Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


301 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Po dříve představeném Abuelo Añejo, což byl 5 let starý rum z produkce firmy Varela Hermanos S.A. si představíme o dvě třídy vyzrálejší Abuelo 12y. Mezi nimi se v portfoliu značky nachází ještě Abuelo 7y. Zraje v sudech z bílého dubu a nevyrábí se z melasy, jako Añejo, ale z panenské šťávy cukrové třtiny. Některé zahraniční zdroje uvádějí, že sudy, ve kterých zraje, jsou po whisky a bourbonu.

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Tak tohle je originální, vůně je výrazná, s tóny cedrové dýhy, do které se balí doutníky, kůže, ořechy, tabák, rozinky, staré dřevo a dokonce mi evokuje kostel, něco ve stylu starého nábytku. (92 b)
Chuť: Chuť je příjemně nasládlá, velmi lahodná, přitom excelentně jemná, i v ústech jako bych cítil aroma kůže. Dochuť je přímo skvělá, stále se měnící, v závěru zemitá. (94 b)
Shrnutí: Tak tohle je pro mě opravdový skvost a velké překvapení z Panamy. Abuelo není ani nějak přehnaně sladký, ani nepůsobí tak těžkotonážně, jako Zapaca 23y, je to spíš jeho protipól. Je udivující, kolik zajímavých vůní a chutí se skrývá v tak jemném rumu.
Body: 93

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

This bad boy is a little hard on the nose. Strong alcohol smell followed by caramel and apple aroma. First taste you get the barrel flavor followed by sweetness. Has a very similar flavor profile to Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva with the addition of oak and not as syrupy. No alcohol taste but decent lingering burn. Very good rum when looking for a sweet and oaky flavor.

Posted about 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

The aroma is the best part of this rum. It's quite tropical. I get ripe mango, banana, some vanilla and coconut and the inside of a cigar box. Initial sip is smooth and pleasant, but after that it quickly becomes cloying, saturating my taste buds with sugar. This is overly sweet and has been sugared beyond a doubt. Not many redeeming features beyond the sweetness. Lots of banana, honey and vanilla, some orange peel and baking spices/cinnamon, but ultimately very one dimensional, because the sugar overpowers everything else. Having said that: there's also nothing in the Abuelo 12 that's unpleasant and it's a good bottle to have on the shelf in case of visitors who like their rum sweet and soft. Finish is short with a subtle oaky bite that's somewhat pleasant. Final point of critisism: the bottle is very brown and very boring. Maybe they went for rustic, but it looks cheap

Posted about 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Benchmark for sipping rum. Smooth, sweet, complex, and well balanced. Outstanding value.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Pretty sweet rum compared to the entry level and 7years Abuelo.
Super caramely and vanila aromas / flavors with himts of orange notes.

Posted about 1 year ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

This rum was my best choice since my first serious rum, which was Ron Barcelo Imperial. Abuelo 12 is very delicate, sweet and with touch of honey. I can recommend him for rum beginners and as well as a gift. Really perfect choice and decent bottle moreover.

Posted about 4 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

The tastes are good and there is nothing special to complain about but
I feel there are better options even at more affordable prices.

Posted over 5 years ago by Orion from United States with 19 ratings

This is one of the two top sipping rums I have tasted in my life. Mildly sweet with a long finish. Beautiful color. Please try it straight; you won't be disappointed.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Smells sweet like Ron Zacapa Solera 23 but only has half of the familiar taste from that rum. The dried fruit and raisiny flavors are the same but the finish is totally different and has a noticeable dryer tobacco/leather/scotch flavor. I had to sip it a few times b4 I could figure it out when I suddenly yelled out loud "Scotch"!
Overall it honestly tastes like a mix of sweetened rum and scotch. If you like both spirits then you may just love this. 6/10 because it doesn't taste like rum but is unique. Update: I've just tried Appleton 12 year rare blend and it has some similar flavor to this, apparently this scotch-y taste can be found in other rums as well. Update 2: obviously upon writing this review I was unfamiliar with funky Jamaica/Guyana style rums that give the flavor of what I thought then to be reminiscent of scotch. I only knew that this tastes like Zacapa but different on the finish. I remember it being quite sugared tho and will have to revisit at some point and might actually like it this time now that my palette has had more experience.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Fruit in abundance, cognac like aroma and after taste. Somewhat medicinal aroma though. Probably added sugar, color and vanilla.
sugar test results-29g

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Though a bit sweet for my palate, really nice in every way. The only reason I wouldn't take four bottles of this instead of one bottle of Centuria is so I can trade the Centuria for, say, a bottle of Opthimus 18, one of Mount Gay XO, and a Depaz Blue Cane to round out the price bracket.

