Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10
345 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
11
39
95
140
45
9

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

345 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from Spain with 3 ratings

No es el tipo de ron que me gusta. Olor de madera, muy poderoso. Color de un añejo potente. El sabor.: presencia de roble muy fuerte sin poder sacar ningun otro sabor. Parece que lo han rellenado a un barril podrido. A mi no me convence.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted over 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 112 ratings

Very pleasant in every touch. A bit shy on the nose, but attractive. Banana, cherries plus some exotic fruits, still not too sweet and dry enough. Close to infinity ) aftertaste.
Decr one point due to little alcohol burn.

If see them Abuelo 7 and 12 buy both instantly )

Next stop Abuelo 30!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

Upon first taste I knew I liked this rum. I had read that the 7-year was better or at least a better buy. That is arguable because the 7-year is a great value and a good rum, but I think it serves as a great mixer and pretty nice on the rocks. The 12-year competes taste-wise and complexity-wise with rums 30-70% more expensive. For me burnt caramel, cedar and oud on the nose. It starts with smoky tobacco and anise on the front end of the taste and then you get dried fig and creme caramel to finish. It is great neat and on the rocks. Also the price allows for the cheeky cocktail mix here and there. Try it in a Cherry Bomb (replace whisky with Abuelo 12-year) or in a 3 dots and a dash with Hampden Estate Gold and the 12-year, sooo good.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

I felt it had caramel notes. Very smooth and tasty.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 227 ratings

Tested this long ago and you can definitely taste that it’s a Panamanian Ron. It has it all, but everything is weaker than in the better ones.
——————————————————————-
Tasted it again during Birka’s rumcruise 22/3-2019 at a Master class and this time I had difficulty to distinguish from Havana Club 7yo.
So my rating will not be changed.
Picture: Brands included at the blindtest.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

Tasted 12/25/2018 in Key West at The Rum Bar. Neat. Very delicious! Very oaky, and dry, in a good way. Not sweet like some rums. El Dorado 21 is much sweeter. This is damn good, a little hotter, not quite as smooth, but at half the price. 90+

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 109 ratings

Abuelo 12 mi velmi připomíná Diplomatico, ale je méně sladký. Oproti El Doradu méně kořeněný. Finish Abuela je rozhodně lepší než u obou konkurentů výrazně uhlazenější. Taky víc po propolisu a dřevu, ale nepřehnaně, zase uhlazeně. Rozhodně 8.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

12-ročný rum od Abuelo je mojom prvotinou od tohto producenta, typická fľaša v ktorej sa navhádza rum, ktorý chuťovo pripomína niečo medzi Zacapa 23y a Diplomatico reserva exclusiva.

Fľaša: fľaša ma nejako obzvlášť nezaujala, je taká typická pre tohto producenta. Hnedá s korkovou zátkou. Asi som skôr za dizajn podobný Diplomaticu.

Vôňa: krásna vôňa po pomarančoch, sušených hrozienkach a slivkách, vanilke a dube. Naozaj pekná vôňa, ktorá neustále niečim prekvapí.

Chuť: chuť je sladká, nie veľmi ale cítiť tu sladkosť po ovocí. Možno by tu mohlo byť viac komplexnosti ale mne sa prejavuje značná nevyváženosť.

Záver: krásne voňavý rum, ktorý kazí chuť, fľaša to zachránila nakoľko je pre tohto producenta špecifická. Celkovo je tento rum chutný len by som tu doladil chute rumu. Záver je krátky ale jemný.

Small img 5797

Posted over 3 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 203 ratings

Vůně příjemna, málo výrazná.
Láhev obyčejná, ale ukrývající skvelý rum.
Chuť lehce ovocná a sofitistikovaná - vyvážená.
Skvelé překvapení večera.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 89 ratings

Knowing Spanish-style rums are notorious for added sugar, I wasn't expecting much. The nose is extremely molasses forward which was confirming my worst fears. Upon tasting however, I was mildly surprised it wasn't a complete sugar-bomb like Diplomatico Reserva Exculsiva. It came across the palate a bit drier than anticipated, but that was a pretty low bar. There's a hint of smokiness and very little burn. It's not offensive, but there isn't a whole lot of complexity either.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

It's similar to 7y, but more expensive and in my opinion 7y is little bit more balanced.