Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Ron Abuelo 7 Años allows us to discover and innovate in our search for the perfect delight in rum. We are inspired by its qualities and infinite possibilities when it comes down to mixes and food pairing. It is the result of our passion for producing the best aged rum. Ron Abuelo 7 Años is a luxurious blend of superb rums aged for 7 years in carefully selected small oak barrels.

6.9/10 (181 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
12
38
71
49
6

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


181 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Ron Abuelo 7 year is a bit too unmatured rum to be a good neat sipper, but it will be a very good base for a quality rum-and-coke drink.

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 1 year ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 70 ratings

This was one of the first Rums I liked drinking on the rocks. I started appreciating it more and more and it made me a fan of the Abuelo Rums. Sweet and not expensive!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

I like the alcoholic taste as well as the raisin flavour. Drink it neat. Full body. This one is standard in my cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

This was one of the few high end rums available where I use to live. I did a lot of racing on my sailboat and this was our official crew rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by George from United States with 13 ratings

On the rocks: smooth, semi-dry yet not sugary, delicate taste of molasses, medium body. An excellent product at a civilized price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Don't make any mistake, this undeniably is a rum, the aroma is in fact very typical of a rum, the taste is little spicy and quite strong but it isn't a nasty burn, I can taste nuts, vanilla, maybe even slight note of cinnamon, all still packing good punch. There is also a little hint of banana peel as the rum comes down the throat, but all the tastes are simply mixed with a rather strong alcohol taste, it isn't disgusting but it still is enough of a nuisance to lower the score. Not much more to say about this one, apart from it not being too sweet and or too complicated, with little aftertaste and lingering. Solid rum for the price, but no award winner.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 352 ratings

I was running out of rums to try that are both readily available and priced sensibly. Fifteen months ago, I reviewed it's 12 year old brother that cost $29 US back then. I rated it as a 5 and it now costs $45 US. So this here younger brother has half of the added sugar as the 12 year old and is now priced at $30 US. This is 15 gpl versus 29 gpl, which makes this one semi-dry and the 12 year being almost enough to qualify as a sugar bomb.

I was hesitant to buy until I found out that it can either be made from cane juice or combined as molasses and cane juice for the fermentation process, depending upon the season. Well down here in south Louisiana, cane cutting time is in October after the rainy season has allowed the cane to grow. I don't know when the rainy season for Panama is, but I was hoping that they would be more specific in stating whether or not it is made from 100% cane juice. Lucky for me, I understand a fair amount of Spanish and noticed two slightly different explanations on the side of the gift box. So my rum is indeed made from "mieles de cana" (cane honey) with no mention of molasses, as noted in the Spanish explanation. After seven years of aging in white oak barrels, I do not notice any floral or grassy accents found in most rhum agricoles, nor do I detect any molasses. So the Spanish statement is true, but the English statement is shortened quite a bit.

When first poured into the snifter, the aroma tells that this is a good rum and it needs no time at all to breathe. The taste is quite smooth with a bare minimum of oakiness. There is no after burn at all. This is a very good rum, but just does not have enough of those additional flavors that one finds in rum rated 8 or higher. This one is a neat sipper! I seriously doubt that I will lower my rating after a few weeks in the bottle and I am very glad that I took a chance on it. After it's 12 year older brother, I had sworn off Ron Abuelo. Never say never!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jam from Switzerland with 4 ratings

I bought this bottle for 34.00 CHF (USD and CHF are about equal at this time)
I love this Rum...
The highlight is the nose: vanilla, oak, some honey, overall pretty sweet and smooth but not boring at all...
Tast: very smoth and a bit oily, very well balanced. Oak, vanilla, a hint of white pepper, nothing bitter and a tiny hint of smoke. Wonderfull
The finish is short, not dry but also not too sweet: a bit of oak some vanilla, very little afterburn...

I bought a bottle of Angostura 7 for the same price. Very disappointing, boring and really flat even for a 7 year old.
The Abuelo is a way better Rum for that price range.
A good purchase for sure...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

A spicy and complex taste. I like it better than the 12 years old.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

man schmeckt den unterschied nur im direktvergleich von abuelo 7 und 12 anos.
für mich nur zum mixen sonst sind sie mir zu wenig süss und leicht bitter.
abuelo hat ein sehr eigner geschmack schmekt man auch sofort aus einem gemixten drink raus das abuelo drin steckt! in mixed drink mag ich ihn sehr gern!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

I wasn't impress. Just ok. It was a present so i font know if is eorth it the price for it.