Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Abuelo Centuria

Panama | Aged

Only the most successful inspirations become legacies; legacies that are cherished and passed down from generation to generation. "Centuria" is our most guarded family treasure. It is the result of patience and passion for the details, embodied in our family's rum-making tradition since 1908. The taste of our legacy.

8.8/10 (141 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
15
29
46
46

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

141 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by rumbob from United States with 3 ratings

i recently discovered the Ron Abuelo brand, and had my local liquor vendor order the Centuria. Velvety, opulent mouth feel, lingering flavors of caramels, tropical spice...simply one of the finest liquids i have ever had the privilege to consume!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by tobiasz from Poland with 16 ratings

A majestic drink, whose age tamed the youthful verve - and in my opinion the drink's weakness. Very elegant, very well arranged and thus a bit boring?

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

This is a solid and nice tasting rum with no harshness whatsoever. I wouldn't say it is worth the high price of £125 though as i don't think it stands out massively but definitely worth tasting and very enjoyable to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

I was curious if this one would be my another perfect 10. I really like abuelo 12y so my expectation was high. Aroma is very deep with a lot of oak, caramel and little bit of smoke. Rum is super-smooth and very creamy. In the mouth you can feel flavours of vanilla, caramel and oak from cask. Everything is very well balanced. I would rate it 9,5 because its really awesome but centenario 30 is still slightly better.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Alex from United States with 4 ratings

While I’ve had this rum straight, I prefer drinking with a drop or two of water added to bring out some of the complexities of the flavors. This review is of this rum with a drop of water added.

Color — The color is medium brown. Not necessarily light or overly dark.

Nose — The nose experience starts with traditional rum flavors of caramel, vanilla, and brown sugar. These are the lead scents; secondarily, there’s a bit of a minerally smell and a slight floral scent. There’s very little burn on the smell, which is perhaps a benefit. Unlike some other rums in this price point, I did not experience much development in the smell as the drink progressed. The smell consistently remained with these traditional scents strongly at the forefront, with the rest in a secondary role.

Taste — The initial taste is sharp and sweet. Again, you get that traditional rum flavors of caramel and vanilla. The taste is not as sweet as the initial nose experience led me to expect. I did not find this rum overly sweet necessarily, but the sweetness was certainly at the forefront of the tasting experience. The lingering taste brings out notes of brown sugar, with also some hints of cherry, grape, oak, caramel apple, and floral, with a bit of light roast coffee. I would not say the linger is particularly long nor intense. I’ve found other rums in this price point that are a bit more intense in terms of initial taste and linger; here, the intensity is moderate at best. Like the nose experience, the tasting experience is pretty consistent throughout. The flavor does not shift much, with perhaps the exception of the fruity notes coming out a bit more as the drink progresses and the caramel dominating a bit less. The taste is certainly enjoyable nonetheless.

Overall, this rum ultimately did not earn higher marks from me because I believe it lacks some of the intensity of other rums in this price range. The nose experience is very good, but again, is not necessarily great. I found that the complexities of the smell just aren’t very intense. Similarly, in regards to taste, while you get the sweetness of the caramel, vanilla, and brown sugar, these flavors don’t necessarily linger on the tongue as long as I’d prefer, and the side tasting notes of fruit are too secondary. This is a very good rum, but I would not call this my go to traditionally flavored rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

The taste of this one was totally reflective of the price. I love the 12, a regular in my line up. This has those Abuelo characteristics, perfectly smokey and sweet, but takes them to a deeper level. The aftertaste evolves for a few minutes, just a different level of flavors from anything I've had before. I will get another bottle one day, but only for those special occasions.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 329 ratings

Další úžasné Abuelo, ve vůni i v chutí je hodně cítit 30 let v sudů

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by One808 (PREMIUM) from Canada with 11 ratings

This is fantastic rum. It is definitely not a beginner rum, and not something I would give someone who is just getting started. However, if you're looking for something to learn from and constantly discover new aspects, give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

I have yet to have a rum better than this. It is amazing. It can be had neat, one rock, or a a few drops of water. You really cant screw this up. And for about 120.00 USD, it is not out of range. Give it a shot.

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 1 year ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 73 ratings

This is really a special art! Tasted this one in a small bar in the Netherlands. My friend and I were tasting different rums and the owner kept bragging about this one so we agreed to take a glass. Man we wished we hadn't spent our money on the other rums we tasted just to keep drinking this one! Great rum!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Manu from Germany with 17 ratings

Ein super Rum, aber für mich persönlich nicht süß genug.