Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Ron Abuelo Centuria is a limited edition rum derived from a blend of fine rums aged in oak barrels for up to 30 years. The name recognises the 100th anniversary of the family estate in Panama.

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


131 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Ron muy agradable y suave, sabores persistentes de caramelos, especias tropicales. Se me hace muy similar al Roble ultra añejo

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 26-30 gpl. Smooth, rich with all kinds of flavour and an overall feeling of luxury. Oak, caramel, vanilla, smoke, spices, a hint of sherry. Really well balanced rum. It's expensive but go ahead treat yourself to some luxurious rum. As one rum aficionado so aptly said, "when you drink this rum, you know your ship has come in".

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Rich and delicious, a touch earthy, and remarkable long spicy finish. One of my go to's. When I found 2 bottles of this near me in Boston I grabbed both, thinking I would give one as a gift, since the presentation case is sharp. But... I kept them both.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I read a lot of hype on this rum online as well as the ratings here.

I decided to spend the $125 making this the most expensive rum I've purchased thus far.

With all the hype and for the asking price I expected a high standard.

I was disappointed.

I wish to make it clear...this is not...I repeat NOT a bad rum whatsoever.

It's just not a rum worthy of a $125 price tag. $40-$50 USD would be much more reasonable.

Although it has a pleasant aroma and looks great in the snifter with a deep mahogany color, the flavor is...well...lacking.

Surprising it's not nearly as smooth as I expected. In fact it's rather harsh. This is an expensive mixing rum in my opinion, not a sipper.

One source says only 200 cases of this rum were imported into the United States...another source says only 3000 bottles were produced.

However the ready availability of this rum makes me wonder if the bottle I have is a "second generation" Centuria. I read several reviews on this rum and what I am tasting in my bottle does not even come close to resembling what is described in this reviews. Makes me wonder....

As I said, it's not a bad rum...it hits you with a initial mixture of sweetness and vanilla which receives a peppery kick. A nice strong warmth hits the throat leaving a toffee/vanilla finish. But it has an strong oak bitterness about it that reminds me more of a younger, maybe 3-yr, rum rather than one that is a blend of older rums. What gives? I just cannot give what I am trying more than a 7.

Posted over 5 years ago by TJS from United States with 2 ratings

The best rum I have ever had. Complex and smooth with lovely hints of vanilla.

Posted about 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This will make you buy a Panama hat and smoke cigars, if you don't already. This is the best rum, I have ever tastes. Period.

Posted about 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

Damn this Rum is smooth, like the bass to a great 70’s disco hit, a wonderful expression of a top notch Rum.Think El Dorado 21, then bump it up a notch. I have a back up bottle and think I might need another. I won’t break this down flavor by flavor, I’m just saying it works and I’m giving this rum a 9 plus. Damn good rum!💪🏼

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

You really have let this rum breathe in the glass for quite a while. If you let it rest for about 20-30 minutes in the glass you get more and smoother aromas. Worth waiting for.
 
On the nose you smell sweet aromas as caramel, chocolate and vanilla. You also get some oak and a little bit of smoke.
 
In the mouth you taste toffee, vanilla, orange, spice and oak. The finish is long and smooth with some spice, oak and sweet flavours.
 
This is a very good rum but it has a bit too much oak and spice for my taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

WTH is it with the added sugars?!? Burnt at that. Exceeds even the moderately+ sweetness of the 12 year. The nose is excellent and you can literally nasal-taste the older rums in waiting...until you actually taste it. Sweet...more sweet...absolutely defiling the rum that could have been. Not until mid-finish do you get reintroduced to what this rum might have been throughout the palate; some really nice dark tea, leather, citrus & fruit intertwining with slight clove, chocolate, nuts and, and...well, after lingering for a bit, it's over. A shame; it could have been great. Very nice texture on the tongue. Almost a 7, but the burnt molasses - present but much better balanced in the Abeulo 12 - says "6".

