Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10 (319 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
8
38
88
129
44
7

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


319 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Stephane from France with 24 ratings

Découvert dans un restaurant puis en masterclass j'ai adoré le côté rond de ce rhum
D'une excellente facture l'alcool n'est pas trop présent en bouche pour laisser place à des arômes de fruits confits et de caramel
À goûter absolument

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

Tasted 12/25/2018 in Key West at The Rum Bar. Neat. Very delicious! Very oaky, and dry, in a good way. Not sweet like some rums. El Dorado 21 is much sweeter. This is damn good, a little hotter, not quite as smooth, but at half the price. 90+

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Abuelo 12 mi velmi připomíná Diplomatico, ale je méně sladký. Oproti El Doradu méně kořeněný. Finish Abuela je rozhodně lepší než u obou konkurentů výrazně uhlazenější. Taky víc po propolisu a dřevu, ale nepřehnaně, zase uhlazeně. Rozhodně 8.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

12-ročný rum od Abuelo je mojom prvotinou od tohto producenta, typická fľaša v ktorej sa navhádza rum, ktorý chuťovo pripomína niečo medzi Zacapa 23y a Diplomatico reserva exclusiva.

Fľaša: fľaša ma nejako obzvlášť nezaujala, je taká typická pre tohto producenta. Hnedá s korkovou zátkou. Asi som skôr za dizajn podobný Diplomaticu.

Vôňa: krásna vôňa po pomarančoch, sušených hrozienkach a slivkách, vanilke a dube. Naozaj pekná vôňa, ktorá neustále niečim prekvapí.

Chuť: chuť je sladká, nie veľmi ale cítiť tu sladkosť po ovocí. Možno by tu mohlo byť viac komplexnosti ale mne sa prejavuje značná nevyváženosť.

Záver: krásne voňavý rum, ktorý kazí chuť, fľaša to zachránila nakoľko je pre tohto producenta špecifická. Celkovo je tento rum chutný len by som tu doladil chute rumu. Záver je krátky ale jemný.

Small img 5797

Posted over 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 181 ratings

Vůně příjemna, málo výrazná.
Láhev obyčejná, ale ukrývající skvelý rum.
Chuť lehce ovocná a sofitistikovaná - vyvážená.
Skvelé překvapení večera.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Knowing Spanish-style rums are notorious for added sugar, I wasn't expecting much. The nose is extremely molasses forward which was confirming my worst fears. Upon tasting however, I was mildly surprised it wasn't a complete sugar-bomb like Diplomatico Reserva Exculsiva. It came across the palate a bit drier than anticipated, but that was a pretty low bar. There's a hint of smokiness and very little burn. It's not offensive, but there isn't a whole lot of complexity either.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's similar to 7y, but more expensive and in my opinion 7y is little bit more balanced.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pitr P from Slovakia with 22 ratings

Velmi velke prekvapenie menom Abuelo 12y. Moj oblubeny rum Diplomatico RE dostal silneho supera!

Sladky rum, vonavy drevom a vanilkou az ovocim. Chut je jemna, alkohol doznieva velmi prijemne a chute idu na povrch cez sladkost, vanilku az ku drevitosti zo suda...

Ozaj odporucam. Testoval som s jeho bratom Abuelo 7y a je tam veeelky rozdiel. Oplati sa priplatit.

Nazdravie :)

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

For the price, its not too bad, but not my favourite. It’s slightly sweet, has a slight tobacco taste and an after taste of oak. Initially, I was not too keen on it, but by the time I finished the bottle, it had grown on me, so I increased my rating to a well deserved 7. In this range, I prefer El Dorado 12yr old, but wouldn't be disappointed if I was given a bottle at Christmas.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

It's worth a try if you want to try a selection of different rums. It's quite nice but I won't re-order, there's others I much prefer at the same price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

Duft af kirsebær, portvin og vanilie.
Smag af vanilie, røg og fad god sød eftersmag