Posting your rating...
Bacardi Black rum

Originally named Bacardi Black, this rum is now called Bacardi Select. The recipe is the same, which consists of a blend of aged rums, charcoal-filtered once before resting for at least 4 years in American White Oak.

Rate Bacardi Black

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


177 Bacardi Black ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

With its dark colour I was expecting a more pronounced taste. It smells a bit the oak drum but has a medicine like after taste. It's good for mixing.

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Got a sore throat and ran out of robatussin? NO PROBLEM. Introducing Bacardi Black! For when regular robatussin won't cut it, Bacardi is there!

Posted over 4 years ago by Tracie Neal from United States with 1 rating

The worst rum I have ever tasted. The flavor resembled bandaids, like a medicinal/chemical taste. Does not even hold a candle to CM Black.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

no comment, stay away from this thing, dont even think to drink this miserable liquid

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Canada with 9 ratings

I tried this on a trip to Alaska, and they charged a pretty penny for it, and it was horrible. I couldn't finish it and it was mixed with Coke.

Posted about 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Artificial and gasoline is what describes this gem for me. Buy captain morgan or havana club instead! Or eben better: Flor de Cana & Wray & Nephews

Posted about 4 years ago by Dick Bobby from United States with 3 ratings

Tastes like nail polish. The only positive to it is giving out free shots just to get rid of it. I would never buy it again.

Posted 21 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I wouldn’t have ever tried this. I went over to a friend place and he offered a drink, sure so he gets out this and I was no that’s ok. He proceeds to tell me that this sat in a filing cabinet for 30 years as it was forgotten about after a few drinks had been poured from it. It was actually really good mixed but you have to let it age lol.

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

I'm not sure why all the bad ratings as I find this rum very drinkable. It's smooth but doesn't have the fine flavors and aromas of higher rated runs in my cabinet. This rum is doable and OK on the rocks and I find it excellent as a mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

Bad on its own, medicine flavor. Whoever said bandaid nailed it. It's weird. Bad to the point that cola can't even cover it. It still has a weird aftertaste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Salman Khan from India with 1 rating

This is undoubtedly the worst rum, I ever had. Its taste was horrible somewhat like paint thinner. I would never dare to touch this horrible thing ever again.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ken from United States with 1 rating

Horrible. Could Bicardi have put just an ounce of effort into this?? The official that authorized this release should be fired. Nothing else to say.

Posted over 3 years ago by James Dylan from United States with 8 ratings

Bought it on a whim, as there's a first time for everything. I like dark/black rum, so I thought I'd give it a shot. After all, it has that oh-so famous Bacardi name on it, so how bad could it be? Turns out, this stuff is like the McDonald's of the rum world. Cheap, mass-produced...and talk about over-priced! If they didn't have the name brand on the label, this stuff would be on the bottom shelf at the grocery store, next to Myers's. $32 for this stuff is a joke.

Posted almost 4 years ago by jabbers from Canada with 2 ratings

Cough syrup tastes better. If you enjoy this rum there is something seriously wrong with your taste buds.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

I thought it was a joke then I realized the bottle read "Rum" on it. Nice try, Bacardi...but, no. This is a total mess.

Posted over 4 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

I've had some offerings in the same price range from Bacardi that weren't bad, such as Oakheart, but this Black is nearly undrinkable even in cola. Even mixed with much more cola than usual I could barely choke it down. It's not the worst rum I've ever had, but easily in the bottom 3.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr. Dave from Slovakia with 6 ratings

Bought this one because I thought "Black" would be something tasty and old-school-y. Not even close. Virtually no body and surely no nose. 3/10 if I am a bit smashed from it, otherwise 2/10.
Just not worth it. Save your penny for something else.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Petr from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

na přechod od tuzemáku dobré, ale v porovnání s rumy s vyšší kategorie, zcela nedostatečné. Je ovšem v celku levný a dostupný, nicméně OAKHEART je lepší.

Posted 29 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 31 ratings

Very sweet and mild but priced just right. Its just a bacardi.

Posted over 2 years ago by Greg from Finland with 5 ratings

Bacardi BLACK is a discontinued product that was quite a great value and very good for cocktails. The garbage that they now sell as Carta Negra is good only as paint thinner.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

Even if they paid me i couldn't tell you anything good about it.. terrible sweet taste that leaves a negative feeling in your mouth.. not even adding coke helps this rum imo thkugh if you have a bottle, that's the best way to finish it

Posted over 2 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

About 17 different but bad after-tastes. Not sure why Bacardi keeps this on the market. It's just bad.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

I found this in the Philippines on a business trip once and bought it because it was about $3 in the convenience store. I've been unable to get rid of it since. It's a foul tasting beverage. It's very close to being as bad as Bundaberg. I'm actually curious how they make it this bad.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

I'd list the flavours, but it's a short list... Fine:

Poison
Alcohol

Posted over 3 years ago by TJ from United States with 3 ratings

I go to this rum because it has good flavor, no burn, and is not as expensive as other rums similar to it. It's not the top shelf but is way above the bottom!