Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10
345 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
11
39
95
140
45
9

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

345 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This rum contains a very large amount of added sugar which makes it seem "sweet and smooth", but which masks the rum's actual flavors. What does this rum really taste like? We'll never know.

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted over 1 year ago by Rinushorn from France with 98 ratings

Tout ce qu'on attend d'un ron hispanique de 12 ans.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by rmweaver81 from United States with 2 ratings

This is a pretty standard rum. There isn't a lot differentiating it from your other standard rums. It’s a little higher on the vapor end than I prefer for a sipping rum. Given the choice, I’d go for the Ron Zacapa Centenario.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 371 ratings

Good and tasty. There is nothing exceptional, but I like the herbs and some mandarine in the taste.

I am greeted with burned sugar, vanilla and a hint of apricot. I get also dry furits and some herbs.
All flavors are wrapped in some white ok. Not the panama smell I expected, usually panama rums are more bright.

As the first drop hits my tongue, I get burned sugar with mandarine and vanilla. A second sip provides dry fruits, some wood and also chocolate. The spice provides also some cinnemon notes.
The taste is not complex and the flavors are common. Still a good rum but not exceptional for me.
I would rate it with 72 points.

Smell: burned sugar, white oak, vanilla, dry fruit (plum, apricot), some herbs/plants
Taste: burned sugar, mandarine, vanilla, dry fruits, some wood, chocolate, spice
Finish: middle long, almost short but the spicy taste lingers longer

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (35): 3/5
Complexity: 3/5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This one tastes dosed but dont mind the sweetness when having a smokey cigar.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Per71 from Sweden with 60 ratings

A nice rum for sipping. Oak notes, a little sweetness and a touch of smoke.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 19 ratings

Mooie smaak. Met karakter. Je proeft de barrel en hij heeft een lekkere afdronk.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by IBO from Slovakia with 174 ratings

Od Abuela 12YO som očakával čosi viac. Je to chutný rum,skôr ostrejší s dymovym podtónom,no ničím má neprekvapil. Zreteľne cítiť aj dozrievanie v sudoch po whiskey,ale dal by som mu tak 5,8 bodu.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jimbo_bear from Aruba with 20 ratings

A (too) sweat vanilla tasting rum with a strong alcohol. Not a sipping rum for me and I assume that there is added sugar/caramel to this rum. An ok rum for a decent price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumba from United States with 11 ratings

Great aroma, sweet carmel, cinnamon and vanilla notes. Great value. Fans of Diplomatico will definitely enjoy. A staple in my home bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Excelente ron, buen color y textura, solo o con un cubo de hielo excelente. Buen precio en el mercado.