Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


206 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Alex Birch from United States with 12 ratings

God hints of vanilla, smooth start, and bold finish. This rum has a very dry, yet complex character. I would suggest this for anyone looking for a different type of rum. This is not your molasses Ron Zaya or Ron Zacapa. Dry, bold, smooth, and plentiful flavor.

Posted almost 5 years ago by NickTrop from United States with 1 rating

Enjoy your over-priced, over-aged, "premium" (added) sugar bomb rums people. Marvel at the beauty of that caramel coloring while your at it! This Richard Seale disciple and Foursquare fan says, "no thanks". This HONEST distiller -- accurate age statements, no additives, does not ruin his rum by over-aging it so he can over-charge the misinformed for it (rum is not scotch) is your "desert island distiller". This rum is simply perfection -- the gold standard, and priced at what rum SHOULD cost. Rum, neat, is my poison of choice. I've tried many -- not all, and have yet to find one that matches this at any price. Foursquare and its rum, especially its premium bottle (this one), has earned a permanent place on my shelf. When the bottle is empty, I drive to get another "fill-up", with the urgency of one whose gas tank is on "E". Life's too short for over-aged, caramel colored, over-priced, sugar added, flavors added crap that too often passes for rum these days. No need to look further -- this is, literally, the real deal. Mr Seale, I'm much obliged. Thank you, sir. Bless you.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

...it's $22 in New England. That is comically cheap for a world-class rum with pure (unadulterated) flavor, smooth body and very little afterburn. I love this stuff straight up, but at this price it's a perfect sipper, mixer, icer - whatever suits your fancy. You are spending how much for all the "Z" rums? Why?

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

This rum has a pretty rich and sweet smell that is similar to the Plantation brand but with a pronounced yet not overbearing alcohol scent. First taste shows a bitter oakyness that transforms into a faintly sweet flavor standard in Bajan rums. The alcohol burn is at the boundary of being harsh but mellows to a nice heat in the chest. The back end has a bit more of that wood flavor but mixes nicely with a caramel taste. Being relatively new to the rum game, this wouldn't be my first choice but I can see it staying in the rotation when looking for a nip with good flavor and a little bite. I like it. And at the price, you can't beat it. Go grab yourself one of these melted ass bottles and enjoy.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have been wanting to try this rum for quite some time but could not find any in this region. It took a trip to Jacksonville to get a bottle (and what a unique bottle it is). I'm glad I did.

In recent months I have read a lot about R. L. Seale and have come to admire his transparency and dedication to quality when it comes to rums produced by his company. All the ones under different names but produced by R. L. Seale & Company have been consistently good.

But I digress...

As I said this rum is not for the novice. It is a complex rum with a serious kick.

The color is a beautiful clear amber color. The aroma is outstanding and I seem to detect a hint of a fresh sugar cane fragrance. Maybe it's my imagination. I really don't know. I just know it smells good in my snifter. Swirling it in the snifter reveals great legs. It clings to the sides and slowly recedes leaving long tendrils of rum along the sides that manage to remain for a rather lengthy period of time.

It has layers of interesting flavors. For a brief time I detect buttery vanilla but that's replaced by a dry pepperiness with a multitude of spices (which I admittedly cannot distinguish specifics) within milliseconds. That dry pepperiness lasts for quite a while and there is a strong, but not overpowering burn in the back of my throat that slowly fades to a lingering warmth. This is clearly due to it being a tad stronger than typical rum (coming in at 86 proof [43% ABV]). The finish is rather dry. I also detect an oak undertone undoubtedly from tannins from the wood (it is, after all, a 10-year rum aged in used bourbon casks from what I have read) There is clearly no sugaring at all in this rum. Rather smooth yet dry. This is not a rum for those used to sweet rums. For those folks I could recommend this rum as a mixer. But for those who are into bourbon, scotch and whisky...especially those who like their bourbon, scotch and whisky neat...the R. L. Seale 10-year might be a rum appreciated by their palates. Personally I find this to be one of the most versatile rums on the market. I like it sipped straight (really, really small sips...anything more would be a little TOO much for me), with a little added water, with a single ice cube, in Coke Zero, and in adult beverages especially fruit-based adult beverages. Personally speaking I find the dryness and spices to be an excellent counter to citrus (including grapefruit juice) and pineapple juice. Even a dash of simple syrup brings out some of the flavoring one wouldn't detect with anything else.

