Posting your rating...
Abuelo Anejo rum

Abuelo Anejo

Panama | Gold

All great stories have an inspirational beginning, the same as Añejo has been for Ron Abuelo. It’s our youngest rum, both in age and spirit. Añejo is a fun and enjoyable first impression to our Panamanian rum making tradition. Where all the great stories begin.

6.2/10(137 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
30
37
44
12
3
3

Rate Abuelo Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

137 Abuelo Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 12195918 1195749710440925 824266838056684870 n

Posted 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

Smells faintly of molasses. Mild and toasty flavor, with a bittersweet dark-chocolate flavor that develops as it breathes. Mixes great with coconut water. Can find it most places for $20 at most, though I happily pay $13 a bottle. Can't complain too much for $13.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Dnes si představíme rum z Panamy, a to Abuelo Añejo, což je 5 let starý rum z produkce firmy Varela Hermanos S.A. O historii firmy, sahající do roku 1908, se zde tentokrát rozepisovat nemusím, existují totiž stránky v češtině, kde si můžete počíst.
Abuelo Añejo je základní produkt firmy, v portfoliu dále najdete Abuelo Añejo 7y, Abuelo Añejo 12y a nakonec třicetiletý Ron Abuelo Centuria.
Abuelo Añejo má obsah alkoholu 40%. Některé e-shopy uvádějí 37,5 %, nejspíš existují 2 verze. Na našem trhu ho seženete nejlevněji asi za 370,- Kč. Zraje v sudech z bílého dubu a vyrábí se z melasy, což je v této cenové relaci normální, rumy z panenské šťávy cukrové třtiny jsou cenově někde jinde.
Testoval jsem v přímém srovnání s Diplomatico añejo, což je konkurent jak stářím, tak cenou, další srovnávací testy byly oproti Matusalem Grand reserva a rakouskému "tuzemáku" Stroh 40, který si představíme někdy příště.
Aroma: Vanilka a citrusová vůně, která je ostřejší, převládají zde spíše vyšší tóny,(což obzvlášť vyniká ve srovnáním s Matusalemem), náznak odlakovače na nehty, ale tato složka buketu není nějak nepříjemná.V přímém srovnání jsem spokojenější s Abuelem než s Diplomaticem Aňejem a Strohem 40.Matusalem už je zase někde jinde, na ten opravdu základní Abuelo nemá. (81 b)
Chuť: Chuť je velmi jemná a uhlazená, vanilková, napřed mírná, až s odstupem se projeví mírná štiplavost, hlavně v dochuti. (81 b)
Shrnutí: Proti středoevropským produktům velký pokrok, na lepší karibské rumy nestíhá. Ve své cenové třídě ale více než konkurenceschopný...
Kdo hledá jemný, ale ne nevýrazný rum za přívětivou cenu, je na dobré adrese. Pokud chcete o něco víc hutnosti, vyplatí se připlatit na Matusalem nebo ještě lépe na Diplomatico 8y. Slušný poměr výkon/cena.
Body: 81

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by ib from Denmark with 4 ratings

En rimelig rom.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by John Papas from United States with 16 ratings

At about $13 on sale in my area this a surprisingly good rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Case from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Vanilla on the nose, very very smooth, lots of sweetness, a bit of spice. Quite balanced. Excellent!

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

A good rum enjoyed straight and with coke

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Ron Abuelo Anejo is a high-quality Panamanian spirit that, to my taste, represents a good starting point for a person acquiring an interest in rum. This iteration hints at rums in the upper echelon, and its humble price point, I think that's the best you can expect. The similarities to the Abuelo 7 Year are tangible, but not sufficient to stand on their own. It mixes best in drinks that want the rum to be "seen but not heard". Put this rum alongside it's older brother, and you have an excellent educational experience.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Sly from Canada with 44 ratings

Good mixer