Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Ron Abuelo Centuria is a limited edition rum derived from a blend of fine rums aged in oak barrels for up to 30 years. The name recognises the 100th anniversary of the family estate in Panama.

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


132 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 433 ratings

The Abuelo Centuria is a great rum. It has a uniquely spicy nose, with oak, vanilla, caramel, and bourbon. Taste follows the nose with that unique pepper spiciness that is really interesting.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 26-30 gpl. Smooth, rich with all kinds of flavour and an overall feeling of luxury. Oak, caramel, vanilla, smoke, spices, a hint of sherry. Really well balanced rum. It's expensive but go ahead treat yourself to some luxurious rum. As one rum aficionado so aptly said, "when you drink this rum, you know your ship has come in".

Ac87e0556b4c8034515926b3e4e7f445.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This will make you buy a Panama hat and smoke cigars, if you don't already. This is the best rum, I have ever tastes. Period.

Cf90cd4d6b2dd63af7fa70be4757bce3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Rich and delicious, a touch earthy, and remarkable long spicy finish. One of my go to's. When I found 2 bottles of this near me in Boston I grabbed both, thinking I would give one as a gift, since the presentation case is sharp. But... I kept them both.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I read a lot of hype on this rum online as well as the ratings here.

I decided to spend the $125 making this the most expensive rum I've purchased thus far.

With all the hype and for the asking price I expected a high standard.

I was disappointed.

I wish to make it clear...this is not...I repeat NOT a bad rum whatsoever.

It's just not a rum worthy of a $125 price tag. $40-$50 USD would be much more reasonable.

Although it has a pleasant aroma and looks great in the snifter with a deep mahogany color, the flavor is...well...lacking.

Surprising it's not nearly as smooth as I expected. In fact it's rather harsh. This is an expensive mixing rum in my opinion, not a sipper.

One source says only 200 cases of this rum were imported into the United States...another source says only 3000 bottles were produced.

However the ready availability of this rum makes me wonder if the bottle I have is a "second generation" Centuria. I read several reviews on this rum and what I am tasting in my bottle does not even come close to resembling what is described in this reviews. Makes me wonder....

As I said, it's not a bad rum...it hits you with a initial mixture of sweetness and vanilla which receives a peppery kick. A nice strong warmth hits the throat leaving a toffee/vanilla finish. But it has an strong oak bitterness about it that reminds me more of a younger, maybe 3-yr, rum rather than one that is a blend of older rums. What gives? I just cannot give what I am trying more than a 7.

69630e45ea3c7b07883705a9ff840571.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by TJS from United States with 2 ratings

The best rum I have ever had. Complex and smooth with lovely hints of vanilla.

078245a64f744113bd02d5bc090b754d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 34 ratings

Damn this Rum is smooth, like the bass to a great 70’s disco hit, a wonderful expression of a top notch Rum.Think El Dorado 21, then bump it up a notch. I have a back up bottle and think I might need another. I won’t break this down flavor by flavor, I’m just saying it works and I’m giving this rum a 9 plus. Damn good rum!💪🏼

Ec96639ca1f6e5b0765185c214e991b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

You really have let this rum breathe in the glass for quite a while. If you let it rest for about 20-30 minutes in the glass you get more and smoother aromas. Worth waiting for.
 
On the nose you smell sweet aromas as caramel, chocolate and vanilla. You also get some oak and a little bit of smoke.
 
In the mouth you taste toffee, vanilla, orange, spice and oak. The finish is long and smooth with some spice, oak and sweet flavours.
 
This is a very good rum but it has a bit too much oak and spice for my taste.

38e42173d4e8f41f200528a5a164ca57.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

WTH is it with the added sugars?!? Burnt at that. Exceeds even the moderately+ sweetness of the 12 year. The nose is excellent and you can literally nasal-taste the older rums in waiting...until you actually taste it. Sweet...more sweet...absolutely defiling the rum that could have been. Not until mid-finish do you get reintroduced to what this rum might have been throughout the palate; some really nice dark tea, leather, citrus & fruit intertwining with slight clove, chocolate, nuts and, and...well, after lingering for a bit, it's over. A shame; it could have been great. Very nice texture on the tongue. Almost a 7, but the burnt molasses - present but much better balanced in the Abeulo 12 - says "6".

Maybe a few months of decanting will help, but at this price should one have to? Bahhh....save money and buy a bottle of Plantation 20 XO and Mount Gay XO instead. You'll have two better distillations and won't mind telling your drinking buddies what you paid.

D9adef176e1812d359ab87974e931a12.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Orion from United States with 19 ratings

After months of looking for it, I finally got a bottle of the Centuria. The color is dark brown. long lasting legs on glass. Aroma reminds me of vanilla and caramel. Somewhat sweet but not over the top. Very long finish. If it wasn't so difficult to find (and expensive), this could be the best sipping rum ever.

E47ebf82eb2a8d08e2db46ad27b60eb7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by rumbob from United States with 3 ratings

i recently discovered the Ron Abuelo brand, and had my local liquor vendor order the Centuria. Velvety, opulent mouth feel, lingering flavors of caramels, tropical spice...simply one of the finest liquids i have ever had the privilege to consume!