Maybe a few months of decanting will help, but at this price should one have to? Bahhh....save money and buy a bottle of Plantation 20 XO and Mount Gay XO instead. You'll have two better distillations and won't mind telling your drinking buddies what you paid.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Orion from United States with 19 ratings

After months of looking for it, I finally got a bottle of the Centuria. The color is dark brown. long lasting legs on glass. Aroma reminds me of vanilla and caramel. Somewhat sweet but not over the top. Very long finish. If it wasn't so difficult to find (and expensive), this could be the best sipping rum ever.

Posted about 5 years ago by rumbob from United States with 3 ratings

i recently discovered the Ron Abuelo brand, and had my local liquor vendor order the Centuria. Velvety, opulent mouth feel, lingering flavors of caramels, tropical spice...simply one of the finest liquids i have ever had the privilege to consume!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

I got some money to burn on a special something and I decided that between a spear gun and rum I went with Ron Abuelo... Boy do I have fantastic buyers regret. I wish I could go back and return this but we'll chalk this up to lesson learned. It's too sharp and acidic almost like the bottle was left in the sun too long or something.You do get interesting flavors that linger on the tongue, but it comes at the cost of the initial burn and sharp flavor. I'm not really sure how they sell this as a $150 bottle... it taste similar to Zafra rum ($30 bottle which is good for it's price)... I'll stick with my $45 plantation XO that's far smoother and with a much better flavor profile.

P.S. I so surprised by the rum that I thought someone had switched out the bottle at the store with a cheaper one lol, I looked up pictures on the internet just to be sure I didn't get ripped off.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bert from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Just bought this excellent Rum and i have to order one more.
What an enormous experience of flavours

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

This special reserve rum was made to celebrate Abuelo's 100th anniversary.

Trully amazing experince. So silky, smooth and round texture. Easy to drink. Notes of Vanila, spices, smokey hints.

What a shame seeing others mixing it up with coke :(

Posted over 4 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 33 ratings

En nariz sencillamente espectacular dátiles ciruela ,pasas ,vainilla ,madera aún ahumado sutil. Aún siendo un prom suave tiene un carácter impresionante el deseo de seguir tomando,en palabra fina néctar de los dioses

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This rum contains a large amount of added sugar. Downgraded from 10 to 5, because I thought it was naturally sweet and smooth and came to find out that I had been deceived. Mediocre rum + lots of sugar = fake elegance. Not worth the price ($140).

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Great balance. Café, vanilla and eventually chocolate! A long beautiful finish. It has everything. I don't even know why I'm not giving a 10. I guess I'm just hopeful to taste something even better.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lorne from CA with 10 ratings

First fine rum I ever tasted and still what I compare all others to.

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

A premium rum! Well balanced, smooth, sweet tasty rum. Virtually no after burn with a nice meidum to long finish. I suggest that you drink this alone or with very special friends who appreciate fine rum. Whilst doing this take some time to appreciate what you are drinking and saviour the moment. Must add that the presentation box is very nice too

Posted over 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Cannot say it better than Forbes Magazine. Read their review.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

Great, amazing, flavorful rum. So far the best I have had. Once a yr on my bday I buy a bottle if I can get my hands on one.

Posted about 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Simpelthen top rommen, sikke en duft, man kan virkelig sidde i lang tid og bare dufte den meget fyldig aroma der er i glasset. Smagen er superb, meget voluminøs og en helt fantastisk afslutning med en lækker sødme.
Helt klaret et genkøb.

Posted 2 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 32 ratings

Very nice rum lots of depth and character, but at this price point there are far better selections. Solid 8 but I re-save 9s for superior rums

Posted 28 days ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

This is one is my top-shelf rums. This version of Abuelo is superb with a sweet chocolate aroma and a finish so smooth that begs you to drink more. A special rum for special occasions. This is a supreme rum. Sweet dark chocolate, vanilla, nutmeg on the nose. On the palate, this is silky, smooth, with a little coffee and the finish is amazing. A little spicy and medium lasting. This rum will not disappoint.

Posted 3 months ago by tobiasz from Poland with 15 ratings

A majestic drink, whose age tamed the youthful verve - and in my opinion the drink's weakness. Very elegant, very well arranged and thus a bit boring?