Value alone, it's a no-brainer at $32ish. It really gets better as it airs out in the bottle or decanting. Dark berries, cherries, apricot, some buttery/salted toffee, coffee. Initial sweetness fading towards the finish with the tiniest hint of leather and tobacco bringing up the rear; really nice medium body texture. If you dislike oak/wood notes to your rum, they're almost completely missing here. There's a delicious cognac note here, too.

If you find yourself unimpressed with the adulterated sweetness of most rums but don't fancy the drier examples like Appleton 12, Brugal 1888, this is a center-line rum you just might come to love. An critical rating of 7 but a cumulative rating of 8 given the great value. A staple.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This rum contains a very large amount of added sugar which makes it seem "sweet and smooth", but which masks the rum's actual flavors. What does this rum really taste like? We'll never know.

Posted over 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I liked this a lot for my first time trying it. I tried it with coke and sipped on it as a shooter. I can drink either way but prefer with coke. I will definitely buy again.

Posted about 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This one reminds me very much of the El Dorado 12 year. I am fairly certain there is some substantial added sugar, as I recently found out there is in the ED 12 - but it has enough flavor to hold up and not be overwhelmed by sweetness. Smoky, woody, with leather and tobacco notes. I don't smoke but it seems to me this one would be excellent with a cigar.

Edit : I have since found out that this rum and El Dorado 12 yr have almost the exact same amount of added sugar, around 30 g/ltr. This is a substantial amount and makes the usual $30+ price tag something I would not pay - although I am not unhappy that scored several on closeout for under $20.

Posted about 1 month ago by 25RdR from Netherlands with 18 ratings

I really like this rum, rich taste and not too strong

Posted 3 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 51 ratings

Very pleasant in every touch. A bit shy on the nose, but attractive. Banana, cherries plus some exotic fruits, still not too sweet and dry enough. Close to infinity ) aftertaste.
Decr one point due to little alcohol burn.

If see them Abuelo 7 and 12 buy both instantly )

Next stop Abuelo 30!

Posted about 1 year ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

Upon first taste I knew I liked this rum. I had read that the 7-year was better or at least a better buy. That is arguable because the 7-year is a great value and a good rum, but I think it serves as a great mixer and pretty nice on the rocks. The 12-year competes taste-wise and complexity-wise with rums 30-70% more expensive. For me burnt caramel, cedar and oud on the nose. It starts with smoky tobacco and anise on the front end of the taste and them I get dried fig and creme caramel to finish. It is great neat and on the rocks. Also the price allows for the cheeky cocktail mix here and there. Try it in a Cherry Bomb (replace whisky with Abuelo 12-year) or in a 3 dots and a dash with Hampden Estate Gold and the 12-year, sooo good.

Posted about 1 year ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

I felt it had caramel notes. Very smooth and tasty.

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

Tasted 12/25/2018 in Key West at The Rum Bar. Neat. Very delicious! Very oaky, and dry, in a good way. Not sweet like some rums. El Dorado 21 is much sweeter. This is damn good, a little hotter, not quite as smooth, but at half the price. 90+

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Knowing Spanish-style rums are notorious for added sugar, I wasn't expecting much. The nose is extremely molasses forward which was confirming my worst fears. Upon tasting however, I was mildly surprised it wasn't a complete sugar-bomb like Diplomatico Reserva Exculsiva. It came across the palate a bit drier than anticipated, but that was a pretty low bar. There's a hint of smokiness and very little burn. It's not offensive, but there isn't a whole lot of complexity either.

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's similar to 7y, but more expensive and in my opinion 7y is little bit more balanced.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

For the price, its not too bad, but not my favourite. It’s slightly sweet, has a slight tobacco taste and an after taste of oak. Initially, I was not too keen on it, but by the time I finished the bottle, it had grown on me, so I increased my rating to a well deserved 7. In this range, I prefer El Dorado 12yr old, but wouldn't be disappointed if I was given a bottle at Christmas.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

It's worth a try if you want to try a selection of different rums. It's quite nice but I won't re-order, there's others I much prefer at the same price.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

Duft af kirsebær, portvin og vanilie.
Smag af vanilie, røg og fad god sød eftersmag

Posted about 4 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Delicious rum - a deluge of flavours ranging from candied oranges through baking spice and vanilla to milk chocolate and oak.

It has a little bite so it is not entirely smooth, nevertheless a huge improvement over the 7 YO bottle.

Very long finish. The rum tastes better than it smells which is something i have also experienced with Rn de JEREMY XO.

In terms of complexity of falvour, this is one of the richest profile to come across, which some people may not like as it is kind of distracting and it is a little tricky to enjoy the rum without constantly analyizing what was in it.

But I really enhoyed sipping it. 8,5




#