Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Ron Abuelo 7 Años allows us to discover and innovate in our search for the perfect delight in rum. We are inspired by its qualities and infinite possibilities when it comes down to mixes and food pairing. It is the result of our passion for producing the best aged rum. Ron Abuelo 7 Años is a luxurious blend of superb rums aged for 7 years in carefully selected small oak barrels.

6.9/10 (172 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
11
34
69
46
6

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


172 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not a great nose but I love the mouth. Nose Israel syrupy with aromas of woods. Mouth is smooth with a very good blend of spicies. Very aromatic, with a good dry/sweet balance. Coffee is the stingiest note but has also some vanilla and something else, some herb which I like but can't tell what it is.

B4f90d964429fc44eb60a531698891c0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ronald Broers from Netherlands with 17 ratings

A middle-of-the-road type rum. I think a lot of people would like it's taste...

Ad2be789b1dd62f4564d3499924604ab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 98 ratings

This rum is one I called the better standard. Nice well-ballanced aroma and taste. Liquiry aroma followed by rich flavour starting with sweety taste that quickly vanished. Nice performance/price ratio.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 139 ratings

Oak, caramel and vanilla on the nose with a light column still rum. Tastes of a young rum but with a balanced flavour. Easily sipped but makes a delicious rum and coke. The finish has a long and lightly spiced flavour. I am now looking for older Abuelo's.

C49231c0ef006c3e2b01d949c637dfc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ghost Monkey from United States with 6 ratings

Very light and smooth. The vanilla is prominent and pleasant. I recommend on ice with a squeeze of lime.

Ed6dfdafd3d8b4fc1408880c837c2c49.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 38 ratings

A little bit pungent in the nose, some orange, cardamom, cinnamon, brown sugar, nuts and apricot. Very nice.
Taste not as good as the nose, however, not bad. Somehow a bit watery, spicy oak with ripe fruits and some leather. Ends dry with a finish full with herbs (wood?). Good, but no masterpiece, taste not long and balanced enough.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 15 GPL. A lighter version of the 12 year old Abuelo. Not quite as sweet as the 12 and nowhere as complex and tasty as the Centuria, which is to be expected with the price. I would say that this version has a thinner version of the 12 and has more of a whiskey taste. Caramel, oak, and spice are prevalent with that whiskey taste at the end. I suggest you let it breath for about 10 minutes if you are going to sip it straight up. Overall it's a decent sipping rum and an okay mixing rum, but you can use a less expensive rum for mixing and get the same result. Overall I find this rum to be good value, but a little thin on the wow factor.

D04f14d4d2410eadbc6aadf11c79e2a0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 34 ratings

Really good on the whole. Rum gets a lot better than this, but this is a solid rum to keep in the cupboard. Good enough to sip, but cheap enough to not feel bad about mixing and a full enough flavour that it’ll stand up to ginger beer.

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Drifts of leafy and dry straw notes before the caramelized sweet fruit with sour plum and clove. Juicy citrus-y lemon underlay at the tail. (19/25)

P- Oxidized coffee with dried fruits, Christmas pudding, dried fig and clove from the oak. (19/25)

F- Short, caramel, rounded with no burn, creamy sweet patisserie. (18/25)

Balanced:- Is sweet but with identifiable fruits and presents of oak for the characters (19/25)

Weighted Rate:- 75pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

902fee7de3e328f5bb5fd7d87554a663.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Un buen ron, no raspa mucho al pasar y tiene notas ahumadas y vainilla. Bueno para combinar.

F8733ee2ae9902e6dba818f5eade911e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

Recently tried a glass of this neat. Was what I expected from a 7 year rum. Not overly smooth or flavorful but not bland and harsh either. All around not a bad rum for the price but easily forgettable. Others in the same price range are better.