Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10
335 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
10
39
92
137
44
8

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

335 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Brandon from United States with 8 ratings

Not as sweet as some others, but very smooth. I was fortunate enough to have had this in a nice tequila bar. I didn't get a chance to fully delve into the complexities, but it seemed like a good, straight Rum and what I'd describe simply as refined.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is a sweet rum that will have you checking your receipt to see if you really paid that little for such a nice rum. It is not complex but at this price you can be biased. This drink left me wanting to buy the Abuelo Centuria as this is meant to be the top rum in the Abuelo brand. I just need a reason to justify myself this purchase.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Piet from Belgium with 12 ratings

In the nose, abuelo is fruity & chocolate flavour is in.

In the mouth, we have a really good storm of flavour. Very good balanced between the woody, chocolate, leather and almond flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jesse Adams from United States with 8 ratings

I enjoyed this with my father in law. It was good.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by rumroel from Netherlands with 22 ratings

erg lekker sterk van smaak maar zeker goed gerijpt.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

Smooth and very GOOD smell!!!! The taste is not really what I expected, but still liked it....

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by ManFly from Sweden with 19 ratings

This is an ok rum, like the sweet smell of it. But for me the taste of it did have to much oak tones and remind me more of whiskey.
All though I like the smoothiness and the sweet notes. But not the oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Deedee H. from United States with 3 ratings

Incredibly smooth. Can smell the molasses with a woodsy tone to it. Perfect after dinner with family or friends

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

God bid i starten, efterfulgt af en masse smagsoplevelser.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

For me, this is what I like in a rum. However, I can understand why people would find this too sweet and too oaky. The sweetness is intense on the front palate before the oak kicks in to mellow it down. On the finish, the sweetness caries on well after the oak. But.....just sometimes, I can find it to be all a bit too confected. But whether it is a good drinking day or not, it is supremely smooth, full bodied and easy to drink

EDIT - the Mezan Panama is made by the same people as this, and to me is better. While it doesn't have the smokey flavours, the sweetness isn't quite so in your face.

2nd Edit - I have just been given a litre bottle at 37.5% and it is very different to the 70cl 40% bottle that I have just finished. Unsurprisingly it is smoother than the 40%, and the oak notes are much more pronounced. I had become rather undecided about the 40% as it had a dirty edge to it, but the 37.5% is right up there. Very good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

I'm not one to enjoy too much wood, and this tips to that side for me. I can appreciate the expertise though and will recommend it. For my tastes, I'll stick with the 7 year.