Posting your rating...
Bacardi Ron Solera 1873 rum

Bacardi 1873 Ron Solera is a golden rum aged up to three years in charred oak barrels. As the name suggests, the Solera system is used to produce this rum, which mixes new batches of rum with older batches each year.

"1873" represents the year of the Virginius Affair, the name of a captured American ship that resulted in a remarkable international diplomacy for peace between the US and Spain during the Ten Years' War.

Rate Bacardi Ron Solera 1873

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


51 Bacardi Ron Solera 1873 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

This stuff wakes you up before you even taste it. A bit strong smelling and slight medicine smell and taste, with a lot of charred barrel flavour but not too oaky. The bottle looks great and the graphics would suggest more of a top shelf flavour than it really presents. Not really a sipper, I would mix this one with Coke.

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

I purchased this 1873 bottle while visiting the Bacardi plant in 1996. It was listed as a dry rum so it sat unopened for 18 years until recently. It did have a pale golden color when I purchased it. It is a pleasant rum, a bit dry and clean finish. Not my cup of tea, but at least it doesn't suck.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

The initial taste is ridiculously smooth... no burn and soft flavor until a pleasant dry, spicy complexity starts to build and accumulate as you progress to the finish. A little bit of funk, but noticeable molasses notes and smokey oak. With ice, or a little water, a bittersweet dark-chocolate flavor emerges and lingers on the finish. I bought it for $20, but have found it for lower. how could you complain? A good one for the shelf, as it continues to change the minds of those that believe Bacardi is no good.

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 3- 5 gpl.
This was the "Premium" rum at the All Inclusive I stayed at in Mexico. It's not a top shelf rum by any means, but it's a decent mixing rum. Not offensive as they have far worse tasting stuff on offer to those that want Mojitos or are volume drinkers. Normal aromas and tastes of Oak, Vanilla, and caramel. Nothing outstanding and whatever taste there is fades quickly. It's not robust enough to have over ice. Mixing rum only is my call on this one.

Posted over 3 years ago by Leonel from Mexico with 6 ratings

My only reference at the moment is Bacardi Ocho. In comparisson, Solera is much stronger, and definitely not for sipping. But when mixed (particularly for Cubas), it has an almost sweet flavor. I did not feel the oak at all, to be honest, but it's good nevertheless. I always have a bottle in stock for when I feel like having a strong drink.

To be honest, I'd take an Ocho over Solera, anytime.

Posted over 3 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

Was at a hotel bar and this was the only "premium" rum available. Neat, it had notes of oak and charring. Alcohol was wafting from the glass. The palette had more oak, molasses and a bit of vanilla. Burning and spreading the warmth of that oakyness down the throat. With a cube, it didn't open much. A tad more vanilla.
Not a great rum, but for a Bacardi product it's drinkable. Next time, mixing it.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Like hair spray from 1980. At the roof of my mouth, there is a displeasure too. Tried straight, on the rocks and with coke. Added more than the usual amount of coke and it became... acceptable.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A blend of rums aged in charred oak barrels using the solera method where rums aged from 1-3 years are joined together to produce a flavorful rum. Woody, smoky and fruity are words to describe this entry level sipper. Priced around $25, this rum is one of two rums produced by Bacardi that offer a nice deviation from their other standard rum line. The Bacardi 8 and solera 1873 can be enjoyed neat or mixed.

Posted about 3 years ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

As a stand alone sipper it would be not bad. I would probably use mix the next time I try it though. I purchased it because a local (in Mexico) said it was a favourite of his and he genuinely seemed pretty excited about it. I'm glad I tried it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

Es un ron fuerte en olor y sabor a alcohol, mezclado con coca colar es la única forma de tomarlo

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric from United States with 10 ratings

Well... it's got a nicer bottle than the other Bacardi's

Posted 2 months ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Didn't like this much at all, I don't rate Bacardi's efforts of dark rums too much

Posted 9 months ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

Tasted it in Mexico in a hotel bar. I expected hard Bacardi stuff and was surprised it had not that very strong alcohol presence as in the 8yo. Definitely the best Bacardi I tried until now, nothing great compared to other rums. Could be a good bar or club standart but they don't sell it here in Spain.

Posted 11 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

Maybe I just don’t like Bacardi rums. I find they all taste bland and have a bad aftertaste that reminds me of diet coke. I have tried the most premium Bacardi labels for $200 that don’t even compare to a decent $50 of Zafara 21 or even Zaya at that

Posted 11 months ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

Way to rough to drink straight, it has a funky taste that is not classic to Rum. Over priced to use as a mixer.

Posted about 1 year ago by Michael from United States with 1 rating

Everything i look for in a sipper...
Had the smell of good Tennessee Whiskey... Smooth to the palette with a warm , smokey finish... A soothingly delicious companion to a cabin fireplace

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

I got this one on sale today for only $15, which was hard to pass up. The dark colored glass on the bottle hides the orange rum inside. The aroma is of oak and fruit, with no legs in the snifter. It probably has little or no added sugar. The taste is smooth, but that after taste has quite a burn because the oldest rum in this solera ageing is only three years old. For those of you familiar with my other reviews, you very seldom hear me complain about an after burn. This after burn is quite pronounced, but I could get used to it. I would therefore consider this one as a good mixer. Adding an ice cube opens up the flavors, but does not kill the burn. An update will be posted as this rum ages in the bottle, and I would expect the same results down the line.

Update April 9, 2019: The burn is now gone with only 9 ounces left in the bottle. However, the heavy oak flavors now dominate and even come through with a half and half mixture of cola. If you like strong oak flavors, then you will love this one. If not, then stay away from this one. My rating remains the same.

Posted over 1 year ago by Benji from Canada with 1 rating

He aroma is amazing for a rum a that price the taste is so sweet, it just go down the throat easy love it

Posted over 1 year ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Deep flavor but not aged. Ok on the rocks but only as a standby

Posted over 1 year ago by Donny from Mexico with 1 rating

Good enough for mixing when you are on a tight budget.

Posted over 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

C'est pour mixer avec du coke. De couvert au Mexique et pas cher. C est un rhum un peu fort (38%), sent le caramel et goûte un peu le chêne, mais je le compare au bacardi blanc. Boff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

A friend of mine took this for me from mexico and i loved it! Sadly not available here! But i recomment trying it if you can get one!

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles-antoine from France with 11 ratings

Un rhum boisé et assez fort en sec que j'ai pu découvrir au Mexique. Plutot adapté aux cocktails ou a diluer a mon avis.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Bacardi Solera 1873 at La Bodeguita del Medio in Guadalajara. Semi dark color, quite strong to the nose, a lot of oakiness both on the nose and taste. Bacardi Solera goes for whisky lovers, but its a far cry from flavorful aged dark rums. Mix it with Coke and it shows a glimmer of hope. Very strong alcohol taste if neat sipped.