Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10 (319 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
8
38
88
129
44
7

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


319 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Good body and nicely balanced between sweet and dry. Good sfter dinner neat or with a rock or two.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 59 ratings

A simple every day rum. A bit harsh. There are way better tasting rums for this price.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 164 ratings

Tested this long ago and you can definitely taste that it’s a Panamanian Ron. It has it all, but everything is weaker than in the better ones.
——————————————————————-
Tasted it again during Birka’s rumcruise 22/3-2019 at a Master class and this time I had difficulty to distinguish from Havana Club 7yo.
So my rating will not be changed.
Picture: Brands included at the blindtest.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 336 ratings

Very well ballanced. Not sweet but also not dry, with his own character. Smooth and complex with more layers and longer aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

De laatste uit mijn Tasting Collection en wellicht de beste. Waar een deel geen echt sipper was, is deze daar uitermate geschikt voor. Lekkere neus, tikje caramel en een vleugje rokerig. Smaak heel lekker, pure rum. Lekkere lange en rokerige nasmaak. Hier wil ik wel een fles van!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by C. F. from United States with 28 ratings

Nose is aromatic tobacco and fruit.

Mouthfeel is light with minimal burn.

Taste is very sweet right up front, little bit of wood that gives way to sugary sweetness. Not a bad rum, necessarily but it doesn't make my top 5 even for the $35 I paid for it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Hanreb1 from United States with 9 ratings

Very pleasant oak nose with much stronger oak finish. Only slightly sweet. Very smooth body. Overall very enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by drobz from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

Pro mě pecka.
Relativně rozumná cena, příjemná nasládlost, krásné dřevité tóny v chuti.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jannino from United States with 24 ratings

Smooth on the front end with hints of chocolate on the back.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Peter from Spain with 3 ratings

No es el tipo de ron que me gusta. Olor de madera, muy poderoso. Color de un añejo potente. El sabor.: presencia de roble muy fuerte sin poder sacar ningun otro sabor. Parece que lo han rellenado a un barril podrido. A mi no me convence.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Aged in Bourbon cask.
Taste of:
Caramel, vanilla, bourbon cask, smoke...
-
Particular, sophisticated, sweet and rich flavor.
Top Rum 10/10