Posting your rating...
Bacardi 8 rum

Bacardi 8-Year is a blended rum, filtered using the Bacardi-pioneered charcoal filtering system and aged for eight years.

This rum was not released to the public until 1995, when the first limited edition Bacardi 8 was sold with a sherry oak finish in a Baccarat crystal decanter. Despite a price tag of $400 per bottle, the rum was hugely popular and led to the larger release of the blend without the collectors' features and price.

Rate Bacardi 8

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


390 Bacardi 8 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Este ron lo suelo tomar mezclado con Coca-Cola, es un ron suave y ligero, es uno de mis consentidos

Posted over 7 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 33 ratings

Very smooth with a smokey, almost Scotch-like finish. An excellent sipping rum with good (if not very strong) flavor, and lacking the heavy kick of many aged rums. I'd recommend this as a first step for anyone looking to explore sipping rums. It's an excellent value for the price (I paid $19.99 for 750 mL), one that doesn't make me hate myself if I decide to use it as a mixer.

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Really nice tasting rum. Smooth, with a little bit of smoke and a lot of dark berry fruits. Definitely a sipper. If you like Appleton, this is a rum for you. Also one of the cheapest out there, no matter where you are. Sorry Bacardi haters, but sometimes you gotta give the devils their due.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Tim from United States with 11 ratings

Smooth, smooth, smooth! Very drinkable. Subtle Smoky, woody, spice notes. Not overly sweet with great character and depth. Very enjoyable!

Posted over 5 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

And I see why. Quite enjoyable.

Nose: Quite enjoyable light floral.
Feel: A little light and watery but warms up increasing the flavours along the way. Not overly harsh but a little warm at the end.
Taste: Light caramel, not much wood or other complexity.
Colour: You can see in the picture as the bottle is not tinted.
Presentation: Nice bottle.

While not quite as good as the limited reserve, at a mere fraction of the cost, I would pick this one every day.

Posted over 4 years ago by Hornet from Germany with 18 ratings

Yeah, not bad at all, but not really a sipper for me. Makes for a great grog or cocktail, though!

Posted over 4 years ago by James from United States with 5 ratings

It tastes exactly what people think rum tastes like.nothing is too special about it.

Posted over 7 years ago by El Toro from United Kingdom with 31 ratings

One of my favourite rums, Bacardi 8 tastes great straight, with coke and makes banging Old Fashioneds.
Great entry level rum to convince newbies.

Posted over 7 years ago by fenwaysteve from United States with 4 ratings

For the price, it's delicious. Great way to open your eyes and see what sipping rums can be and test them out. Strong molasses flavor, has a auburn color, and a bit sharper than some others that are pricier. But, clearly, that's what you're paying for.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ryan from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Great flavour for such little money. Would have scored higher if it had a better nose.

Posted about 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

This have its advantages. Suitable in mixed drinks any day of the week!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 8 ratings

I like my rum to have some sweet to it. If i wanted scotch i would drink scotch. Rum, to me, should be sweet, but not overly sweet. 8 Anos has no sweetness. It may be good mixed with a Mexican coke but that's not my MO. I like to sip rum - maybe I'll buy some coke and try it.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

I tried, I really tried, but this is just awful.. The superior in a bit aged, just not good.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Sorry, but not even close to Appleton's 8 and Bercelo's Imperial. There's no body at all, the smell is faint, and the finish is rough.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ingela from Sweden with 12 ratings

Its not that good witout anything. But with a pice of dark choclate its realy good.

Posted over 4 years ago by JÅJ from Sweden with 33 ratings

Trevlig i Cola drink. Men ej ren.......
⭐️⭐️⭐️....

Posted over 4 years ago by KristofB from Belgium with 28 ratings

I would still advice to go for similar aged Havana, but still not a bad buy if you are considering this, has also a classy look that i like!

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

There are so many excellent rums out there to drink straight up, and this isn't one of them. It's a middle-shelf spirit, fine for flavored drinks, but too hot and one-dimensional to be enjoyed on its own. A great mixer, however.

Posted over 5 years ago by BostonFisher from United States with 12 ratings

I tried it on a whim one day and was pleasantly surprised. It's a good dark mixing rum. I can't stand the regular Bacardi but this was pretty smooth.

Posted about 2 years ago by Beekman from United States with 1 rating

I've been drinking and enjoying Bacardi 8 for the past 10 years, but the new bottle I bought recently had a new label and I see that it is now made in Puerto Rico. In the past I understood that it was the last rum that Bacardi produced in the Bahamas. Anyway, this recent bottle is very bad and nothing like what Bacardi 8 has been for years. What's up??

Posted almost 3 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

This is exactly the taste that 99% people imagine when you say rum. Then i discavered that rum can taste better than your imagination, but it takes time to enjoy this rum. Not for beginers.

Posted about 3 years ago by Drew Dyer from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This rum does not taste aged to me, need a lot of adjuncts to make it drinkable would pick Havana 7 over this all day long

Posted over 3 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

First smell is a bit strong on the alcohol, but it goes away pretty quickly. Lots of flavor and super balanced - no one note stands out. It's definitely not plain, there's a lot going on. Very delicious and blends perfectly with Coke Zero.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrejko from Slovakia with 24 ratings

Klasika Bacardi...do drinkov alebo s kolou..nic proti tomu, presne na to je urceny.

Posted over 3 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Widely available around the world, this is a good rum to bank on if uncertain of what else is out there. Initially I drank this straight as my regular rum while keeping the rest of the cabinet untouched but I was probably not given this rum the credit it deserves.