Posting your rating...
Bacardi 8 rum

Bacardi 8-Year is a blended rum, filtered using the Bacardi-pioneered charcoal filtering system and aged for eight years.

This rum was not released to the public until 1995, when the first limited edition Bacardi 8 was sold with a sherry oak finish in a Baccarat crystal decanter. Despite a price tag of $400 per bottle, the rum was hugely popular and led to the larger release of the blend without the collectors' features and price.

Rate Bacardi 8

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


390 Bacardi 8 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I held off on trying for a long time this because I simply didn't expect to like it much. But I was rather surprised by the Bacardi Diez (10 year), so I thought I'd give this one a try. I like this even better (as do several other reviewers, interestingly enough) as it's even smoother!

A very smooth rum for the price ($21.99 at Total Wines & More, 2018). And it's rather tasty too. Like the Diez, this smells and tastes of molasses, vanilla, oak, and light spice. But it goes down even easier. This a fabulous rum for the money!

I think other reviewers might be subconsciously biased against the brand and/or low price.

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

This is a great entry into the market from Bacardi, smooth yet flavorful. Could be a 9 if it had more depth.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

It's OK on the rocks... Not bad not decent depth of flavour
..

Posted over 4 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

Initially, put off by seeing the Bacardi label, but bought it regardless. It does not have a wild after taste. I sense a bit of the molasses and vanilla. It's ok to sip neat, but I preferred it over rocks with a few drops of mixer. I would buy it again after a rotation of others in that price range of $24 or so.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Quite sweet and very smooth: taste of oak and vanilla

Posted over 4 years ago by Commodore from United States with 4 ratings

thought it would be better... same Bacardi taste which I never cared for.

Posted over 4 years ago by Garbage man from United States with 11 ratings

Bacardi easily pulls a win with this one. A good sipper to introduce to newbies. Easy to pick up on the dried fruit notes. Overall this is a great rum that won't cost you an arm or even a leg.

Posted over 4 years ago by Matthew Judd from United States with 4 ratings

I bought a bottle of this and a bottle of Appleton signature blend to break my spiced streak. I was very impressed with bacardi's new bottle design and presentation. The taste was even better! Smoothest rum I've had so far and you can easily pick up on the dried fruit notes. The chances of me picking up another bottle are very high. Great job Bacardi!

Posted over 4 years ago by Daniele from Italy with 5 ratings

Like nearly all the rum of the bahamas , really good and intriguing ! The taste is dry with hints of wood and smoke . Good value for money!

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

...that belongs in your cabinet, kitchen counter, or wherever you would keep a good rum.

but more of sharing with others than hoarding away for your self only type.
your guest won't fuss nor anger at quality; but won't delight either.

makes great cocktail base, great mixed with cola but why?, tolerable drinking straight at room temp.

not great, but just ordinary good.

Posted over 4 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Well balanced rum with touch of whiskey.
Aroma of plums, nuts and brown sugar.
Taste is lightly sweet with tones of raspberry, mango and oak.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

Is maar een bacardi is al beter dan de rest maar doe er toch maar cola bij dan is hij lekker

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Shumaker from United States with 23 ratings

This is one of my favorite runs. Perfectly blended and a great every day rum at a decent price. Lots of oak vanilla and a bit of Sherry. Don't use ice with it a small splash of water unlocks its beauty

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

want a good tasting rum for cocktails, nice taste, reasonably priced. does the job.

Posted over 4 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

Good value, bit better than botran 8, better body. Might be so sweetness for me but not bad. Great on mixing with fruits.

Posted over 4 years ago by Don Ron from Germany with 41 ratings

Starker, rauchiger rum.
Diesem rum fehlt ein ausgeprägten körper. Nicht mein Geschmack für dem preis aber voll ok.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Je le mélange souvent avec du coke. Il est pas cher et par rapport aux Bacardi blanc c est toute une différence

Posted over 4 years ago by AC from United States with 26 ratings

Nice drink. A staple in my house fruity taste and Amber coloring are very nice.

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

I know there are tons of people just waiting in the shadows to badmouth Bacardi, but not this guy. This is not the best sipping rum but does wonders in ANY recipe that calls for dark rum. If it's a Cuba Libre night, get this and you won't be disappointed.

Posted over 4 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

I was pleasantly surprised when i tasted this one. Great with coke and also suitable for sipping. Bit of a strong flavour. One of the best bacardi's i have tasted so far.
7.5/10

Posted over 4 years ago by Maarten from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Some guy said to me that this is a great rum for cuba libre for a fair price. So i tried it and it's pretty taste. I also this this in a regular bacardi cola but that wasn't that great. Then i made a rum old fashion that was pretty sweet(after the first try cause i used to much bitters the first time). I haven't tried sipping it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have to admit I did not have very high aspirations with this rum. After all, Bacardi tends to be lumped in with the cheaper rums just about every package store carries (along with Capt. Morgan and Malibu). However this rum is not all that bad. Not great, mind you, but when you are stuck in Podunk, U.S.A. in the backwoods of some rural part of the country and they only carry three brands of rum (I base this on personal experience), there may be a chance this rum will be sold. If so, then it's gotta be your choice since the other two brands suck in my humble opinion.

Granted, this isn't going to be a top-of-the-line rum by any stretch of the imagination. Take it for what it is...a mass produced aged rum lacking a lot of bells and whistles but containing a fairly high standard of quality. The aroma in the bottle has a bit of astringency about it but the flavor does not really represent that. Instead there is a noticeable oak flavor to it as well as some caramel and vanilla. Then there is a bit of spiciness to it. The burn isn't harsh so I consider it a fairly smooth rum. Overall it's a usable rum when nothing else better is available.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stefano from Italy with 12 ratings

Bacardi 8 is a nice rum to drink alone, with cola is very good.

Posted over 4 years ago by John Smith from United States with 15 ratings

One of Barcardi's better rums, nice light caramel taste great mixed with cola. Golden brown color that gets lost when mixed with anything. An okay sipping rum but not great

Posted over 4 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

Nice smell, medium to low sweetness, nice balanced taste, no big complexity but makes a decent cuba libre. This was my first dark rum that made me change my mind about rum as everything I tried before on dark rums was barely ok (like HC7 or Bacardi 5) or simply terrific (Arehucas carta de oro). Typical bar choice where you don't find high quality rums.