Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10 (319 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
8
38
88
129
44
7

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


319 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This rum contains a very large amount of added sugar which makes it seem "sweet and smooth", but which masks the rum's actual flavors. What does this rum really taste like? We'll never know.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 302 ratings

Krásně voní, chuť výborná, nasládlá, co si přát víc

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ales from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Jemný, krásně voní po karamelu s trochou kouře. Spousta potěšení za pár peněz.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

To my palate, this tastes a wee bit like Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, but with much more "fire". Also hints of sherry, raisins and vanilla. Beautiful tasting Rum, sweet but not overly so.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 47 ratings

I do like the wood in this one and I do like the little burn and the taste of caramel and molasses that you have in your mouth just after you have finished it. But it just ends there, can't feel the magic in this one, don't know why, maybe it is too sweet, maybe I had better rums so I can't be objective with this one. Price in Europe might be interesting but for 5€ you can have a lot of better bottles.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

Sweet and tasteful, but too much flavor of dried prune or raisins for me.
This may be a feature of panamanian rum, there was same flavor in Rum Nation Panama.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Cyruz from Denmark with 21 ratings

Nose : Sweet, caramel, fruit.

Taste : Just like the nose its very good. Caramel is there from the start and the some sweet fruit and nuts.

Very good rhum and creamy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jd from France with 41 ratings

Bon petit ron à un rapport qualité prix correct pour un 12 ans

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

I quite like this, even if I paid a little more than I think it is worth, at around £45.
It's a little spirity, so hot on the tongue and the back of the throat, but that's forgiveable because of how the flavours develop in the mouth.
On the nose, it's all about toffee and honey. A hint of calvados apples but otherwise, not much fruit here.
It has a sweet aroma which tells you that this is a sweet rum, but when you taste, it isn't as sweet as you might expect. Initialy, it has very dark sugar, almost treacle. This segues into a quite bitter oakiness which fades through a sort-of gin-like finish. I feel that if this rum has been sweetened, it was probably done for a good reason.
I mean, it isn't fabulously complex, but it leaves you wanting more.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

pur schmeckt er mit nicht, ist hald auch nicht süss. aber für zum mixen super.. für das hald etwas teuer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Nothing really special about it. A good yet slightly sweetened choice.