Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Abuelo Centuria

Panama | Aged

Only the most successful inspirations become legacies; legacies that are cherished and passed down from generation to generation. "Centuria" is our most guarded family treasure. It is the result of patience and passion for the details, embodied in our family's rum-making tradition since 1908. The taste of our legacy.

8.8/10 (132 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
14
24
45
44

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


132 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I read a lot of hype on this rum online as well as the ratings here.

I decided to spend the $125 making this the most expensive rum I've purchased thus far.

With all the hype and for the asking price I expected a high standard.

I was disappointed.

I wish to make it clear...this is not...I repeat NOT a bad rum whatsoever.

It's just not a rum worthy of a $125 price tag. $40-$50 USD would be much more reasonable.

Although it has a pleasant aroma and looks great in the snifter with a deep mahogany color, the flavor is...well...lacking.

Surprising it's not nearly as smooth as I expected. In fact it's rather harsh. This is an expensive mixing rum in my opinion, not a sipper.

One source says only 200 cases of this rum were imported into the United States...another source says only 3000 bottles were produced.

However the ready availability of this rum makes me wonder if the bottle I have is a "second generation" Centuria. I read several reviews on this rum and what I am tasting in my bottle does not even come close to resembling what is described in this reviews. Makes me wonder....

As I said, it's not a bad rum...it hits you with a initial mixture of sweetness and vanilla which receives a peppery kick. A nice strong warmth hits the throat leaving a toffee/vanilla finish. But it has an strong oak bitterness about it that reminds me more of a younger, maybe 3-yr, rum rather than one that is a blend of older rums. What gives? I just cannot give what I am trying more than a 7.

E00df848e7316900628d6bba8fab7f9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by jrodrig451 from United States with 2 ratings

I was a little put off by the price but it is completely worth it. The after taste of vanilla in your mouth is incredible

A0b9878dcedc4e4da67194c47e5aad33.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

A rare rum blend made in Panama, Ron Abuelo Centuria is aged in Jack Daniel's whiskey barrels in the solera method. Some of the rums are as old as 30 years.
Taste of:
Vanille, caramel, honey, chocolate, bourbon cask...
The flavour is astonishingly rich and punchy.
One of the Best !

2c103e821d2f3d1f8f8d20bcd1cb0e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample of this from www.masterofmalt.com for £12.17 after trying the Ron abuelo 12 which I really enjoyed.

The nose is rich and punchy, it's fruity and it's oaky too. The palate is equally punchy but with a smooth finish it's a rich toffee and oak combination but it's deeply satisfying nonetheless.

E4cad77c54d8181a46f9f77bf692911f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Oxv1327 from United States with 6 ratings

I don’t like to give out 10’s, but untill I find something better. This is my perfect ten!

4889e8d235de614abac629e5c707e0e7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 66 ratings

Smooth and filled with depth of flavors don't pass it up.

135e2c5e4c0a3c8ff96465f91947b35d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

great taste, very good in Long taste. A Special one.

714782fb5b224080c77473a6fbcad986.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert eisen from United States with 12 ratings

A 71 year old novice when it comes to sipping rums, but I prefer the sweetness with a good habana cigar. So, while I,m not an expert I enjoy this rum a lot. It is softer than my other tasting samples (Ron zacaya xo and Facundo exquisito) but I enjoy them as well. Perhaps not surprisingly, while I like them all, I would rank them by price and the abuelo is the most expensive. I drink all with just a few drops of room temperature water. Makes a big difference!

Af1b2cb2e18c94a68756bd940d7fd511.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 127 ratings

Jeg havde forventet mig noget mere af denne rom, som ligger i en helt anden prisklasse end eksempelvis 7-årsudgaven.

Det er uden tvivl en god rom, men i forhold til prisen vil jeg hellere anbefale 7-årsudgaven.

498243794d17963053ee2c7018e9ad9a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Sebastien from Belgium with 11 ratings

Although it remains an excellent rum just like the 12 years, the big difference of price with the youngest is not justified. Alcohol always delicately present and sweet subtle caramel

699744fc382f1879eb00f3b6324853ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

First thought: unusual nose. I never felt something like that. Very interesting, hard to indetify. Taste: it burns! Rich all kinds of flavour! For me smoke and oak but not strong very balanced. You can feel luxury. But... still strange