Posting your rating...
Abuelo Anejo rum

Abuelo Anejo

Panama | Gold

All great stories have an inspirational beginning, the same as Añejo has been for Ron Abuelo. It’s our youngest rum, both in age and spirit. Añejo is a fun and enjoyable first impression to our Panamanian rum making tradition. Where all the great stories begin.

6.2/10 (136 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
30
36
44
12
3
3

Rate Abuelo Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

136 Abuelo Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

Smells faintly of molasses. Mild and toasty flavor, with a bittersweet dark-chocolate flavor that develops as it breathes. Mixes great with coconut water. Can find it most places for $20 at most, though I happily pay $13 a bottle. Can't complain too much for $13.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 114 ratings

There is a good versatile Panama for a bargain price if I ever saw one. I can even sip this one neat, it is not so refined as its older siblings, but still has pleasant body, pronounced tobacco and white oak scent and taste, the aftertaste is ok. It overall reminds me of Havana Club Especial, but this Abuelo is better, with much nicer body and overall feeling. There is added sugar, some 20g/l, maybe a bit more, for this amount of money I can live with that. Makes very nice rum and coke.

Small img 1323

Posted 5 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

I didn't expect much from the rum in the price of 16 EUR (Czech Republic), but I was even more pleasantly surprised. For that price, it's destined to be a good mixer, but I think you can drink well as neat.
The color is rather lighter. After opening, you can smell caramel, a little wood and also a light smoke. The taste is again smelling of caramel, a little vanilla and a slight hint of citrus. The finish is slightly woody and has a slight smoky touch.
It is a 5 years' old Spanish type rum made from molasses. For its years, rum is quite soft and tasty. It's not that full (it's rather lighter/thinned), but it doesn't scratch your throat and palate at all. Definitely an excellent price-performance ratio. I will definitely reach for this rather than e.g. Captain Morgan.

My overall rating: 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Banchy from Puerto Rico with 1 rating

Hint of toffee, molasses & honey. Great for Cuba's

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Codogg81 from United States with 14 ratings

Mix with mexican coke and a cigar and you got yourself a good time!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

Okayish rum, very intense but surprisingly smooth. Preferably mixed tho!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Chavelo from Greece with 23 ratings

Very easy to drink and blend with clasic cocktails. Good value for money in Latin America.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by louisp.noel@gmail.com from Canada with 11 ratings

Good run
Fruity tasting
Not shy to serve to others people

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by JAN92 from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Its not great but drinkable. Plenty of others I would choose before it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by mc from United States with 50 ratings

Sharp and harsh. Thankfully, a low price. A few different varieties are better.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 237 ratings

Enjoyed mostly in Costa Rica in 80’s Rum and coke or some mixer required