Posting your rating...
Abuelo Anejo rum

Abuelo Anejo

Panama | Gold

All great stories have an inspirational beginning, the same as Añejo has been for Ron Abuelo. It’s our youngest rum, both in age and spirit. Añejo is a fun and enjoyable first impression to our Panamanian rum making tradition. Where all the great stories begin.

6.2/10(137 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
30
37
44
12
3
3

Rate Abuelo Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

137 Abuelo Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 12195918 1195749710440925 824266838056684870 n

Posted 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

Smells faintly of molasses. Mild and toasty flavor, with a bittersweet dark-chocolate flavor that develops as it breathes. Mixes great with coconut water. Can find it most places for $20 at most, though I happily pay $13 a bottle. Can't complain too much for $13.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 44 ratings

Do not be fooled by the look, very decent on the rocks can wait to get to the older versions. light wood barrel taste

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

First this is a 7.5 in my book.
Drinking neat isn't the best idea because it is somewhat harsh upfront, but not harsh in a terrible front to back way like Bacardi Gold. It gives a little sting and heat so I can see someone enjoying it neat for this unique trait. Smelling it you get a large amount of cask smell followed by some vanilla and alcohol. Drinking it cola is similar to Brugal's line, large amount of cask taste and light alcohol in background. Very good in cola would recommend in it especially at 10$ a bottle.
Notes
-Stinging upfront bite when drank neat, not too bad can be enjoyable.
-10$ a bottle cant go wrong
-One of those "woodsy" rums both smelling and taste. Similar to Brugal Rum
-Very good in cola

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

nice rum for sipping on the rocks. Helped bridge the gap from being a rum only drinker to a rum or bourbon drinker.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

youngest and cheapest from Abuelo, small blow of alcohol harshness, but good choice for money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I spent a few weeks in Panama last year and this was my go to drink, either mixed with ginger beer or on its own as a sipper however, I’d say it’s a little harsh to be drank this way. If its a sipper you're after its well worth paying a little more for the 7 Anos, its so much smoother.

Small 2020 05 01

Posted almost 6 years ago by m keating from United States with 34 ratings

I found this rum on sale and a quick check online gave me hope of a mixer. It was not to be, the strong medicinal odor and taste overwhelmed my ability to enjoy this even when mixed 2:1. Pale young sharp bite, I might try to cook with it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

My rating is based on the good memories this rum gave me, it was the first rum I tasted and made me enjoy rum a lot! It is a fine rum to drink, but better for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Great value by the handle. Good for all mixing applications.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I tried Anejo after having the Anejo 12 as I like to see what the range of rum tastes from a maker that sells a similar rum at different levels and if I can tell if the tailings are more present in the budget rum. This one is definitely a young rum though better than most young rums. The low price makes this a rum that beats shelf expectations.

Bottle: This is old school rum labeling, which I really like rather than overly crafted designs made to attract the eye and deceive the brain.
Color: You cannot see the rum due to the bottle being brown, but the rum is light yellow.
Bottle Smell: Young rum, a little harsh, light oak, something of the sweet smell fermented molasses.
Glass Smell: Opens up and smells better, little bit of sweetness.
Taste: Hard on the tongue, few oils, this continues to the throat. A good rum odor does linger in the nose. Better than most large label rums in its price range.

I enjoyed this rum and would drink it again. An good value for mixing or carrying in a flask on the go.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Now that I've tasted more rums and bought a couple of bottle of this, I've downgraded my rating to 5. Maybe it deteriorates when exposed to air but this rum's flavor profile seems to change each time I drink it. Sometimes it tastes medicinal and other times it's fine. I've not found a mixer for this I like so I tend to drink it on the rocks with a splash of water.