wood aromas like oak, as well as creamy caramel and honey.

I absolutely recommend this one, especially as a baseline for introducing someone to Reservas. Obviously better can be found, but this is definitely the definition of a good Reserva.

Enjoy!

Posted over 3 years ago by mankri from Hungary with 33 ratings

Nice taste, it can be drunk neat easily. Good choice for that price

Posted almost 4 years ago by Unai from Spain with 45 ratings

Es un ron muy agradable para beber solo. Buena relación calidad precio.

Posted almost 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Beautiful color, Nice Aroma, Taste is good in the mouth, but the after burn is too much for me. I tried adding a small amount of water which really brought out the wonderful aroma but still too much burn. I can't recommend this one.

Posted about 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

I was visiting NYC and decided to see what new rums I can try. The store had a stack of Botran rum cases on display, at a great price of $19.99 USD. There was a display card showing recording artist Emilio Estefan as a spokesperson. I figured I'd give it a try. it has a nice nose with a slight alcohol edge. Smooth taste with a slight burn. Little bit of oak flavor. Nice finish. A really nice aged rum for the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Vyborny hutny rum, prirovnal bych ho k diplomatico, akorat mene sladke. Hutna vune s nadechem karamelu a duboveho dreva, barva tmava, chut karamelova, s prichuti duboveho dreva, jemna, hladka. Mohu doporucit

Posted over 4 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

This rum was recommended to me by the a cashier at the Mill Valley Market At Mill Valley California and for the price it was Fantastic! Love the aromas of vanilla and caramel is very smooth love this find. The cashier was right on this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

The reserva is named now as 15 years, it is bit woody and strong rum in nose, great citric profile on the taste, the brand advises to mix with orange peel or any other minimal stuff (probably bitters, old fashion, etc)

However I think it is an awesome rum for a incredible price

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

Zeker niet slecht voor wat je ervoor moet betalen voor een jonge rum lekker van smaak lichte Brand in de keel 👍

Posted over 4 years ago by -Kars- from Italy with 9 ratings

Gusto equilibrato tra dolce e secco, Sapore intenso di caramello e affumicatura, retrogusto vaniglia persistente. Accompagnato dalla cioccolata fondente è una libidine. Lo consiglio come start per entrare nel mondo dei rum. Difficile trovare un rum così buono a questo prezzo. Consigliato.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

A little burn, a little cinnamon, not too sweet, nicely dry. Flavors of wood, leather, and nuts. Good balance. 6

edit 1/18- IDK if the rum has changed or me, but I know find it overly oaky with an excessive cinnamon quality and a bit antiseptic. Now undrinkable to me. 3

edited for sugar test results-0-5g

Posted over 4 years ago by Patarum from France with 37 ratings

Nose: much on vanilla side. Drier than Zacapa rum which makes a rum a bit stronger with a noticeable alcohol burn. Good flavor of molasses.
Not a bad one but not very exciting too.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bastian from Germany with 14 ratings

Not bad with a lot of toffee and milk chocolate. Not too sweet but there are definitely better in this price range.

Posted over 4 years ago by BIGBEN from France with 13 ratings

Un beau rum, bien fait, simple, et proche d'un diplomatico, mais plus classic.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Visnivy, tresnivy, sladky, moc dobry chutnal skvele

Posted over 4 years ago by Dimas from US with 15 ratings

Good taste, balanced and between strong and dry. I recommend it cool, by the way this is a good mixer too

Posted almost 5 years ago by Strowell1 from United States with 7 ratings

Overall a good balance, not overly sweet good flavor.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

Un nez merveilleux.
Entrée en bouche délicate, parfumée et très douce.
Bon gout de boisé vanillé, fruits et une longueur en bouche magnifique.
Un très bon moment

Posted about 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

A strong favorite for this $20 price point, it has a really nice complex flavor that ends on the dry side. Not tried it with an ice cube as mentioned by other reviewers, that might help bring out some of the better flavors. Not a mixer for sure, but not as great as the Ron Abuelo 12 for $10 more.