An outstanding rum no matter how you take it.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gopal Kamath from United States with 6 ratings

Pure Rum.
0 % Additions. Non Enhanced.
100 % Evolution from Molasses to Bottle.
Drink It.
Stock Up on it.
Great Rum at a Good Price .

Posted about 5 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

I think the first thing that surprised me was how short the bottle was. The pictures really make it look taller.

The nose has a tiny, tiny bit of astringency, but I didn't find anything off-putting in the taste. I'm actually at a loss to describe any specific flavors other than 'rum'. There's certainly nothing unpleasant or overbearing. I found it to be slightly fuller, in both taste and finish, than English Harbour 5. Not much of an aftertaste, though.

However, I'm most surprised that it's sweeter than what I expected, considering it doesn't have any added sugar or other flavourings. It goes to show what a quality product can taste like when you put a little time and effort into it.

Highly recommended.

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

If you'r a die hard lover of the sweet(ened) Spanish style this might not tick your box, but this is a very fine example of the pure Barbadian rum. The nose is pleasing with light notes of tropical fruit, emphasized on banana. The palette is not as sweet as the nose, but nonetheless refined, especially considering the price. It's lightly oaky with rounded notes of leather, spices and butterscotch fading into a fairly long and oily finish. Once again thumbs up to mr. seale.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steve Vogel from United States with 1 rating

I was presently surprised by this rum. It is on sale at Total Wine until 11/1/15
It was so good I went and bought three more bottles. One for a present. At $20
on sale it is a steal over the other aged rums especially 10 yr old Barbados rum.

I would buy this rum again in a heartbeat and it will likely be my go to rum
into the future.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry rum. 43% 86 proof.
i smell wood, i smell pepper. i smell some dried fruit with ginger. some vanilla.
i taste a meidum bodied rum with all the stuff a rum has to have. this is the center of a basic rum. great taste. pepper. vanilla. oak. fruit in the back.
9/10 - drop 5 points if you love it sweet.
that is real rum with no mistake. medium body, complex, all aromas of rum in there.
great show of rum aging in a bourbon cask.
add one point if you taste this rum at the new bottling of 46% (92 proof).

this rum belongs to my rum shelf every time. and the price of this jewel is a more than fair count!

Posted almost 5 years ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

So, Total Wine & More opened a new store only 6 miles from my home! To celebrate this, R.L. Seals’ 10 Year was offered at a discount plus coupons that brought the cost down to less than $16! Now I had not had a taste of this rum so I ran home to try it out.

The unique bottle feels inviting in the hand and eye. It is apparently a design that is taken from the old leather sailor’s flask, not the result of a fire at the distillery, as I was told by a overeager stock boy. Foursquare Distillery will no doubt be relieved to know this.

Wonderful golden honey color in the glass, no hint of over sugared legs. But the first sip suggested a little time to air was a wise move. Not as harsh as you might think at 86 proof. I note some sweetness as well as caramel, vanilla, and oak to follow.

I have found a new go to rum and now I must hurry back to get more as the sale allows only one per day and I have not been back today yet!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

The fact this is $22 blows me away... What a cool bottle too
The whole range of FourSquare rums are premium, no sugar or additives, no bullshit, honest labeling, and honestly good. This one and his Doorly's range are available at Total Wine (they can be hard to find) for ridiculously low prices.
Its Bajan style, and executed very well. I see why they call it the "Single Malt" of rum - Its nutty, fruity, biscuity... It has a lightness to it while maintaining complexity and richness. A little water helps things evolve...
This is a rum for having neat, or in an old-fashioned. Buy it when you can, and enjoy it to your heart's content - Its only $22 a bottle.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

I don't know if there is a better deal in the wide world of rum...or in liquor. Pure, unadulterated goodness, in a unique bottle.

This is deceivingly light in color, and easy to drink from the first moment, but the layers sneak up on you. Smooth butter and nuttiness, followed by a minor warming. Easy neat, or over ice, or as a mixer. At this price, should be a standard in every cabinet.

Posted about 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

I can't believe this is $22! I wish it was available at more places than just Total Wine, as the closest one for me is 500 miles and no shipping to my state; required a three man maneuver to get some! Excellent dry fruity spirit with just the right punch.

