Posting your rating...
Abuelo Anejo rum

Abuelo Anejo

Panama | Gold

All great stories have an inspirational beginning, the same as Añejo has been for Ron Abuelo. It’s our youngest rum, both in age and spirit. Añejo is a fun and enjoyable first impression to our Panamanian rum making tradition. Where all the great stories begin.

6.2/10 (136 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
30
36
44
12
3
3

Rate Abuelo Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

136 Abuelo Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

Smells faintly of molasses. Mild and toasty flavor, with a bittersweet dark-chocolate flavor that develops as it breathes. Mixes great with coconut water. Can find it most places for $20 at most, though I happily pay $13 a bottle. Can't complain too much for $13.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by N.G.Colin from Canada with 1 rating

Great rum for the price...no let downs! Been drinking it for years when I can find it, usually traveling to Caribbean or South America. Don't pas it up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Julian egea from Panama with 18 ratings

Por lo barato que es, es un buen ron.
Fuerte, con olor a alcohol y poca madera.
Genial para cuba libre (al estilo de Appleton)
Abuelo es buena marca, pero no esperes tanto de un ron de menos de $10

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by DG from United States with 11 ratings

It's hard to believe this is rum. Barely passable as rum. Drinkable, but barely.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Keshia from United States with 1 rating

So smooth you can drink it straight! I have been buying Ron Abuelo as gifts on my numerous visit to Panama. I'd never tried it until recently I'm hooked!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

Extremely cheap rum here (under 10 euro). For the price you get a sweetened, vanilla flavoured rum, not harsh, not complex. For me it makes a acceptable Cuba Libre with lot of lemon and Angostura Bitter, but it will still be sweet. Anyway good value for the little price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kaw from France with 21 ratings

lot of vanilla and flavour...sweet but not dry...this is my favorite rum for this price...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Anastasios Birmpilis from Greece with 5 ratings

Ron abuelo is the rum with the greatest value for money ratio I own. Although an entry level, it features some interesting characteristics that in my opinion, are rare in other standard rums.

Colour: Golden to bronze
Aroma: Alcoholic and woody fragrance, although several sweet notes of cherry and caramel don't go unnoticed.
Flavour: balanced
Taste: Sharp alcoholic at the start, then smoother and sweet cherry and caramel to end up woody.

Ι really appreciate its quality for the price. It is versatile regarding its use and sincerely, I wouldn't mind sipping it straight up. Better on the rocks (small portion of ice always), in order to soften its sharp alcoholic start and release the aromatic notes.

Tips: Go buy one bottle or two. It always comes in handy!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Russell from Canada with 3 ratings

Smooth and sweet, molasses flavor a little strong but still quite nice for the price

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

This is my go to rum I grew up
With rum is a good rum to mix drinks and enjoy with friends and family. It has a good smoky aromas yet is pretty smooth in mix drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 100 ratings

Great entry level rum. I prefer it on ice, lemon and mint with loads of ice but can easily be appreciated straight.