Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Ron Abuelo 7 Anos Reserva Superior is produced in Panama and is one of three rums produced in the Ron Abuelo line. As the name suggests, it has been aged for 7 years in oak bourbon barrels and is blended before being bottled.

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


165 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Cedr, lesní med, vanilka, kůže a máta. Bohužel je aroma uzavřenější, musím ve sklence víc hledat. (84 b)
Chuť: Medově nasládlá chuť, pikantní exotická dřevitost, lehce koření. Chuť je uhlazená, ale výraznější než aroma a poměrně bohatá. (86 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Tohle je příjemný rum, za cenu okolo pětistovky je to určitě dobrý nákup. Levnější Abuelo Añejo je o dost horší, dražší Abuelo 12y zase o hodně lepší. Myslím, že odstupňované jak cenově, tak i kvalitou to v Abuelu mají velmi dobře a cenový nárůst dobře kopíruje nárůst kvality.

Posted over 1 year ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

Classic go to rum. Sip or mix. Not expensive!!! Love it

Posted over 1 year ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Ottimo rum di stile cubano, soave ed estremamente sorseggiabile

Posted over 1 year ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

This is a solid rum. Not sweet or over flavoured but it gives a smooth nose and taste. At the end it gets a bit tang just to become more unique!

Posted over 1 year ago by Matt Ackermann from Switzerland with 1 rating

This was the bottle that started my rum addiction years ago. When i had to rate it back then it would get an 10/10 but over the years there where a lot of even better rums to come. I fell in love with panama rums... this is still my all day rum, nice sweetness, good body and a unbeatable price for what you get. Will ever offer the abuelo 7 to people they are sceptical to rum;)

Posted over 1 year ago by Alejo from Argentina with 29 ratings

Too pricey for its quality. Standar, drinkable, but not great.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ronald Broers from Netherlands with 17 ratings

A middle-of-the-road type rum. I think a lot of people would like it's taste...

Posted almost 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

This rum is one I called the better standard. Nice well-ballanced aroma and taste. Liquiry aroma followed by rich flavour starting with sweety taste that quickly vanished. Nice performance/price ratio.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Oak, caramel and vanilla on the nose with a light column still rum. Tastes of a young rum but with a balanced flavour. Easily sipped but makes a delicious rum and coke. The finish has a long and lightly spiced flavour. I am now looking for older Abuelo's.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ghost Monkey from United States with 6 ratings

Very light and smooth. The vanilla is prominent and pleasant. I recommend on ice with a squeeze of lime.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 36 ratings

A little bit pungent in the nose, some orange, cardamom, cinnamon, brown sugar, nuts and apricot. Very nice.
Taste not as good as the nose, however, not bad. Somehow a bit watery, spicy oak with ripe fruits and some leather. Ends dry with a finish full with herbs (wood?). Good, but no masterpiece, taste not long and balanced enough.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 15 GPL. A lighter version of the 12 year old Abuelo. Not quite as sweet as the 12 and nowhere as complex and tasty as the Centuria, which is to be expected with the price. I would say that this version has a thinner version of the 12 and has more of a whiskey taste. Caramel, oak, and spice are prevalent with that whiskey taste at the end. I suggest you let it breath for about 10 minutes if you are going to sip it straight up. Overall it's a decent sipping rum and an okay mixing rum, but you can use a less expensive rum for mixing and get the same result. Overall I find this rum to be good value, but a little thin on the wow factor.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 31 ratings

Really good on the whole. Rum gets a lot better than this, but this is a solid rum to keep in the cupboard. Good enough to sip, but cheap enough to not feel bad about mixing and a full enough flavour that it’ll stand up to ginger beer.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Drifts of leafy and dry straw notes before the caramelized sweet fruit with sour plum and clove. Juicy citrus-y lemon underlay at the tail. (19/25)

P- Oxidized coffee with dried fruits, Christmas pudding, dried fig and clove from the oak. (19/25)

F- Short, caramel, rounded with no burn, creamy sweet patisserie. (18/25)

Balanced:- Is sweet but with identifiable fruits and presents of oak for the characters (19/25)

Weighted Rate:- 75pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Un buen ron, no raspa mucho al pasar y tiene notas ahumadas y vainilla. Bueno para combinar.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

Recently tried a glass of this neat. Was what I expected from a 7 year rum. Not overly smooth or flavorful but not bland and harsh either. All around not a bad rum for the price but easily forgettable. Others in the same price range are better.

Posted about 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

This is a fine sipping rum with lots of complex flavor. I would have rated it higher but it is a little too sweet for my taste. This stuff hit the spot after skiing powder all day in Colorado.

Posted about 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

The 7 yo Abuelo is a well balanced rum like it's 12 year old brother. Not the same roundness in taste though but nice. Nose: caramel, nuts and vanilla. Palate: butterscotch, light chocolate and vanilla.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mathias from Canada with 2 ratings

I thought this is an ok rum first time I've tried it. Got two bottles, the 7 and the 12 anos directly from Panama during holiday travel. But then I tasted the 12 anos and I felt like I had to spit the 7 anos one. The 7 anos just tastes rough with too much burn.

Posted about 2 years ago by JRR from Canada with 37 ratings

Doesn't add much to the regular abuelo. Maybe more rounded and easy to drink. taste great straight.

Posted about 2 years ago by Iván Plata from Mexico with 32 ratings

La presentación sobria pero justa para el precio, desde la apertura puedes notar el predominio dulce del Ron y al probarlo verás que te encuentras frente a un ron muy suave y con el justo sabor a azucar para los amantes de las bebidas dulces.
Al final detectó un pequeño sabor a menta que me encantó.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Assez déçu par ce rhum. Trop ruff en bouche. A ne pas acheter

Posted over 2 years ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 86 ratings

Udemærket rom, lidt skarp, god smag som minder mig om Plantation 20 anniversary.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Smooth coffee aroma along with fruitiness of jackfruit and fresh coconut flesh. Lightly burned butter with vanilla pod. The let down will be the sharp (nail polish) finishing on the nose towards the end.

Floral and fruity. A bowl of cereal with raisins, dried fruit and drizzle with honey. Still manage to enjoy the burned butter with vanilla but lesser compare to aroma.

Finished with honey suckle but it ended too soon.
Definitely a good choice to start the night with!

Posted over 2 years ago by Mati from Poland with 15 ratings

More soft than Bacardi 8,The same proce range,good relation of the price towards wuality, i drink it on ice