Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Ron Abuelo 7 Anos Reserva Superior is produced in Panama and is one of three rums produced in the Ron Abuelo line. As the name suggests, it has been aged for 7 years in oak bourbon barrels and is blended before being bottled.

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


165 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Cedr, lesní med, vanilka, kůže a máta. Bohužel je aroma uzavřenější, musím ve sklence víc hledat. (84 b)
Chuť: Medově nasládlá chuť, pikantní exotická dřevitost, lehce koření. Chuť je uhlazená, ale výraznější než aroma a poměrně bohatá. (86 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Tohle je příjemný rum, za cenu okolo pětistovky je to určitě dobrý nákup. Levnější Abuelo Añejo je o dost horší, dražší Abuelo 12y zase o hodně lepší. Myslím, že odstupňované jak cenově, tak i kvalitou to v Abuelu mají velmi dobře a cenový nárůst dobře kopíruje nárůst kvality.

Posted 4 months ago by One808 (PREMIUM) from Canada with 11 ratings

I recently picked up a bottle this. At the price I paid it’s definitely worth the money. It’s more than adequate neat and goes very nicely with Coke. Not too sweet. At the price I Paid, I have no qualms with mixing it. Obviously it’s no XV (let alone Centuria, which is fantastic!) but it doesn’t pretend to be. Definitely worth the money. Recommended. Can’t wait to see what the 12-year is like.

Posted 4 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 52 ratings

Very interesting aroma, no alcohol burn, long aftertaste. Interested to try his older brothers

Posted 4 months ago by Pavel Strnad from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Sweet but good enough....
In pub after dinner, less sweet then Diplomatico.

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 220 ratings

Značka Abuelo je u mne top, ovšem tato verze mne ničím nenadchla

Posted 5 months ago by Rumdog from New Zealand with 10 ratings

Rich full flavor for a young age. Smooth with good nose.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Tento rum je v porovnaní s 12YO výrazne slabší a je hranicou od Abuela čo sa dá ešte piť. Rozhodne neoslni a radšej doporučujem doplatiť a kúpiť si staršieho brata. Fľašu by som si nekupil

Posted 5 months ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

This is full of tricks. Light amber colour and whisky aroma leads you in one direction, but then the sweet banana and caramal taste is a surprise not expected. The sweetness lingers for a while, but leaves you with a dry slightly oaky aftertaste. A delight for the senses and the wallet.

Posted 5 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Bueno, no se siente mayor cantidad de aolchol, aroma, esencia de vainilla. Recomendable

Posted 6 months ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 27 ratings

Nice rum with a light taste of orange, and the aftertaste is sweet and caramel.

Posted 7 months ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Very intriguing rum if you can get it in the price range £25-30, although it might me worth paying an extra £5 and get the 12-years old. Regardless, very enjoyable!

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This was one of the first Rums I liked drinking on the rocks. I started appreciating it more and more and it made me a fan of the Abuelo Rums. Sweet and not expensive!

Posted 9 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

I like the alcoholic taste as well as the raisin flavour. Drink it neat. Full body. This one is standard in my cabinet.

Posted 9 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

This was one of the few high end rums available where I use to live. I did a lot of racing on my sailboat and this was our official crew rum.

Posted 10 months ago by George from United States with 13 ratings

On the rocks: smooth, semi-dry yet not sugary, delicate taste of molasses, medium body. An excellent product at a civilized price.

Posted 11 months ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 37 ratings

Don't make any mistake, this undeniably is a rum, the aroma is in fact very typical of a rum, the taste is little spicy and quite strong but it isn't a nasty burn, I can taste nuts, vanilla, maybe even slight note of cinnamon, all still packing good punch. There is also a little hint of banana peel as the rum comes down the throat, but all the tastes are simply mixed with a rather strong alcohol taste, it isn't disgusting but it still is enough of a nuisance to lower the score. Not much more to say about this one, apart from it not being too sweet and or too complicated, with little aftertaste and lingering. Solid rum for the price, but no award winner.

