Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10 (326 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
9
38
89
133
44
8

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

326 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 31 ratings

Good body and nicely balanced between sweet and dry. Good sfter dinner neat or with a rock or two.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Though a bit sweet for my palate, really nice in every way. The only reason I wouldn't take four bottles of this instead of one bottle of Centuria is so I can trade the Centuria for, say, a bottle of Opthimus 18, one of Mount Gay XO, and a Depaz Blue Cane to round out the price bracket.

Value alone, it's a no-brainer at $32ish. It really gets better as it airs out in the bottle or decanting. Dark berries, cherries, apricot, some buttery/salted toffee, coffee. Initial sweetness fading towards the finish with the tiniest hint of leather and tobacco bringing up the rear; really nice medium body texture. If you dislike oak/wood notes to your rum, they're almost completely missing here. There's a delicious cognac note here, too.

If you find yourself unimpressed with the adulterated sweetness of most rums but don't fancy the drier examples like Appleton 12, Brugal 1888, this is a center-line rum you just might come to love. An critical rating of 7 but a cumulative rating of 8 given the great value. A staple.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This rum contains a very large amount of added sugar which makes it seem "sweet and smooth", but which masks the rum's actual flavors. What does this rum really taste like? We'll never know.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I liked this a lot for my first time trying it. I tried it with coke and sipped on it as a shooter. I can drink either way but prefer with coke. I will definitely buy again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 121 ratings

This one reminds me very much of the El Dorado 12 year. I am fairly certain there is some substantial added sugar, as I recently found out there is in the ED 12 - but it has enough flavor to hold up and not be overwhelmed by sweetness. Smoky, woody, with leather and tobacco notes. I don't smoke but it seems to me this one would be excellent with a cigar.

Edit : I have since found out that this rum and El Dorado 12 yr have almost the exact same amount of added sugar, around 30 g/ltr. This is a substantial amount and makes the usual $30+ price tag something I would not pay - although I am not unhappy that scored several on closeout for under $20.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by Danny Boy from Italy with 1 rating

I like this Rum, I am not an expert but like quality drinks. I found it sweet with a complex taste. Exactly what I like.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Yohobro from Canada with 13 ratings

($57CAD) It’s dark and smells a bit spicy. Which didn’t seem to show up on the palate the first couple sips. There’s a lot to unpack in this rum.
The first thing I noticed tasting this one is it’s more tart than any of the other rums I’ve tried. Like cherries. It’s upfront and I like it. Right behind that is what I was smelling, some spice or tobacco maybe. That fades into a good amount of sweetness and then oak, resting nicely into a subtle but lingering warmth.
This rum makes me look forward to drinking it. It’s an interesting rum with some distinct flavours on top of the sweetness which is exactly what I like.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 50 ratings

Je to môj prvý rum z rodiny Abuelo. Rozhodol som sa ho vyskúšat na základe dobrých recenzii. Dizajn fliaš sa mi veľmi nepači ale doležitejší je obsah. Rum krásne vonia po vanilke, trstinovom cukre, dube a dyme. Cuť je sladká tak akurát a kopíruje vôňu. Výborný chutný rum ale v tejto cene by som siahol asi po niečom výraznejšiom.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by kodex from Poland with 7 ratings

It is truly one of my favorites. I love its gentle taste - it is very universal for me, only reason for not being 10/10 - its bit too sweet. Slight bit.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by 25RdR from Netherlands with 21 ratings

I really like this rum, rich taste and not too strong

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 11 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 90 ratings

Very pleasant in every touch. A bit shy on the nose, but attractive. Banana, cherries plus some exotic fruits, still not too sweet and dry enough. Close to infinity ) aftertaste.
Decr one point due to little alcohol burn.

If see them Abuelo 7 and 12 buy both instantly )

Next stop Abuelo 30!