Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10 (326 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
9
38
89
133
44
8

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

326 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 28 ratings

Good rum with a lot of sweet flavour. Smells also sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 202 ratings

Har ofte læst at 7 års var bedre end 12 års, men det giver jeg ikke ret i. 15 års er dog bedre. Duft af tobak, træ og appelsin. Meget smag af tobak og træ, men også lidt marcipan ved 3-4 forsøg. Ikke dårlig, men heller ikke en til romskabet. Lang eftersmag. (12. December 2018 i MacY)

Smagt igen i 2020: Opdateret fra 6 til 7. Kunne ikke smage tobak og appelsin denne gang. Duft af røde bær og chokolade, kommer også i smagen, som er sød og nem, men desværre også lidt fad. Bedre oplevelse end sidst. (11. December 2019 i MacY)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Robbrass from Canada with 1 rating

We did a rum tasting of Central America rums all 7 yr and older and this was #1 choice from 4 out of 5 guys
Worth trying

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

This is really nice supprise. This was my first rum from Abuelo and and it was a hit. Really nice aroma of oak, vanilla and caramel. In mouth you can feel nice balance of fruit, oak, toffee and vanilla. End is supprisingly long and sweet. Outstanding rum for its price.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A staple of the upmarket canary island all inclusive this one. Decent.

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 1 year ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 73 ratings

This 12 years is less sweet than the 7 years and I find the burn of alcohol at the end is just to harsh!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dennis Cufone from United States with 12 ratings

You always gotta love your first. When I first dove into drinking nicer rums this was my first taste, and I was hooked. Still love it today. Smooth and easy to sip neat. Always in the cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Madridista from Canada with 6 ratings

I have always loved this rum, but it's expensive in Canada. I bought 3 bottles at the duty free on SJO for 75 USD. I still love taking this 12 year old out and sipping it. It isn't as smooth as some 21 or even other 12 year olds, but it's very easy on the palate.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

Picked this up in Dom Rep recently at duTY free. Could possibly be referred to as DREs little brother. Not as sweet but certainly has a lot of similarities.
Wood and fruit on the nose, gorgeous colour, a short burn leaving a really warm feel on the tongue.
Top class sipping rum,
Enjoy it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 31 ratings

Good body and nicely balanced between sweet and dry. Good sfter dinner neat or with a rock or two.