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I was running out of rums to try that are both readily available and priced sensibly. Fifteen months ago, I reviewed it's 12 year old brother that cost $29 US back then. I rated it as a 5 and it now costs $45 US. So this here younger brother has half of the added sugar as the 12 year old and is now priced at $30 US. This is 15 gpl versus 29 gpl, which makes this one semi-dry and the 12 year being almost enough to qualify as a sugar bomb.

I was hesitant to buy until I found out that it can either be made from cane juice or combined as molasses and cane juice for the fermentation process, depending upon the season. Well down here in south Louisiana, cane cutting time is in October after the rainy season has allowed the cane to grow. I don't know when the rainy season for Panama is, but I was hoping that they would be more specific in stating whether or not it is made from 100% cane juice. Lucky for me, I understand a fair amount of Spanish and noticed two slightly different explanations on the side of the gift box. So my rum is indeed made from "mieles de cana" (cane honey) with no mention of molasses, as noted in the Spanish explanation. After seven years of aging in white oak barrels, I do not notice any floral or grassy accents found in most rhum agricoles, nor do I detect any molasses. So the Spanish statement is true, but the English statement is shortened quite a bit.

When first poured into the snifter, the aroma tells that this is a good rum and it needs no time at all to breathe. The taste is quite smooth with a bare minimum of oakiness. There is no after burn at all. This is a very good rum, but just does not have enough of those additional flavors that one finds in rum rated 8 or higher. This one is a neat sipper! I seriously doubt that I will lower my rating after a few weeks in the bottle and I am very glad that I took a chance on it. After it's 12 year older brother, I had sworn off Ron Abuelo. Never say never!

Posted about 1 year ago by Jam from Switzerland with 4 ratings

I bought this bottle for 34.00 CHF (USD and CHF are about equal at this time)
I love this Rum...
The highlight is the nose: vanilla, oak, some honey, overall pretty sweet and smooth but not boring at all...
Tast: very smoth and a bit oily, very well balanced. Oak, vanilla, a hint of white pepper, nothing bitter and a tiny hint of smoke. Wonderfull
The finish is short, not dry but also not too sweet: a bit of oak some vanilla, very little afterburn...

I bought a bottle of Angostura 7 for the same price. Very disappointing, boring and really flat even for a 7 year old.
The Abuelo is a way better Rum for that price range.
A good purchase for sure...

Posted about 1 year ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

A spicy and complex taste. I like it better than the 12 years old.

Posted about 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

man schmeckt den unterschied nur im direktvergleich von abuelo 7 und 12 anos.
für mich nur zum mixen sonst sind sie mir zu wenig süss und leicht bitter.
abuelo hat ein sehr eigner geschmack schmekt man auch sofort aus einem gemixten drink raus das abuelo drin steckt! in mixed drink mag ich ihn sehr gern!

Posted about 1 year ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

I wasn't impress. Just ok. It was a present so i font know if is eorth it the price for it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Nice and smooth. Much better tbat you would expect from 7y old. Big step up from Anejo, but not so complex and shorter aftertaste vs 12y.

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

Pure Panamanian paradise! Currently, this is available in Ontario Canada. Well worth the money!

Posted over 1 year ago by vladim from Romania with 7 ratings

Abuelo is one of the few distilleries in the world that uses sugar cane from their own plantations. This Panamanian rom is one of the most appreciated in the world and is famous for its very soft texture and its very supple and friendly body of flavors.

Posted over 1 year ago by Radim B. from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Sedmiletý Ron Abuelo Añejo 7 años je výsledkem vášně vyrábět ten nejlepší rum añejo. Vyráběn je fermentací melasy a po dobu 7 let se nechává zrát v malých sudech z bílého dubu, s odbornou péčí právě pro tento produkt. Tropické podnebí a přesná kontrola mistra rumu, během let rozvíjí jemné, vytříbené aroma a znamenitou chuť.

Zkopírováno ze stránky https://shop.rumako.cz/katalog/tovar/dalsie-skvele-rumy-a-destilaty/rum-z-panamy_325/abuelo_326/produkt/ron-abuelo-anejo-7-anos