Posting your rating...
Bacardi Black rum

Bacardi Black

Puerto Rico | Dark

Originally named Bacardi Black, this rum is now called Bacardi Select. The recipe is the same, which consists of a blend of aged rums, charcoal-filtered once before resting for at least 4 years in American White Oak.

4.1/10 (195 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
22
20
34
26
54
14
15
6
2
2

Rate Bacardi Black

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


195 Bacardi Black ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Dont waste your money on this thing. Its same trash as Morgan just not with as good PR as Morgan has. Its pretty useless to write anything about taste or smell here. Simple said - its aweful and you should avoid it.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 62 ratings

Very sweet and mild but priced just right. Its just a bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Greg from Finland with 5 ratings

Bacardi BLACK is a discontinued product that was quite a great value and very good for cocktails. The garbage that they now sell as Carta Negra is good only as paint thinner.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

Even if they paid me i couldn't tell you anything good about it.. terrible sweet taste that leaves a negative feeling in your mouth.. not even adding coke helps this rum imo thkugh if you have a bottle, that's the best way to finish it

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

About 17 different but bad after-tastes. Not sure why Bacardi keeps this on the market. It's just bad.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

I found this in the Philippines on a business trip once and bought it because it was about $3 in the convenience store. I've been unable to get rid of it since. It's a foul tasting beverage. It's very close to being as bad as Bundaberg. I'm actually curious how they make it this bad.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

I'd list the flavours, but it's a short list... Fine:

Poison
Alcohol

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by TJ from United States with 3 ratings

I go to this rum because it has good flavor, no burn, and is not as expensive as other rums similar to it. It's not the top shelf but is way above the bottom!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

Tasted ok, but too sweet, this is one of the rums that give me a headache. Too sweet when mixed with coke.

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by furgone69 from United States with 1 rating

Trying to find rums that are every day negotiable and appealing enough to buy again :
Creosote (banned by US Gov for years) was used to preserve telephone poles from rotting .
Having lived close to creosote plant for years , I know Creosote .
Tar smells better and and is more palatable .
To duplicate Bacardi Black : Simply take a shot of vodka and lick the inside of your chimney flue.

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by Mainah93 from United States with 1 rating

At first this rum seems to have a bit of a bad rep, but I must say it's much better over runs such as malibu black. This rum has a tad lighter color than some traditional rums I have seen, suck as Kraken, although I suspect it is darkened by a bit of caramel.

Chilled, this rum seems easy to drink straight for me, the aftertaste is a bit of a sweet cane and slight bitterness. The burn while drinking this rum is actually not that bad at all.

Overall, this rum may seem bad at first, but I think this can be a decent rum for a backyard party or a decent mixing rum for a cheap but doable drinking party.