Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Ron Abuelo 7 Anos Reserva Superior is produced in Panama and is one of three rums produced in the Ron Abuelo line. As the name suggests, it has been aged for 7 years in oak bourbon barrels and is blended before being bottled.

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


165 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It had an unusual flavor that wasn't for me. I would rather have appleton estate reserve or pusser's navy for the same price.

Posted over 4 years ago by protozor from Belgium with 26 ratings

Quite a good rum, taste of hazelnuts and toasted bread. Very smooth mouth. My girlfriend who usualy doesn't like rum but really apreaciates whisky loved it. So if you want to bring a whisky fan to the wonderful world of rums... This one is a great starting point!

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not a great nose but I love the mouth. Nose Israel syrupy with aromas of woods. Mouth is smooth with a very good blend of spicies. Very aromatic, with a good dry/sweet balance. Coffee is the stingiest note but has also some vanilla and something else, some herb which I like but can't tell what it is.

Posted almost 5 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 27 ratings

I think that Abuelo 7 years is really smooth and sweet, spicy tasting rum. Hint of choclate. And prize is pretty low.

Posted over 4 years ago by thejesse from United States with 4 ratings

This is one of the truly wonderful rums you can get without breaking the bank. The funny secret is it is cheaper but somehow slightly better than the Abuelo 12 anos. I've met others that agree, it has a smoothness that its older brother lacks. Perfect with a dash of seltzer and a squirt of fresh pineapple juice.

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

good balance and a good rum. This is the second rum from Abuelo that has proven excellent.

Posted almost 3 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

A well balanced nose with vanilla, caramel and some sweet (dried) fruits. The taste even gives way to some faint cocoa notes. Also quite a pleasant toasted finish. Considering the price level in the Netherlands of just over 20 euro's it's one of the better deals on a rum available.

Posted about 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Good choice, smooth rum, in Abuelo chart in the middle.

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

I will admit that i only tried a sampler of this rum. My memories recall a decent experience, with some melasse sweetness, and a slightly dry tobaco finish on a medium body.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

One of my go to day-to-day rums, and one that I bring to friends instead of wine. Mixes well and also nice over ice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United States with 5 ratings

This is my wife's favorite. Even though I am constantly trying new rums, she always comes back to this. Aging gives this Panamanian rum a host of flavors. Smooth mouth with nice blend of spices. Creamy with a little hint of vanilla at the end.
.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Very nice in a well made old fashioned. Smooth finish

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jan B. Nielsen from Denmark with 2 ratings

Has a heavy Sweetness and good power. Not too much at all. With a hint of orange. Very good compared to the price.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dave from Canada with 9 ratings

So there I am, standing in the Rum isle of the liquor store looking for a good rum as I was all out at home. There wasn't what I'd call a great rum amongst the lot of them. I then I see this rum and it has a little write up with it and rating that it's been given. It's a little pricey, $58.00 ish, but if it's as good as they say I don't mind paying for it. On my first sip I was extremely disappointed. Not much nose and it's BITTER to the taste. At the time I wasn't even sure I would finish the entire bottle. However eventually I did and in the end I didn't mind it as much as when I first tried it but not enough to spend that kind of money on it.

Posted about 4 years ago by rummasterpty from Panama with 7 ratings

I believe this is the best product they have. Great for mixing. It tastes like no other. The more aged abuelo rums are better than this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I may be in the market for a $100+ bottle of rum as a celebratory rum due to something that may be coming up for me. In the discussion area I asked for recommendations and Ron Abuelo Centuria was recommended. Unfortunately no one locally has that in stock and the best I could find was the 7 Anos Reserva Superior. So I picked up a bottle to try. I will say up front that I find this one of the best values for rum. Definitely a fine rum that could be sold for double the price. Right off the bat I noticed the rich aroma in the bottle. Sipping some revealed a very noticeable sweetness...perhaps too sweet for some...however it is balanced with a multitude of flavors that sadly my uneducated palate cannot identify. However after the slow, rather mild burn (yes, it is a smooth rum) faded, I could detect some caramel to it. And that tempts another sip. This rum is a bargain and should be a required addition to any rum cabinet. A "must have". Extremely versatile as well.

Posted about 1 month ago by dml247 from United States with 3 ratings

Had a great Ron Abuelo tasting. The 7 year was the best.

Posted about 1 month ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

As first, i need to say that rum is really good quality for that price, atm. for me it is best choice.

Nose is elegant. smooth. non alkohol. Truly Panama style, burned banana and toffee. Taste is good, same palate but with some fruit hits (orange hits). At the finish there is a tabaco taste.

This is really good choice. Compare with HC 7 anos the Abuelo is much much better. In that price u can't buy better. I give it 8/10 because if price/quality

EDIT:

damn, i forgot to tell about great sugar cane flavour. It is impressive essence of rum. Abuelo 7 is for sure 7 yo rum. You can fell that cask finish. That is what i like in rum. Sugar cane aged. Oak flovour Really good stuff.

Posted about 2 months ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 35 ratings

Nečekal jsem, že bude tak jemný, lehce sladký, prostě chutný. Velmi dobře se pije, klidně bych si jej dal znovu.

Posted about 2 months ago by slawomir borowina from Poland with 6 ratings

Abuelo is nice and smooth. If you want to become an alcoholic Abuelo is worth a try

Posted about 2 months ago by Md from Romania with 1 rating

Strong alcohol nose, not that sweet, mild flavors, feels very similar to cpt morgan spiced but only more expensive. Might bee slightly smoother. Slightly.

Posted about 2 months ago by Alltherums from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Ron Abuelo from the Varela Hermanos estate is a single estate rum, which means that they control the whole process, from growing the cane to fermentation, distillation, aging and bottling. As such it is subject to a very unique production process. Cane fields are not burned before harvest. Instead the foliage is collected and used to fire the still. The fermenting wash is made up of fresh cane juice during harvest season and a blend of stored sugar cane syrup and molasses during the rest of the year. After a continuous distillation in a four-column still, the 7 Años expression is then aged on American oak barrels previously used for bourbon for between 4 to 11 years in a Solera system. Like with many Spanish style industrial rums, the age statement is closer to an average and not the age of the youngest rum in the blend. Before bottling the amber liquid is proofed down to 40% and a small amount of sugar is added to the rum, as is often the case with Spanish style rums. The result is nothing short of an excellent tipple, especially at this low price point. A sweet, but rich and complex spirit meant for sipping, perhaps with a Panama cigar.
🥃
Nose: Floral, Tobacco, Vanilla, Caramel, Creme Brûlée, Oak
8/10
Taste: Sweet, Raisin, Caramelized nuts, Cinnamon, Coconut.
7.5/10
Finish: Smooth and warm, sweet lingering spices and a toasty bitterness.
7.5/10
Overall: Excellent sipper although more than 1 or 2 drams could be too sweet for my taste. Great value rum!
⭐️7.7⭐️

Posted about 2 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Unspektakulärer Rum, aber durchaus schmackhaft. 6 von 10.

Posted 2 months ago by Kean from Denmark with 6 ratings

This rum is a decent rum, a bit shark in the first sips but as it grows you get hints of vanilla, bitterness of chocolate and some pepper.

Posted 3 months ago by tobiasz from Poland with 15 ratings

Not that simple. Surprisingly good rum as for 7 years.




#