Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Abuelo Centuria

Panama | Aged

Only the most successful inspirations become legacies; legacies that are cherished and passed down from generation to generation. "Centuria" is our most guarded family treasure. It is the result of patience and passion for the details, embodied in our family's rum-making tradition since 1908. The taste of our legacy.

8.8/10 (135 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
14
25
45
46

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


135 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I read a lot of hype on this rum online as well as the ratings here.

I decided to spend the $125 making this the most expensive rum I've purchased thus far.

With all the hype and for the asking price I expected a high standard.

I was disappointed.

I wish to make it clear...this is not...I repeat NOT a bad rum whatsoever.

It's just not a rum worthy of a $125 price tag. $40-$50 USD would be much more reasonable.

Although it has a pleasant aroma and looks great in the snifter with a deep mahogany color, the flavor is...well...lacking.

Surprising it's not nearly as smooth as I expected. In fact it's rather harsh. This is an expensive mixing rum in my opinion, not a sipper.

One source says only 200 cases of this rum were imported into the United States...another source says only 3000 bottles were produced.

However the ready availability of this rum makes me wonder if the bottle I have is a "second generation" Centuria. I read several reviews on this rum and what I am tasting in my bottle does not even come close to resembling what is described in this reviews. Makes me wonder....

As I said, it's not a bad rum...it hits you with a initial mixture of sweetness and vanilla which receives a peppery kick. A nice strong warmth hits the throat leaving a toffee/vanilla finish. But it has an strong oak bitterness about it that reminds me more of a younger, maybe 3-yr, rum rather than one that is a blend of older rums. What gives? I just cannot give what I am trying more than a 7.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by One808 (PREMIUM) from Canada with 11 ratings

This is fantastic rum. It is definitely not a beginner rum, and not something I would give someone who is just getting started. However, if you're looking for something to learn from and constantly discover new aspects, give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

I have yet to have a rum better than this. It is amazing. It can be had neat, one rock, or a a few drops of water. You really cant screw this up. And for about 120.00 USD, it is not out of range. Give it a shot.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This is really a special art! Tasted this one in a small bar in the Netherlands. My friend and I were tasting different rums and the owner kept bragging about this one so we agreed to take a glass. Man we wished we hadn't spent our money on the other rums we tasted just to keep drinking this one! Great rum!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Manu from Germany with 17 ratings

Ein super Rum, aber für mich persönlich nicht süß genug.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 140 ratings

I didn't like Abuelo 12 year. It has too much rasin and dry prune flovers.
However, this Abuelo Centuria is extermely nice !
Has very thick body, complex and smooth.
I feel caramel, vanilla , coffee, and also dark chocolate on this.
Is suger added ? WHO CARE !

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jay24 from Belgium with 13 ratings

Oakey and smokey with vanilla and caramel flavours. A long and rich aftertaste. A great present for my 30th birthday. The best in my possession

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Mark from Australia with 6 ratings

I managed to track down a bottle for a home tasting session - this one to bring home my collection at the time - the consensus amongst the group was “outstanding” although as we were all a bit tipsy by the end it was agreed this one should lead off next time....

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Menno from Netherlands with 49 ratings

I was at the rum fair in paris where I first got to taste it. It is definitely tasty and good on or off the rocks. But for that price no then you have better for less much less

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Udemærket rom, sød og nem at drikke, som jeg kan lide rom, men aldrig noget der kommer helt op at ringe for mig..

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

This is heawen in your glass ! Absolutely in same league with TOP choices from other producers. Nice aroma, smooth taste with many layers and complex body, following with long aftertaste. Was my pleasure to meet you Ron Abuelo Centuria 😍