Posting your rating...
Bacardi 8 rum

Bacardi 8

Puerto Rico | Aged

Bacardi 8-Year is a blended rum, filtered using the Bacardi-pioneered charcoal filtering system and aged for eight years.

This rum was not released to the public until 1995, when the first limited edition Bacardi 8 was sold with a sherry oak finish in a Baccarat crystal decanter. Despite a price tag of $400 per bottle, the rum was hugely popular and led to the larger release of the blend without the collectors' features and price.

6.7/10 (405 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
8
42
90
155
75
18
9

Rate Bacardi 8

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


405 Bacardi 8 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Beekman from United States with 1 rating

I've been drinking and enjoying Bacardi 8 for the past 10 years, but the new bottle I bought recently had a new label and I see that it is now made in Puerto Rico. In the past I understood that it was the last rum that Bacardi produced in the Bahamas. Anyway, this recent bottle is very bad and nothing like what Bacardi 8 has been for years. What's up??

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonas from Sweden with 2 ratings

Tastes good. Not the beat but for the price it is very good. This is my house rum that I always have at home. Try it with the eggnog.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas from United States with 2 ratings

I Like it with coke. This one is a classic mixings rum. Not A rum for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brandon from United States with 11 ratings

Nice price for a good product. Not my favorite, but a good choice to have around for the friends who always show up empty handed but wouldn’t mind a drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

I really love the aroma to the point that every time I walked by I would uncork it for a whiff.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by belgiumtom from Belgium with 9 ratings

Good on the Rocks and for blending too. Strong taste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Simon from Finland with 2 ratings

A ok rum but not enough sweetness for my taste. Very oaky and close to whiskey. I like my rum a little mor fruity and sweet

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Decent but doesn't stand out in any direction, which makes it perfect to use for mixed drinks. I like that it's not extremely sweet. I dislike the price though. Better stuff available in similar price range.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

I've always been a believer that Bacardi was a go to for VERY light bodied, smooth tasting, but also mild-flavored, lacklustre rums. This is the first I've tried from them with some layers of complexity. Definitely agree with the relations others have made with the smokiness of a scotch. Still has the textbook characteristic smoothness of Bacardi, but finally hitting some interesting notes. Would recommend this as a taster night must have. Wouldn't drink regularly, but certainly something to pull out to mix things up. As a regular drink I would definitely advise just a splash of cola to bring out the sugarcane tastes and compliment the dry bite of the whiskey essences.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dukedge from Canada with 13 ratings

I had given up on Bacardi Rums a few years ago and then I discovered this by accident - a gift from a fellow aficionado. I can say that the price point on this rum holds up against some rums costing twice as much. I indulge myself with my well selection, a few years ago I ditched the Havana Club 3 Y.O. for the HC 7 Y.O. This has a better flavor and finish than the HC 7 and can stand to be sipped very well straight up (with a cube if you like).

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mati from Poland with 15 ratings

The biggest advantage of this rum Is availability in our country (Poland), good reach taste, good smell, to good to drink It in drinks