Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


206 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum comes in a nice fancy bottle, although I prefer to see the colour of the rum I'm buying. The rum actually has a nice golden colour, and a hint of caramel and smoke in it's smell. The minor caramel and smoke can be tasted as well, although it doesn't last long as the harsh burn kicks in. The way it warms you up, it's kinda more like a scotch than a rum (to me).

Posted 9 months ago by PierreM from France with 14 ratings

Une bouteille qui intrigue, et ensuite, la bonne surprise : un équilibre vraiment bien travaillé. Sans être très complexe, le R.L.Seale est un regal. Notes boisées, caramel (Sans le côté sucré), avec un retour long, limite réglisse. Du très bon rhum. Sans acun ajout. Loin des sirops en tête des ventes de rhum.

Is the design of the botte the only positive point of it? Definitely not. Even if it is not very complex, it is the good balance between dry and sweet. Wood and caramel flavour (without the sugar taste) and a long aftertaste sometimes to licorice. A very good rhum. Without anything added in it. Far from the most sold syrups rhums.

Posted 9 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 19 ratings

Thank you Mr Seale! Sign me up for anything Foursquare.

Found this one to be just a tad sweeter than something like Doorly's 12. Definitely not an off-putting sweetness I've found in other 'premium rum', but more like a brown sugar, caramel that belongs and works well with other components of the profile. Still drinks pretty similar to a whiskey. Oak, vanilla, caramel, burnt brown sugar, pepper, spice. Another very well-balanced sipping rum from Foursquare.

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

The bottle is dutiful and unique just like the rum inside of it.

Posted 11 months ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Interesting bottle, outstanding fruit and sweet aroma. Taste is very well balanced, hints of caramel, but not sweet. Nice end with decent afterburn. No added sugar, it is a must for lovers of dry rums.

Posted 11 months ago by Rhombic from Spain with 11 ratings

Drier rums, especially those from Barbados, tend to elegantly blend flavours instead of masking them (with sugar). This rum presents all the reasons why I like rum. There is no gimmick, no modification beyond the normal processing nor a sugary blanket pulled over the flavour profile.
Instead, it has a surprisingly mellow feel to it, with complex yet superbly balanced flavours.

It pours golden. I had it with one ice cube to open it up. The aromas are actually sweeter than the flavour, with peach, melon and vanilla dominating. However, as I mentioned before, it is the flavour and mouthfeel that are particularly good: very dry, apricot-like with an oaky background.
This RL Seale is extremely smooth in mouth, I just do not think the palate for a rum can get much better; mild to medium body I'd say, but not too thin, and an average duration caramel-dominated finish (still dry).
What a fantastic Bajan rum!

Posted 12 months ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

I'm glad I bought this one on a very special occasion to celebrate. This is the rum I was looking for. Export proof 46 abv, you expect it to burn you but that's not happening, instead it is very round and pleasant. You can smell flowers and almonds, and in your mouth you can taste the almond, the molasses, not sweet at all. You just crave for more, because now you can't drink anymore any sugar bombs. Really can't understand ratings under 7.

Posted about 1 year ago by Aiden from United States with 10 ratings

This is the Jedi among rums. Honest, stoic, stylish, clean and good to a fault. No overaging, no overcharging, no blending with lower quality rums. Refreshing nose, almost no burn, excellent flavor somewhat reminiscent of a good whiskey, just super mellow and smooth all round. As far as I know, they don't add sugar after distillation. I haven't tested this, but this rum is certainly not too sweet. Great on the rocks or straight.

It won't break the bank either, being one of the cheapest high quality aged rums which can be purchased for as little as $22.99 in Georgia. The only downside is that it can be hard to find in certain places.

That said, if you enjoy very sweet rums, say, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, then this rum might not be for you.

Posted about 1 year ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

Everything they make- Doorleys, Real McCoy's, Old Brigand, Special Barbados, Four Square's, are fine, UNADULTEATED, sipping rums.
Most experienced rum drinkers agree and respect Richard Seales.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

You can feel Barbados' rum aroma, vanilla and a little coconut, and a nutty flavor.
Gentle sweetness and deep taste.
I think it is good rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

The smell is great, I get coffee and caramel and could spend countless time sniffing it.
Then testing it is a little bit light, almost watery at first, but then comes a very pleasant oak taste.
Finally the end is long and awesome, make you want to take another sip again (and again)

Posted about 1 year ago by Waly Vega from United States with 15 ratings

This rum is a win in price and a win as it is a well rounded quality rum. Cheers!!!

Posted about 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Example of pure rum by master blender Richard Seale
There are some oranges, burnt nut and a bit of glue in the nose.
Taste is full and complex. Alcohol strenght is well recognizable. Hints of wood, bit of smoke and vanilla.
This true rum is a must in a collection

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumislove from France with 4 ratings

I was looking for a New rum.
Rum ratings helps me to find one.
Many days after a hard find, I was disapointed by the cheapfull looking of the bottle and the plastic cork.
But what a divine surprise ! The smell and the taste are so good to me.
A sure buy.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Strong, dark taste, sweet, heavy, nummy and bitter

Posted over 1 year ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Had a sample from master of malt for about £6 think it's in the £30+ price range.

Quite sweet on the nose with a definite aroma of banana. Nice and reasonably smooth in the mouth fruity and sweet with a gentle touch of oak.

Posted over 1 year ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

For a rum without any added sugar it's sweet enough. The color is light and so is the flavor. It's good, but nothing special about it. The bottle is pretty special.

Posted over 1 year ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

This is, without a doubt, the best bang for buck you can buy... if you can find it. It’s fantastic. No colorings or added sugars, just generations of distilling knowledge now in the hands of Richard Seale.

Posted over 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

10 leta varianta obsahujici 46% alkoholu je znat na vuni i na chuti. Silne paleni ktere prechazi do prijemneho zahrati. Nepali pri polknuti coz je velky plus.
Osobne bych si ho ale nekoupil

Posted over 1 year ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Nyní začínám po otestování cca 60 rumů už rozumím těm, kteří začli sladké rumu na svých policích posouvat dolů a dělají prostor opravdovým rumům. Foursquare Distillery je vyrábějí bez přidaného cukru, takže žádná schovávačka za sladkost. Tohle byla třetí flaška tohoto výrobce a dostává nejmíň, ale stejně krásných 8b. Doorlys 12y s papouškem chtná prostě lépe na 9b. Speciální kolega této výroby je Zinfandel 11y jasných 10b. Bodováno podle dochuti a zinfík, ten je na dlouhé popíjení po doušcích.

Bez cukru, sud, ostrost, říznost, která ale neotravuje, rum jak má být.

Posted over 1 year ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

My first honest rum, with no added sugar at all, good value for money.

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon maloney from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

A great friend once fed exed me a bottle of this liquid gold. Such a great flavour.

Posted over 1 year ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

I got a bottle of this for Xmas the other year and was really pleased. This is a great tasting rum very smooth and has all the flavor you would expect in a 10 year rum. As a bonus the bottle fits in your hand like a dream.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

As everyone knows, this is pure rum with nothing added. having only had it a couple of times so far, my score may rise. I did like it very much.
It's certainly drier than most rums but still has a sweetness on the fade. It's stronger than most rums at 43% and I'd describe the main tastes as molasses and caramel and wood. There's something exotic in there too - maybe a hint of fruit and ginger, and just a tiny hint of vanilla.
The nose is subtler than a lot of rums and there is maybe a hint of whisky - which is also on the tongue.
With the bottle being as interesting as it is, as well, this might be one to buy and leave out for curious guests!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Ok smell. Not too strong. Smooth but no real distinctive notes.