Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10
353 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
12
39
98
143
46
9

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

353 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from Spain with 3 ratings

No es el tipo de ron que me gusta. Olor de madera, muy poderoso. Color de un añejo potente. El sabor.: presencia de roble muy fuerte sin poder sacar ningun otro sabor. Parece que lo han rellenado a un barril podrido. A mi no me convence.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pitr P from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Velmi velke prekvapenie menom Abuelo 12y. Moj oblubeny rum Diplomatico RE dostal silneho supera!

Sladky rum, vonavy drevom a vanilkou az ovocim. Chut je jemna, alkohol doznieva velmi prijemne a chute idu na povrch cez sladkost, vanilku az ku drevitosti zo suda...

Ozaj odporucam. Testoval som s jeho bratom Abuelo 7y a je tam veeelky rozdiel. Oplati sa priplatit.

Nazdravie :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

For the price, its not too bad, but not my favourite. It’s slightly sweet, has a slight tobacco taste and an after taste of oak. Initially, I was not too keen on it, but by the time I finished the bottle, it had grown on me, so I increased my rating to a well deserved 7. In this range, I prefer El Dorado 12yr old, but wouldn't be disappointed if I was given a bottle at Christmas.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

It's worth a try if you want to try a selection of different rums. It's quite nice but I won't re-order, there's others I much prefer at the same price.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

Duft af kirsebær, portvin og vanilie.
Smag af vanilie, røg og fad god sød eftersmag

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Delicious rum - a deluge of flavours ranging from candied oranges through baking spice and vanilla to milk chocolate and oak.

It has a little bite so it is not entirely smooth, nevertheless a huge improvement over the 7 YO bottle.

Very long finish. The rum tastes better than it smells which is something i have also experienced with Rn de JEREMY XO.

In terms of complexity of falvour, this is one of the richest profile to come across, which some people may not like as it is kind of distracting and it is a little tricky to enjoy the rum without constantly analyizing what was in it.

But I really enhoyed sipping it. 8,5

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 30 gpl. This is a good rum, but it is not in the same league as the Centuria, nor would I expect it to be. It's missing the smoothness and complex flavors found in the Centuria, but at a fraction of the price you do get some of the flavors found in the Big Brother vintage. I tasted some fruit perhaps prunes or apricots, a heavy dose of caramel, vanilla, and oak, making it a good sipper at a great price. The sweetness found in the 12 year old makes it a bit too sweet to be a mixing rum for me making it a sipping rum. At $33 USD per bottle this is fantastic value.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Bottle normal
Taste vanilla but nothing special. Strong aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 106 ratings

Miel fruity nose, hay. Leathery mouth with miel, banana, oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 34 ratings

En nariz especias,pasas,miel,un cuerpo imponente,un sabor ahumado ,dulce pero no empalagoso,y un final extraordinario

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 304 ratings

This is indeed a tasty, sweet rum. Subtle sweet aroma in the bottle. The flavor is not bad but there is some flavor in their that I don't really care for. That's the main reason why I didn't give it an "8". The aftertaste (post burn) is better. I just cannot put my finger on what that odd flavor it. Oh well. Otherwise a very nice rum.