Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10
338 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
11
39
93
137
45
8

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


338 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Brandon from United States with 8 ratings

Not as sweet as some others, but very smooth. I was fortunate enough to have had this in a nice tequila bar. I didn't get a chance to fully delve into the complexities, but it seemed like a good, straight Rum and what I'd describe simply as refined.

Small 2067c774 342c 4d82 9940 c253badbe1bc

Posted over 5 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 85 ratings

A verry good Rum! Ilike it verry much! Also the price for this good Rum is ok!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

I thought the Abuelo Centuria was a little pricey, but this surprised me at only $36.99 (Beltramo's 2015 price). Tastes more like sugar cane than molasses; also includes brown sugar, tobacco, toffee, allspice, cinnamon, oak, bourbon, and vanilla. A surprisingly good rum; especially for the price!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erik Lööf from Sweden with 10 ratings

But it's a really good rum!
Ron Abuelo Gran Reserva is made ​​from molasses - but with little added sugar cane juice . And it is perhaps this that has helped to lift the Gran Reserva to a higher level !

The aroma have lots of fruity sweetness, yet with good balance with clear hints of caramel and cherry - and a little coconut ! The flavor is moderately intense with great sweetness! This will return the candy and the cherries from the aroma , along with exotic fruits !

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Brian Brix Kristensen from Denmark with 6 ratings

I would rate this excellent rum at a much higher price in a blind test I am sure. My first bottle is soon empty and I will definitely go for a renewal.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This is a keeper! A really nice Spanish style rum that delivers a good mix of sweetness and fruity and spicy flavours. Maybe not as good as Zacapa, but I would put it on equal footing with say Reserva Diplomatico Exclusiva, which has a similar taste profile.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

Good rum that goes down smoothly straight up. Not very complex but good allround taste

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Patryn from Portugal with 12 ratings

thin body and a little burn. Smell very interesting

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Fairly smooth, nice color and aroma. A little pricey but you should try it a least once.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

One for sipping and savouring. The best I've had yet.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

Sweeter than Zafra. Nice mixed. No fancy packaging