Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Abuelo Centuria

Panama | Aged

Only the most successful inspirations become legacies; legacies that are cherished and passed down from generation to generation. "Centuria" is our most guarded family treasure. It is the result of patience and passion for the details, embodied in our family's rum-making tradition since 1908. The taste of our legacy.

8.8/10 (137 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
14
27
45
46

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


137 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

This special reserve rum was made to celebrate Abuelo's 100th anniversary.

Trully amazing experince. So silky, smooth and round texture. Easy to drink. Notes of Vanila, spices, smokey hints.

What a shame seeing others mixing it up with coke :(

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Cannot say it better than Forbes Magazine. Read their review.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

Great, amazing, flavorful rum. So far the best I have had. Once a yr on my bday I buy a bottle if I can get my hands on one.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Simpelthen top rommen, sikke en duft, man kan virkelig sidde i lang tid og bare dufte den meget fyldig aroma der er i glasset. Smagen er superb, meget voluminøs og en helt fantastisk afslutning med en lækker sødme.
Helt klaret et genkøb.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Deleo88 from Singapore with 4 ratings

Definitely my fav rum so far! Superb nose, complexity and finish! Already had 2 bottles of this and still wanting more!

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 210 ratings

Very nice rum lots of depth and character, but at this price point there are far better selections. Solid 8 but I re-save 9s for superior rums

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by locorican68 from United States with 25 ratings

This is one is my top-shelf rums. This version of Abuelo is superb with a sweet chocolate aroma and a finish so smooth that begs you to drink more. A special rum for special occasions. This is a supreme rum. Sweet dark chocolate, vanilla, nutmeg on the nose. On the palate, this is silky, smooth, with a little coffee and the finish is amazing. A little spicy and medium lasting. This rum will not disappoint.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by tobiasz from Poland with 16 ratings

A majestic drink, whose age tamed the youthful verve - and in my opinion the drink's weakness. Very elegant, very well arranged and thus a bit boring?

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

This is a solid and nice tasting rum with no harshness whatsoever. I wouldn't say it is worth the high price of £125 though as i don't think it stands out massively but definitely worth tasting and very enjoyable to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 132 ratings

I was curious if this one would be my another perfect 10. I really like abuelo 12y so my expectation was high. Aroma is very deep with a lot of oak, caramel and little bit of smoke. Rum is super-smooth and very creamy. In the mouth you can feel flavours of vanilla, caramel and oak from cask. Everything is very well balanced. I would rate it 9,5 because its really awesome but centenario 30 is still slightly better.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Alex from United States with 4 ratings

While I’ve had this rum straight, I prefer drinking with a drop or two of water added to bring out some of the complexities of the flavors. This review is of this rum with a drop of water added.

Color — The color is medium brown. Not necessarily light or overly dark.

Nose — The nose experience starts with traditional rum flavors of caramel, vanilla, and brown sugar. These are the lead scents; secondarily, there’s a bit of a minerally smell and a slight floral scent. There’s very little burn on the smell, which is perhaps a benefit. Unlike some other rums in this price point, I did not experience much development in the smell as the drink progressed. The smell consistently remained with these traditional scents strongly at the forefront, with the rest in a secondary role.

Taste — The initial taste is sharp and sweet. Again, you get that traditional rum flavors of caramel and vanilla. The taste is not as sweet as the initial nose experience led me to expect. I did not find this rum overly sweet necessarily, but the sweetness was certainly at the forefront of the tasting experience. The lingering taste brings out notes of brown sugar, with also some hints of cherry, grape, oak, caramel apple, and floral, with a bit of light roast coffee. I would not say the linger is particularly long nor intense. I’ve found other rums in this price point that are a bit more intense in terms of initial taste and linger; here, the intensity is moderate at best. Like the nose experience, the tasting experience is pretty consistent throughout. The flavor does not shift much, with perhaps the exception of the fruity notes coming out a bit more as the drink progresses and the caramel dominating a bit less. The taste is certainly enjoyable nonetheless.

Overall, this rum ultimately did not earn higher marks from me because I believe it lacks some of the intensity of other rums in this price range. The nose experience is very good, but again, is not necessarily great. I found that the complexities of the smell just aren’t very intense. Similarly, in regards to taste, while you get the sweetness of the caramel, vanilla, and brown sugar, these flavors don’t necessarily linger on the tongue as long as I’d prefer, and the side tasting notes of fruit are too secondary. This is a very good rum, but I would not call this my go to traditionally flavored rum.