Posting your rating...
Abuelo Anejo rum

Abuelo Anejo

Panama | Gold

All great stories have an inspirational beginning, the same as Añejo has been for Ron Abuelo. It’s our youngest rum, both in age and spirit. Añejo is a fun and enjoyable first impression to our Panamanian rum making tradition. Where all the great stories begin.

6.2/10 (133 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
30
34
43
12
3
3

Rate Abuelo Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


133 Abuelo Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dante De Rubin from Mexico with 42 ratings

Its a good rum, not everybody knows him. Its a good rum for the Cubas Libres

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by FlixStation from Ecuador with 6 ratings

Tastes like cheap whiskey with added sugar. At some point I actually doubted if it was rum or bourbon. Awful

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by JIsurfer from United States with 17 ratings

Definitely worth the money. I can pick it up at my local store for around $13. It's somewhat smooth, but still has a slight burn. A couple of ice cubes takes care of that though. The taste isn't as in depth as the better rums, but still decent.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

This one is a very nice and smooth rum from Panama, with some vanilla and spiced notes. Nice one to serve with a cigar to me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

This is my go to inexpensive rum. I ALWAYS have a bottle. Great price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I enjoy this one straight. It has a good clean taste.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Florin from Romania with 27 ratings

Un rom dulce, daca ai chef de un desert isi face treaba . pur si simplu o bomboana spirtoasa .
La inceput am crezut ca i rau , dar dupa ce a respirat putin m a convins ca e un rom decent ; si m am convins inca o data ca nu ai cum sa judeci un rom dupa o seara , trebuie neaparat sa l incerci macar de 2 ori .

am vorbit prea mult pentru cat poate ) . Titlul era suficient )

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by carlos from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Don't like this rum, never buy again..............

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 103 ratings

There is a good versatile Panama for a bargain price if I ever saw one. I can even sip this one neat, it is not so refined as its older siblings, but still has pleasant body, pronounced tobacco and white oak scent and taste, the aftertaste is ok. It overall reminds me of Havana Club Especial, but this Abuelo is better, with much nicer body and overall feeling. There is added sugar, some 20g/l, maybe a bit more, for this amount of money I can live with that. Makes very nice rum and coke.

Small img 1323

Posted 3 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

I didn't expect much from the rum in the price of 16 EUR (Czech Republic), but I was even more pleasantly surprised. For that price, it's destined to be a good mixer, but I think you can drink well as neat.
The color is rather lighter. After opening, you can smell caramel, a little wood and also a light smoke. The taste is again smelling of caramel, a little vanilla and a slight hint of citrus. The finish is slightly woody and has a slight smoky touch.
It is a 5 years' old Spanish type rum made from molasses. For its years, rum is quite soft and tasty. It's not that full (it's rather lighter/thinned), but it doesn't scratch your throat and palate at all. Definitely an excellent price-performance ratio. I will definitely reach for this rather than e.g. Captain Morgan.

My overall rating: 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Banchy from Puerto Rico with 1 rating

Hint of toffee, molasses & honey. Great for Cuba's