Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Ron Abuelo Centuria is a limited edition rum derived from a blend of fine rums aged in oak barrels for up to 30 years. The name recognises the 100th anniversary of the family estate in Panama.

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


131 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

When I first tried the Centuria, I wasn't sure how I felt about it. But I warmed up to it a lot better the second time and so on and so on. I have truly grown to enjoy it with much delight! I truly love it :)

Posted 4 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

This is a solid and nice tasting rum with no harshness whatsoever. I wouldn't say it is worth the high price of £125 though as i don't think it stands out massively but definitely worth tasting and very enjoyable to drink.

Posted 5 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

I was curious if this one would be my another perfect 10. I really like abuelo 12y so my expectation was high. Aroma is very deep with a lot of oak, caramel and little bit of smoke. Rum is super-smooth and very creamy. In the mouth you can feel flavours of vanilla, caramel and oak from cask. Everything is very well balanced. I would rate it 9,5 because its really awesome but centenario 30 is still slightly better.

Posted 5 months ago by Alex from United States with 4 ratings

While I’ve had this rum straight, I prefer drinking with a drop or two of water added to bring out some of the complexities of the flavors. This review is of this rum with a drop of water added.

Color — The color is medium brown. Not necessarily light or overly dark.

Nose — The nose experience starts with traditional rum flavors of caramel, vanilla, and brown sugar. These are the lead scents; secondarily, there’s a bit of a minerally smell and a slight floral scent. There’s very little burn on the smell, which is perhaps a benefit. Unlike some other rums in this price point, I did not experience much development in the smell as the drink progressed. The smell consistently remained with these traditional scents strongly at the forefront, with the rest in a secondary role.

Taste — The initial taste is sharp and sweet. Again, you get that traditional rum flavors of caramel and vanilla. The taste is not as sweet as the initial nose experience led me to expect. I did not find this rum overly sweet necessarily, but the sweetness was certainly at the forefront of the tasting experience. The lingering taste brings out notes of brown sugar, with also some hints of cherry, grape, oak, caramel apple, and floral, with a bit of light roast coffee. I would not say the linger is particularly long nor intense. I’ve found other rums in this price point that are a bit more intense in terms of initial taste and linger; here, the intensity is moderate at best. Like the nose experience, the tasting experience is pretty consistent throughout. The flavor does not shift much, with perhaps the exception of the fruity notes coming out a bit more as the drink progresses and the caramel dominating a bit less. The taste is certainly enjoyable nonetheless.

Overall, this rum ultimately did not earn higher marks from me because I believe it lacks some of the intensity of other rums in this price range. The nose experience is very good, but again, is not necessarily great. I found that the complexities of the smell just aren’t very intense. Similarly, in regards to taste, while you get the sweetness of the caramel, vanilla, and brown sugar, these flavors don’t necessarily linger on the tongue as long as I’d prefer, and the side tasting notes of fruit are too secondary. This is a very good rum, but I would not call this my go to traditionally flavored rum.

Posted 5 months ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

The taste of this one was totally reflective of the price. I love the 12, a regular in my line up. This has those Abuelo characteristics, perfectly smokey and sweet, but takes them to a deeper level. The aftertaste evolves for a few minutes, just a different level of flavors from anything I've had before. I will get another bottle one day, but only for those special occasions.

Posted 5 months ago by One808 (PREMIUM) from Canada with 11 ratings

This is fantastic rum. It is definitely not a beginner rum, and not something I would give someone who is just getting started. However, if you're looking for something to learn from and constantly discover new aspects, give it a try.

Posted 7 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

I have yet to have a rum better than this. It is amazing. It can be had neat, one rock, or a a few drops of water. You really cant screw this up. And for about 120.00 USD, it is not out of range. Give it a shot.

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This is really a special art! Tasted this one in a small bar in the Netherlands. My friend and I were tasting different rums and the owner kept bragging about this one so we agreed to take a glass. Man we wished we hadn't spent our money on the other rums we tasted just to keep drinking this one! Great rum!

Posted 7 months ago by Manu from Germany with 17 ratings

Ein super Rum, aber für mich persönlich nicht süß genug.

Posted 8 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

I didn't like Abuelo 12 year. It has too much rasin and dry prune flovers.
However, this Abuelo Centuria is extermely nice !
Has very thick body, complex and smooth.
I feel caramel, vanilla , coffee, and also dark chocolate on this.
Is suger added ? WHO CARE !

Posted 9 months ago by Mark from Australia with 6 ratings

I managed to track down a bottle for a home tasting session - this one to bring home my collection at the time - the consensus amongst the group was “outstanding” although as we were all a bit tipsy by the end it was agreed this one should lead off next time....

Posted 9 months ago by Menno (PREMIUM) from Netherlands with 49 ratings

I was at the rum fair in paris where I first got to taste it. It is definitely tasty and good on or off the rocks. But for that price no then you have better for less much less

Posted 9 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Jemný, voňavý, sladkost není cítit, ale i tak velmi chutný

Posted about 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 86 ratings

Udemærket rom, sød og nem at drikke, som jeg kan lide rom, men aldrig noget der kommer helt op at ringe for mig..

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 255 ratings

This is heawen in your glass ! Absolutely in same league with TOP choices from other producers. Nice aroma, smooth taste with many layers and complex body, following with long aftertaste. Was my pleasure to meet you Ron Abuelo Centuria 😍

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

this rum was aged in Jack Daniels barrels. Apparently, Some of the rum has been aged for up to 30 years. The smell and taste is very similar to the English Harbour 25 year old, although not quite in the same league. However, this is still one of the best rums I've ever had. 95+

Posted over 1 year ago by jrodrig451 from United States with 2 ratings

I was a little put off by the price but it is completely worth it. The after taste of vanilla in your mouth is incredible

Posted over 1 year ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

A rare rum blend made in Panama, Ron Abuelo Centuria is aged in Jack Daniel's whiskey barrels in the solera method. Some of the rums are as old as 30 years.
Taste of:
Vanille, caramel, honey, chocolate, bourbon cask...
The flavour is astonishingly rich and punchy.
One of the Best !

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample of this from www.masterofmalt.com for £12.17 after trying the Ron abuelo 12 which I really enjoyed.

The nose is rich and punchy, it's fruity and it's oaky too. The palate is equally punchy but with a smooth finish it's a rich toffee and oak combination but it's deeply satisfying nonetheless.

Posted about 2 years ago by Oxv1327 from United States with 6 ratings

I don’t like to give out 10’s, but untill I find something better. This is my perfect ten!

Posted about 2 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

Smooth and filled with depth of flavors don't pass it up.

Posted about 2 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

great taste, very good in Long taste. A Special one.

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert eisen from United States with 9 ratings

A 71 year old novice when it comes to sipping rums, but I prefer the sweetness with a good habana cigar. So, while I,m not an expert I enjoy this rum a lot. It is softer than my other tasting samples (Ron zacaya xo and Facundo exquisito) but I enjoy them as well. Perhaps not surprisingly, while I like them all, I would rank them by price and the abuelo is the most expensive. I drink all with just a few drops of room temperature water. Makes a big difference!

Posted over 2 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 119 ratings

Jeg havde forventet mig noget mere af denne rom, som ligger i en helt anden prisklasse end eksempelvis 7-årsudgaven.

Det er uden tvivl en god rom, men i forhold til prisen vil jeg hellere anbefale 7-årsudgaven.

Posted over 2 years ago by Sebastien from Belgium with 11 ratings

Although it remains an excellent rum just like the 12 years, the big difference of price with the youngest is not justified. Alcohol always delicately present and sweet subtle caramel