Posting your rating...
Abuelo Centuria rum

Abuelo Centuria

Panama | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Only the most successful inspirations become legacies; legacies that are cherished and passed down from generation to generation. "Centuria" is our most guarded family treasure. It is the result of patience and passion for the details, embodied in our family's rum-making tradition since 1908. The taste of our legacy.

8.7/10
152 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
1
18
32
48
48

Rate Abuelo Centuria

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

152 Abuelo Centuria ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tim Acel from United States with 9 ratings

So far probably my favorite. Just starting my collection of age rums and this one was quite enjoyable, got better with sipping, I think taking some coolness from the 50 degree night. Very smooth, good burn initially but this turn all into silky smoothness by the end. Paired extremely nicely with my RYJ churchill, bringing out the woodiness in both. This will be a mainstay in my collection.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

You really have let this rum breathe in the glass for quite a while. If you let it rest for about 20-30 minutes in the glass you get more and smoother aromas. Worth waiting for.
 
On the nose you smell sweet aromas as caramel, chocolate and vanilla. You also get some oak and a little bit of smoke.
 
In the mouth you taste toffee, vanilla, orange, spice and oak. The finish is long and smooth with some spice, oak and sweet flavours.
 
This is a very good rum but it has a bit too much oak and spice for my taste.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Orion from United States with 20 ratings

After months of looking for it, I finally got a bottle of the Centuria. The color is dark brown. long lasting legs on glass. Aroma reminds me of vanilla and caramel. Somewhat sweet but not over the top. Very long finish. If it wasn't so difficult to find (and expensive), this could be the best sipping rum ever.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by rumbob from United States with 3 ratings

i recently discovered the Ron Abuelo brand, and had my local liquor vendor order the Centuria. Velvety, opulent mouth feel, lingering flavors of caramels, tropical spice...simply one of the finest liquids i have ever had the privilege to consume!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by kudzey (TASTING CLUB) from Poland with 25 ratings

It's the most hyped Abuelo rum at RR tastong session with a nice brand presentation.

The nose is mild and not too rich, sour with humid wood and rainforest notes. One can also sense burnt wood and some raisins, vanila and grapes.

This rum is very sweet but not as sweet as other Abuelos. It is little spicy and alcoholic, woody, with some sourness and thick texture.

Doubtlessly it is the best Abuelo rum, unfortunately I learnt that Abuelo rums are just not for me. Fortunately, however, now I know I don't need a full bottle at home and that's why sample tastings are such a good idea

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 227 ratings

Got this sample in my second batch from Rum Ratings Tasting Club and participated in the virtual tasting yesterday.
It’s produced from molasses in a multi column still whereafter it’s aged in Jack Daniel’s barrels using the Solera method.
The oldest drops is said to be 30yo.
In nose I can recognize vanilla, chocolate and coffee. In mouth and palate I recognize the same + banana, some other fruits and hints of tobacco.
Overall it’s very smooth but a little too sweet for me (hydrometer tests I’ve read indicates 27gpl of sugar), I should probably liked it even more with a little higher ABV which should have balanced the sweetness.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Small minha orix%c3%a1

Posted 5 months ago by BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 53 ratings

Absolute great sipper.

Nose - Thick oak, sherry, leather, vanilla
Palate - Spice, vanilla, molasses, coffee

Mild lingering after taste with accompanying burn keeps this from being a ten.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Fourrunner08 from United States with 36 ratings

Sweet and leaves a nice taste. Goes down with a nice note. Definitely add to your collection. Good Sipper neat or with a few drops of water to open up

Small profile 1

Posted 7 months ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 113 ratings

Tons of brown sugar and molasses, both nose and taste. Medium spice with slightly oily finish with a long tail. Nutty, deep and dark, makes me think of a cigar bar in Panama. Not overly complex, guessing the weekend rum drinker will absolutely love it while the ‘pros’ will be bored. I could see stocking it as a great rum for guests, but I personally wouldn’t sip that often - just a little too sweet and not that interesting.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

I got some money to burn on a special something and I decided that between a spear gun and rum I went with Ron Abuelo... Boy do I have fantastic buyers regret. I wish I could go back and return this but we'll chalk this up to lesson learned. It's too sharp and acidic almost like the bottle was left in the sun too long or something.You do get interesting flavors that linger on the tongue, but it comes at the cost of the initial burn and sharp flavor. I'm not really sure how they sell this as a $150 bottle... it taste similar to Zafra rum ($30 bottle which is good for it's price)... I'll stick with my $45 plantation XO that's far smoother and with a much better flavor profile.

P.S. I so surprised by the rum that I thought someone had switched out the bottle at the store with a cheaper one lol, I looked up pictures on the internet just to be sure I didn't get ripped off.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Bert from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Just bought this excellent Rum and i have to order one more.
What an enormous experience of flavours