Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Ron Abuelo 7 Años allows us to discover and innovate in our search for the perfect delight in rum. We are inspired by its qualities and infinite possibilities when it comes down to mixes and food pairing. It is the result of our passion for producing the best aged rum. Ron Abuelo 7 Años is a luxurious blend of superb rums aged for 7 years in carefully selected small oak barrels.

6.9/10(187 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
12
38
77
49
6

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

187 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mati from Poland with 15 ratings

More soft than Bacardi 8,The same proce range,good relation of the price towards wuality, i drink it on ice

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: 15 GPL. A lighter version of the 12 year old Abuelo. Not quite as sweet as the 12 and nowhere as complex and tasty as the Centuria, which is to be expected with the price. I would say that this version has a thinner version of the 12 and has more of a whiskey taste. Caramel, oak, and spice are prevalent with that whiskey taste at the end. I suggest you let it breath for about 10 minutes if you are going to sip it straight up. Overall it's a decent sipping rum and an okay mixing rum, but you can use a less expensive rum for mixing and get the same result. Overall I find this rum to be good value, but a little thin on the wow factor.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 46 ratings

Really good on the whole. Rum gets a lot better than this, but this is a solid rum to keep in the cupboard. Good enough to sip, but cheap enough to not feel bad about mixing and a full enough flavour that it’ll stand up to ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Drifts of leafy and dry straw notes before the caramelized sweet fruit with sour plum and clove. Juicy citrus-y lemon underlay at the tail. (19/25)

P- Oxidized coffee with dried fruits, Christmas pudding, dried fig and clove from the oak. (19/25)

F- Short, caramel, rounded with no burn, creamy sweet patisserie. (18/25)

Balanced:- Is sweet but with identifiable fruits and presents of oak for the characters (19/25)

Weighted Rate:- 75pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Un buen ron, no raspa mucho al pasar y tiene notas ahumadas y vainilla. Bueno para combinar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael N from United States with 72 ratings

Recently tried a glass of this neat. Was what I expected from a 7 year rum. Not overly smooth or flavorful but not bland and harsh either. All around not a bad rum for the price but easily forgettable. Others in the same price range are better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is a fine sipping rum with lots of complex flavor. I would have rated it higher but it is a little too sweet for my taste. This stuff hit the spot after skiing powder all day in Colorado.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

The 7 yo Abuelo is a well balanced rum like it's 12 year old brother. Not the same roundness in taste though but nice. Nose: caramel, nuts and vanilla. Palate: butterscotch, light chocolate and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mathias from Canada with 2 ratings

I thought this is an ok rum first time I've tried it. Got two bottles, the 7 and the 12 anos directly from Panama during holiday travel. But then I tasted the 12 anos and I felt like I had to spit the 7 anos one. The 7 anos just tastes rough with too much burn.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by JRR from Canada with 37 ratings

Doesn't add much to the regular abuelo. Maybe more rounded and easy to drink. taste great straight.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Iván Plata from Mexico with 32 ratings

La presentación sobria pero justa para el precio, desde la apertura puedes notar el predominio dulce del Ron y al probarlo verás que te encuentras frente a un ron muy suave y con el justo sabor a azucar para los amantes de las bebidas dulces.
Al final detectó un pequeño sabor a menta que me encantó.