Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Ron Abuelo 7 Años allows us to discover and innovate in our search for the perfect delight in rum. We are inspired by its qualities and infinite possibilities when it comes down to mixes and food pairing. It is the result of our passion for producing the best aged rum. Ron Abuelo 7 Años is a luxurious blend of superb rums aged for 7 years in carefully selected small oak barrels.

6.9/10 (186 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
12
38
76
49
6

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

186 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mati from Poland with 15 ratings

More soft than Bacardi 8,The same proce range,good relation of the price towards wuality, i drink it on ice

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 358 ratings

I was running out of rums to try that are both readily available and priced sensibly. Fifteen months ago, I reviewed it's 12 year old brother that cost $29 US back then. I rated it as a 5 and it now costs $45 US. So this here younger brother has half of the added sugar as the 12 year old and is now priced at $30 US. This is 15 gpl versus 29 gpl, which makes this one semi-dry and the 12 year being almost enough to qualify as a sugar bomb.

I was hesitant to buy until I found out that it can either be made from cane juice or combined as molasses and cane juice for the fermentation process, depending upon the season. Well down here in south Louisiana, cane cutting time is in October after the rainy season has allowed the cane to grow. I don't know when the rainy season for Panama is, but I was hoping that they would be more specific in stating whether or not it is made from 100% cane juice. Lucky for me, I understand a fair amount of Spanish and noticed two slightly different explanations on the side of the gift box. So my rum is indeed made from "mieles de cana" (cane honey) with no mention of molasses, as noted in the Spanish explanation. After seven years of aging in white oak barrels, I do not notice any floral or grassy accents found in most rhum agricoles, nor do I detect any molasses. So the Spanish statement is true, but the English statement is shortened quite a bit.

When first poured into the snifter, the aroma tells that this is a good rum and it needs no time at all to breathe. The taste is quite smooth with a bare minimum of oakiness. There is no after burn at all. This is a very good rum, but just does not have enough of those additional flavors that one finds in rum rated 8 or higher. This one is a neat sipper! I seriously doubt that I will lower my rating after a few weeks in the bottle and I am very glad that I took a chance on it. After it's 12 year older brother, I had sworn off Ron Abuelo. Never say never!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jam from Switzerland with 4 ratings

I bought this bottle for 34.00 CHF (USD and CHF are about equal at this time)
I love this Rum...
The highlight is the nose: vanilla, oak, some honey, overall pretty sweet and smooth but not boring at all...
Tast: very smoth and a bit oily, very well balanced. Oak, vanilla, a hint of white pepper, nothing bitter and a tiny hint of smoke. Wonderfull
The finish is short, not dry but also not too sweet: a bit of oak some vanilla, very little afterburn...

I bought a bottle of Angostura 7 for the same price. Very disappointing, boring and really flat even for a 7 year old.
The Abuelo is a way better Rum for that price range.
A good purchase for sure...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

A spicy and complex taste. I like it better than the 12 years old.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

man schmeckt den unterschied nur im direktvergleich von abuelo 7 und 12 anos.
für mich nur zum mixen sonst sind sie mir zu wenig süss und leicht bitter.
abuelo hat ein sehr eigner geschmack schmekt man auch sofort aus einem gemixten drink raus das abuelo drin steckt! in mixed drink mag ich ihn sehr gern!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

I wasn't impress. Just ok. It was a present so i font know if is eorth it the price for it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 382 ratings

Nice and smooth. Much better tbat you would expect from 7y old. Big step up from Anejo, but not so complex and shorter aftertaste vs 12y.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

Pure Panamanian paradise! Currently, this is available in Ontario Canada. Well worth the money!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by vladim from Romania with 7 ratings

Abuelo is one of the few distilleries in the world that uses sugar cane from their own plantations. This Panamanian rom is one of the most appreciated in the world and is famous for its very soft texture and its very supple and friendly body of flavors.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Radim B. from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Sedmiletý Ron Abuelo Añejo 7 años je výsledkem vášně vyrábět ten nejlepší rum añejo. Vyráběn je fermentací melasy a po dobu 7 let se nechává zrát v malých sudech z bílého dubu, s odbornou péčí právě pro tento produkt. Tropické podnebí a přesná kontrola mistra rumu, během let rozvíjí jemné, vytříbené aroma a znamenitou chuť.

Zkopírováno ze stránky https://shop.rumako.cz/katalog/tovar/dalsie-skvele-rumy-a-destilaty/rum-z-panamy_325/abuelo_326/produkt/ron-abuelo-anejo-7-anos

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

Classic go to rum. Sip or mix. Not expensive!!! Love it