Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Ron Abuelo 7 Años allows us to discover and innovate in our search for the perfect delight in rum. We are inspired by its qualities and infinite possibilities when it comes down to mixes and food pairing. It is the result of our passion for producing the best aged rum. Ron Abuelo 7 Años is a luxurious blend of superb rums aged for 7 years in carefully selected small oak barrels.

6.9/10 (186 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
12
38
76
49
6

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

186 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I may be in the market for a $100+ bottle of rum as a celebratory rum due to something that may be coming up for me. In the discussion area I asked for recommendations and Ron Abuelo Centuria was recommended. Unfortunately no one locally has that in stock and the best I could find was the 7 Anos Reserva Superior. So I picked up a bottle to try. I will say up front that I find this one of the best values for rum. Definitely a fine rum that could be sold for double the price. Right off the bat I noticed the rich aroma in the bottle. Sipping some revealed a very noticeable sweetness...perhaps too sweet for some...however it is balanced with a multitude of flavors that sadly my uneducated palate cannot identify. However after the slow, rather mild burn (yes, it is a smooth rum) faded, I could detect some caramel to it. And that tempts another sip. This rum is a bargain and should be a required addition to any rum cabinet. A "must have". Extremely versatile as well.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by protozor from Belgium with 26 ratings

Quite a good rum, taste of hazelnuts and toasted bread. Very smooth mouth. My girlfriend who usualy doesn't like rum but really apreaciates whisky loved it. So if you want to bring a whisky fan to the wonderful world of rums... This one is a great starting point!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 100 ratings

Not a great nose but I love the mouth. Nose Israel syrupy with aromas of woods. Mouth is smooth with a very good blend of spicies. Very aromatic, with a good dry/sweet balance. Coffee is the stingiest note but has also some vanilla and something else, some herb which I like but can't tell what it is.

Small img 1653

Posted over 5 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 28 ratings

I think that Abuelo 7 years is really smooth and sweet, spicy tasting rum. Hint of choclate. And prize is pretty low.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by thejesse from United States with 4 ratings

This is one of the truly wonderful rums you can get without breaking the bank. The funny secret is it is cheaper but somehow slightly better than the Abuelo 12 anos. I've met others that agree, it has a smoothness that its older brother lacks. Perfect with a dash of seltzer and a squirt of fresh pineapple juice.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

good balance and a good rum. This is the second rum from Abuelo that has proven excellent.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 26 ratings

A well balanced nose with vanilla, caramel and some sweet (dried) fruits. The taste even gives way to some faint cocoa notes. Also quite a pleasant toasted finish. Considering the price level in the Netherlands of just over 20 euro's it's one of the better deals on a rum available.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Good choice, smooth rum, in Abuelo chart in the middle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 245 ratings

I will admit that i only tried a sampler of this rum. My memories recall a decent experience, with some melasse sweetness, and a slightly dry tobaco finish on a medium body.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Romeo from Netherlands with 11 ratings

It is tastfull and the prize is right for what you get.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 39 ratings

A very nice tasting rum. Hints of spice and cinnamon. Enjoyable on its own or with your favorite mix.