Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Ron Abuelo 7 Años allows us to discover and innovate in our search for the perfect delight in rum. We are inspired by its qualities and infinite possibilities when it comes down to mixes and food pairing. It is the result of our passion for producing the best aged rum. Ron Abuelo 7 Años is a luxurious blend of superb rums aged for 7 years in carefully selected small oak barrels.

6.9/10 (181 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
12
38
71
49
6

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


181 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Stephane from France with 24 ratings

Dégusté en masterclass j'ai découvert cette marque et leur savoir faire
Toute la gamme vaut le détour et celui-ci n'échappe pas à la règle et son tarif est bas aux vues du plaisir dans le verre

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Zoltan Redbeard from Switzerland with 16 ratings

Questo rum panamense, dalla colorazione dorata o ambrata chiara, con sentori non importanti ma presenti di uvetta passa o di frutta secca al naso, appare leggermente speziato e secco anche al palato.
Si tratta di un rum che richiama molto il whisky e forse è più adatto a chi preferisce quest'ultimo, perché come rum devo ammettere, che non rientra tra i miei favoriti, si lascia bere, ma a me personalmente non dice nulla di speciale. Per la sua fascia di prezzo, forse, può ancora essere passabile, probabilmente è valido come rum da cocktail, o come rum da battaglia, altrimenti, volendo spendere anche non molto di più, si può trovare di assai meglio.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Louis212 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Big taste but strong on the pallet, easy to drink when mixes with pepsi

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by dml247 from United States with 3 ratings

Had a great Ron Abuelo tasting. The 7 year was the best.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

As first, i need to say that rum is really good quality for that price, atm. for me it is best choice.

Nose is elegant. smooth. non alkohol. Truly Panama style, burned banana and toffee. Taste is good, same palate but with some fruit hits (orange hits). At the finish there is a tabaco taste.

This is really good choice. Compare with HC 7 anos the Abuelo is much much better. In that price u can't buy better. I give it 8/10 because if price/quality

EDIT:

damn, i forgot to tell about great sugar cane flavour. It is impressive essence of rum. Abuelo 7 is for sure 7 yo rum. You can fell that cask finish. That is what i like in rum. Sugar cane aged. Oak flovour Really good stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by slawomir borowina from Poland with 6 ratings

Abuelo is nice and smooth. If you want to become an alcoholic Abuelo is worth a try

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Md from Romania with 1 rating

Strong alcohol nose, not that sweet, mild flavors, feels very similar to cpt morgan spiced but only more expensive. Might bee slightly smoother. Slightly.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Alltherums from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Ron Abuelo from the Varela Hermanos estate is a single estate rum, which means that they control the whole process, from growing the cane to fermentation, distillation, aging and bottling. As such it is subject to a very unique production process. Cane fields are not burned before harvest. Instead the foliage is collected and used to fire the still. The fermenting wash is made up of fresh cane juice during harvest season and a blend of stored sugar cane syrup and molasses during the rest of the year. After a continuous distillation in a four-column still, the 7 Años expression is then aged on American oak barrels previously used for bourbon for between 4 to 11 years in a Solera system. Like with many Spanish style industrial rums, the age statement is closer to an average and not the age of the youngest rum in the blend. Before bottling the amber liquid is proofed down to 40% and a small amount of sugar is added to the rum, as is often the case with Spanish style rums. The result is nothing short of an excellent tipple, especially at this low price point. A sweet, but rich and complex spirit meant for sipping, perhaps with a Panama cigar.
🥃
Nose: Floral, Tobacco, Vanilla, Caramel, Creme Brûlée, Oak
8/10
Taste: Sweet, Raisin, Caramelized nuts, Cinnamon, Coconut.
7.5/10
Finish: Smooth and warm, sweet lingering spices and a toasty bitterness.
7.5/10
Overall: Excellent sipper although more than 1 or 2 drams could be too sweet for my taste. Great value rum!
⭐️7.7⭐️

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Unspektakulärer Rum, aber durchaus schmackhaft. 6 von 10.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Kean from Denmark with 6 ratings

This rum is a decent rum, a bit shark in the first sips but as it grows you get hints of vanilla, bitterness of chocolate and some pepper.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by tobiasz from Poland with 16 ratings

Not that simple. Surprisingly good rum as for 7 years.