Posting your rating...
Abuelo Anejo rum

Rate Abuelo Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


120 Abuelo Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

This quickly became my favourite, and remains in my top 5. Delicious, sweet and smooth.

Posted over 3 years ago by mankri from Hungary with 33 ratings

Despite being a young rum, it has a nice taste and aroma, comparable to many of those aged for a longer period. I prefer it on rocks, but could go neat, as well.

Posted over 4 years ago by SureThing II from Slovakia with 29 ratings

Not bad. Not bad at all. It's quite drinkable but.. smell is much more expressing than actual taste. While your nose is screaming OMG!! Your tongue ends somewhere around meh. But still okay rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

This to me exemplifies what a standard rum should be. Very versatile.

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

That's cheap so I wasn't expect much.....but that's nice surprise.....maybe nose is nothing special...but taste quite good. I feel something new there. If you thing about cheap and common rum that's very good example to try.

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert from Netherlands with 3 ratings

To the nose there are hints of vanilla and caramel. Not too sweet, luckily. Passes the "eye-test" (alcoholtest) with flying colours.Drink it neat, from a tasting glass (no tumbler!!). Lingering taste. Great value for money.

Posted over 2 years ago by Steve from United States with 2 ratings

Very smooth and enjoyable to drink. Not happy about the smell but it tastes much better than it smells. Very smooth.

Posted almost 3 years ago by George from United States with 13 ratings

An excellent bang for the buck. Works for me as the go-to daily sundowner. An excellent representative of the Central American-Venezuelan repertoire: balanced and heftier than the P.R.-Cuban versions. Mild bouquet reminiscent of fine leather, vanilla and molasses. Easy on the palate and a smooth finish when sipped on the rocks or with a splash. I enjoy it with a dash of fresh lime or a few drops of Angostura hitters.

Posted almost 3 years ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Smells like caramel. Taste is not great, but not bad either. Smoky flavour, quite a dark deep taste. Its doing fine with my coke. Bought my bottle in Spain, which has 37.5 % alcohol. I found that the Dutch version has 40% though!?

Posted about 3 years ago by Olivier from Canada with 1 rating

Good price, nice taste and aroma
Was introduced to this rum in Florida
Enjoy on the rocks or a bit of coke and with my son
My number 1 rum

Posted about 3 years ago by N.G.Colin from Canada with 1 rating

Great rum for the price...no let downs! Been drinking it for years when I can find it, usually traveling to Caribbean or South America. Don't pas it up.

Posted over 3 years ago by Julian egea from Panama with 16 ratings

Por lo barato que es, es un buen ron.
Fuerte, con olor a alcohol y poca madera.
Genial para cuba libre (al estilo de Appleton)
Abuelo es buena marca, pero no esperes tanto de un ron de menos de $10

Posted over 3 years ago by DG from United States with 11 ratings

It's hard to believe this is rum. Barely passable as rum. Drinkable, but barely.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Keshia from United States with 1 rating

So smooth you can drink it straight! I have been buying Ron Abuelo as gifts on my numerous visit to Panama. I'd never tried it until recently I'm hooked!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

Extremely cheap rum here (under 10 euro). For the price you get a sweetened, vanilla flavoured rum, not harsh, not complex. For me it makes a acceptable Cuba Libre with lot of lemon and Angostura Bitter, but it will still be sweet. Anyway good value for the little price.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kaw from France with 21 ratings

lot of vanilla and flavour...sweet but not dry...this is my favorite rum for this price...

Posted about 4 years ago by Anastasios Birmpilis from Greece with 5 ratings

Ron abuelo is the rum with the greatest value for money ratio I own. Although an entry level, it features some interesting characteristics that in my opinion, are rare in other standard rums.

Colour: Golden to bronze
Aroma: Alcoholic and woody fragrance, although several sweet notes of cherry and caramel don't go unnoticed.
Flavour: balanced
Taste: Sharp alcoholic at the start, then smoother and sweet cherry and caramel to end up woody.

Ι really appreciate its quality for the price. It is versatile regarding its use and sincerely, I wouldn't mind sipping it straight up. Better on the rocks (small portion of ice always), in order to soften its sharp alcoholic start and release the aromatic notes.

Tips: Go buy one bottle or two. It always comes in handy!

Posted about 4 years ago by Russell from Canada with 3 ratings

Smooth and sweet, molasses flavor a little strong but still quite nice for the price

Posted over 4 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

This is my go to rum I grew up
With rum is a good rum to mix drinks and enjoy with friends and family. It has a good smoky aromas yet is pretty smooth in mix drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Great entry level rum. I prefer it on ice, lemon and mint with loads of ice but can easily be appreciated straight.

Posted over 5 years ago by FlixStation from Ecuador with 6 ratings

Tastes like cheap whiskey with added sugar. At some point I actually doubted if it was rum or bourbon. Awful

Posted almost 7 years ago by JIsurfer from United States with 17 ratings

Definitely worth the money. I can pick it up at my local store for around $13. It's somewhat smooth, but still has a slight burn. A couple of ice cubes takes care of that though. The taste isn't as in depth as the better rums, but still decent.

Posted about 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

This one is a very nice and smooth rum from Panama, with some vanilla and spiced notes. Nice one to serve with a cigar to me.

Posted over 7 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

This is my go to inexpensive rum. I ALWAYS have a bottle. Great price.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I enjoy this one straight. It has a good clean taste.