Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10 (319 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
8
38
88
129
44
7

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


319 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael David from United States with 10 ratings

This rum is a slap and then a burn. The most I ever paid for a bottle and my biggest disappointment...

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Madridista from Canada with 6 ratings

I have always loved this rum, but it's expensive in Canada. I bought 3 bottles at the duty free on SJO for 75 USD. I still love taking this 12 year old out and sipping it. It isn't as smooth as some 21 or even other 12 year olds, but it's very easy on the palate.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

Picked this up in Dom Rep recently at duTY free. Could possibly be referred to as DREs little brother. Not as sweet but certainly has a lot of similarities.
Wood and fruit on the nose, gorgeous colour, a short burn leaving a really warm feel on the tongue.
Top class sipping rum,
Enjoy it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Good body and nicely balanced between sweet and dry. Good sfter dinner neat or with a rock or two.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by matbli from Poland with 11 ratings

Don't expect something superior. This is a good quality daily sipping rum. Very good at this price category. Very sweet and indeed comperable to Botucal Reserva Exclusiva. A lot of vanilla, cane sugar, cocoa and fresh wood notes.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by opkins from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I think this is a pretty good rum, it’s quiet sweet which I don’t mind too much with tonic or something. I get vanilla and coconut with a slight oak after taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Realy nice nose full of vanilla and raisin. I like this one a bit more than the 7 year old but pricetechnical I prefer the 7 year old.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

Had it during a flight to South America - the flight attendant saw I was sipping the Abuelo Añejo (younger rum) and brought me this. The 12-yr is definitely an improvement when compared to the Añejo as the first smells in nose are that of toffee, caramel and a hint of vanilla, and after it comes the alcohol smell. In mouth it is smoother and you can taste less the alcohol than the Añejo. It is a woody rum so expect a dry aftertaste. I am sure that the older versions are worth exploring. Can’t wait to try the older versions!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Very sweet and nicely full aroma, taste being a tad on the simpler side. Nice sipper none the less.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tex from Canada with 3 ratings

Smooth, something you can drink straight. Enjoyed with friends.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tobias from Denmark with 29 ratings

Sweet and with caremel flavour. Reminds me of Diplomatico