Posting your rating...
Botran Anejo 8-Year rum

Botran Anejo 8-Year

Guatemala | Aged

5.5/10 (12 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
2
1
1

Rate Botran Anejo 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


12 Botran Anejo 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Decent rum. Vanilla, more mineral and spicy than sweet. Still gotta try the 18 and 25...

3f57dddbefc6c17936ea3b46d7a413bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Ron de 8 anos que parece de 5, solo para mezclar. No me gusto.

F94837b3333c26625f55b05621469eb9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Bernie from Germany with 28 ratings

Probiert im Rahmen eines Tumtastings.
Leider schmeckt er mir überhaupt nicht. Pur viel zu scharf hilft auch Eis nicht wirklich. Höchstens als Mixgetränk mit Cola akzeptabel.
Im Aroma würzig ist er im Geschmack hart brennend, im Abgang extrem sprittig. Leider absolut keine Kaufempfehlung.

77cf0ed7449cd0e9fa3840453dd341f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 64 ratings

Had a bottle of this when vacationing in El salvador. Was average with lime & coke, so probably not good as a sipper either. Looking forward to try the older blends, though.

70493ea3489c599a3dfce792b1f47f49.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by pocasi from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Botrano je pro me jemny rum, ale bez vyraznejsi chuti. Nakonci lehounce alkoholova chut. Takovy lepsi prumer 5.8 bodu.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

I had a bottle of Ron Botran Añejo 8y while vacationing in Oaxaca Mexico. Pretty decent bottle and label design. Surprisingly strong alcohol to the nose and palate if neat sipped for an eight year old rum. Mixes well with your favorite soda.

F8a9726912ee66d032eff9be774fd71d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Luka from Croatia with 16 ratings

I bought this one considering the price and reputation of the brand.

I tried it neat and it was very alcoholy (even on the nose) with a lot of burn but through that I could sense the complexity of aromas struggling to get through.
I drank half the bottle and left it for a month and a half untouched.

Coming back to it I opened the bottle again and the alcoholy smell was gone by a good margin of 70 percent. I thought my nose is playing tricks on me but after the first sip neat it was the same. The burn was almost gone and the complex aromas that were struggling at first came to light. I do not now if it is possible that rum changes so much left opened for so long but it come for the better. Go figure.

As a mixer (especially cola) I found it to be much better than some more famous and more expensive rums that I already rated.

1e8b98d92b9869edff1eb56c9bdbae34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by vojt466 from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Ve vuni prakticky nulove, az na prostupujici alkohol a nejaky ten karamel. V chuti uz je to o neco lepsi - karamel, ovocny dzus, korenitost. V dozvuku primarne korenitost. Spise tenci telo a lehci charakter, neni ani moc sladky

5d16ba36864cb4ae33ff76b4161cfa20.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Len from United States with 3 ratings

It's a fairly dry rum and you can taste the oak. Not too sweet. Happy that I brought a bottle back from the Panama Canal cruise.

Cae633a88e70546ada030427e7e35091.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

Stay away from this one. When travelling in Guatemala I was always happily consuming the Botran 12, but its younger sibling is considerably harsher with unbalanced flavours and a lingering chemical aftertaste. Felt like it was rushed. Made a poor rum & coke as well.