Sugar test results- >3

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

At the time I am reviewing this, the majority of raters give an 8. I go back and forth on this from a 7 to an 8, but as I'm sitting here tonight with a drink of it in my hand, it feels like an 8. Funky bottle add a little diversity to the bar.

Posted about 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

I bought an "Olde Brigant" version, but is the same.
Delicate rum, sweet, no tannic, smooth coffee flavour. Highly recommended.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I found R.L. Seale in DE before we ever visited Foursquare. I really enjoyed sipping this rum. I love Barbados rums and this is one of my favorites.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

I've read other ratings on various rums and have seen how people say the sweeter rums are good for beginners. As a newby I'd agree as I've found Diplomatico RE and El Dorado 12 very tasty and easy to sip, so when it came to Seale's I wasn't as keen. However, having tried again and giving this more time in the glass, I've discovered extra levels and a very floral bouquet, a sweet perfume that makes me wish I knew how to separate the different aromas..I first rated this at 7 but it's since gone up to 8.5.

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

A rum that taste like RUM ! If you are looking for a baseline rum to compare other rums to ...choose this one !

Posted about 4 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

This was a spur-of-the-moment purchase when I was at a Total Wine in Delaware. Living in Pennsylvania, my rum selection is fairly limited (though they are getting better), I had never seen nor heard of this brand. Naturally, the bottle design drew me in, and then I saw the 22$ price tag for a 10 year aged rum and figured it was worth a shot. Very good flavors and aroma. On the rocks is where it shines. Let it air out for about 10 minutes and then add ice. Really helps it open up and show its true colors. Excellent choice for the price. I can't think of a better aged rum at the price point.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

A nice sugary nose, with some hints of tropical fruit.

Initial taste is a little surprising as it isn't as sweet as it smells.

Really good depth to the flavour with some oak on the finish.

Nice harshness in an alcohol burn but comes through a little 'thin' and taste fades quite quickly.

Tasted this back to back with the Real McCoy 12 yr old (also from foursquare) which tastes older and more developed but not as good.

Even if this wasn't good rum you should get it for the bottle which is like a melted candle but with a very ergonomic shape. Looks very cool and feels amazing in the hand.

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

I will revisit this rum when I don't have a cold, but from what I can tell this will go on my top shelf with my favorites.

Posted over 4 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

This is the bottle that first got me in to rum.

I'd seen in Barbados and was put off buying it due to the gimmicky bottle which I assumed was designed to sell a sub-standard drink. I opted to buy a bottle of Mount Gay XO instead, then later I visited the Foursquare distillery and tried the rums and it blew me away. Incredibly smooth - my favourite rum so far. Once home and tried it against the XO which itself is a very good rum, but can't compare with this. Sadly a bit of a rarity in Europe though the bottle occasionally can be seen standing out in good cocktail bars.

Posted almost 5 years ago by El Capitan Mal from Canada with 1 rating

I love the taste and smoothness of this rum... Prefer this to a 12 y/o single malt scotch

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Vůně je suchá, kořenitá až citrusová, s vanilkou (ale bez sladkosti), hřebíček, nové koření, až trochu cítím lák od okurek. Hodně zvláštní vůně, která mi moc nesedla. (81 b)
Chuť: Úplně první chvilkový dojem na jazyku je lehce nasládlý, ale postupně vysychá, až do takové strohé, kořenité suchosti a anýzu, je tam i trocha cedru a nějakého exotického dřeva. (83 b)
Body: 82
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno na vydařené rumové degustaci u josého v Hořicích, což byla neformální akcička domluvená na Whiskyfestivalu. Toto byl druhý panák ochutnávky, a přiznám se, že mi stylově moc nesedl, hlavně vůně mě nezaujala, v chuti už to bylo o něco lepší. Jsem ale rád, že jsem mohl ochutnat, protože případný nákup celé lahve by mě asi mrzel (pokud bych mu nepřišel na chuť časem). Ale pro ty, kdo nemusí sladké rumy, je to možná dobrá volba, svým způsobem je to i rum originální, nemůžu ho přirovnat k žádnému z těch, co jsem zatím pil. Takže zkuste a udělejte si svůj úsudek, což ostatně platí vždy.




#