Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Abuelo Centuria

Panama | Aged

Only the most successful inspirations become legacies; legacies that are cherished and passed down from generation to generation. "Centuria" is our most guarded family treasure. It is the result of patience and passion for the details, embodied in our family's rum-making tradition since 1908. The taste of our legacy.

8.7/10
150 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
17
31
48
49

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

150 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Michael Shumaker from United States with 23 ratings

Very smooth. Would highly recommend. Nice molassas you just wanna dive into. The finish is sublime. I only had a small sampleso didn't get to fully explore it but it was nice

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 26-30 gpl. Smooth, rich with all kinds of flavour and an overall feeling of luxury. Oak, caramel, vanilla, smoke, spices, a hint of sherry. Really well balanced rum. It's expensive but go ahead treat yourself to some luxurious rum. As one rum aficionado so aptly said, "when you drink this rum, you know your ship has come in".

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This will make you buy a Panama hat and smoke cigars, if you don't already. This is the best rum, I have ever tastes. Period.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Rich and delicious, a touch earthy, and remarkable long spicy finish. One of my go to's. When I found 2 bottles of this near me in Boston I grabbed both, thinking I would give one as a gift, since the presentation case is sharp. But... I kept them both.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

Rich flavor. Oak, cherry and vanilla. Deeply thick and robust. Spice nots throughout and at the finish. This is an elegant, sumptuous sipper. I like the two oaks slightly better but this is fabulous. Smooth and balanced to perfection. Incredible rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I read a lot of hype on this rum online as well as the ratings here.

I decided to spend the $125 making this the most expensive rum I've purchased thus far.

With all the hype and for the asking price I expected a high standard.

I was disappointed.

I wish to make it clear...this is not...I repeat NOT a bad rum whatsoever.

It's just not a rum worthy of a $125 price tag. $40-$50 USD would be much more reasonable.

Although it has a pleasant aroma and looks great in the snifter with a deep mahogany color, the flavor is...well...lacking.

Surprising it's not nearly as smooth as I expected. In fact it's rather harsh. This is an expensive mixing rum in my opinion, not a sipper.

One source says only 200 cases of this rum were imported into the United States...another source says only 3000 bottles were produced.

However the ready availability of this rum makes me wonder if the bottle I have is a "second generation" Centuria. I read several reviews on this rum and what I am tasting in my bottle does not even come close to resembling what is described in this reviews. Makes me wonder....

As I said, it's not a bad rum...it hits you with a initial mixture of sweetness and vanilla which receives a peppery kick. A nice strong warmth hits the throat leaving a toffee/vanilla finish. But it has an strong oak bitterness about it that reminds me more of a younger, maybe 3-yr, rum rather than one that is a blend of older rums. What gives? I just cannot give what I am trying more than a 7.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

WTH is it with the added sugars?!? Burnt at that. Exceeds even the moderately+ sweetness of the 12 year. The nose is excellent and you can literally nasal-taste the older rums in waiting...until you actually taste it. Sweet...more sweet...absolutely defiling the rum that could have been. Not until mid-finish do you get reintroduced to what this rum might have been throughout the palate; some really nice dark tea, leather, citrus & fruit intertwining with slight clove, chocolate, nuts and, and...well, after lingering for a bit, it's over. A shame; it could have been great. Very nice texture on the tongue. Almost a 7, but the burnt molasses - present but much better balanced in the Abeulo 12 - says "6".

Maybe a few months of decanting will help, but at this price should one have to? Bahhh....save money and buy a bottle of Plantation 20 XO and Mount Gay XO instead. You'll have two better distillations and won't mind telling your drinking buddies what you paid.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by TJS from United States with 2 ratings

The best rum I have ever had. Complex and smooth with lovely hints of vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jfire2620 from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth as hell, good sipping rum. Hints of vanilla without a burn.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

This rum came in a beautiful wooden box from total wine. At first smell, this rum doesn't smell too much like alcohol, or any burn. The color is a beautiful amber. The flavor profile isn't complex, but also isn't bland. Not overly sweet, however I don't notice any alcohol burn. I do not feel the $125 price tag is worth it. However, I do feel this is better than most if not all $40 rums. This rum is probably comparable in price to the Foursquare rums (around $80-$100) . I notice a lot of hints of vanilla, maybe some caramel. I will enjoy the rest of this bottle, however I probably would not purchase again due to pricing. Looking forward to trying the 12yr.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 41 ratings

Damn this Rum is smooth, like the bass to a great 70’s disco hit, a wonderful expression of a top notch Rum.Think El Dorado 21, then bump it up a notch. I have a back up bottle and think I might need another. I won’t break this down flavor by flavor, I’m just saying it works and I’m giving this rum a 9 plus. Damn good rum!💪🏼