Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seale 10-Year

Barbados | Aged

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

7.6/10
258 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
17
75
104
41
11

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

258 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Aiden from United States with 14 ratings

This is the Jedi among rums. Honest, stoic, stylish, clean and good to a fault. No overaging, no overcharging, no blending with lower quality rums. Refreshing nose, almost no burn, excellent flavor somewhat reminiscent of a good whiskey, just super mellow and smooth all round. As far as I know, they don't add sugar after distillation. I haven't tested this, but this rum is certainly not too sweet. Great on the rocks or straight.

It won't break the bank either, being one of the cheapest high quality aged rums which can be purchased for as little as $22.99 in Georgia. The only downside is that it can be hard to find in certain places.

That said, if you enjoy very sweet rums, say, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, then this rum might not be for you.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

A rum that taste like RUM ! If you are looking for a baseline rum to compare other rums to ...choose this one !

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 40 ratings

This was a spur-of-the-moment purchase when I was at a Total Wine in Delaware. Living in Pennsylvania, my rum selection is fairly limited (though they are getting better), I had never seen nor heard of this brand. Naturally, the bottle design drew me in, and then I saw the 22$ price tag for a 10 year aged rum and figured it was worth a shot. Very good flavors and aroma. On the rocks is where it shines. Let it air out for about 10 minutes and then add ice. Really helps it open up and show its true colors. Excellent choice for the price. I can't think of a better aged rum at the price point.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

A nice sugary nose, with some hints of tropical fruit.

Initial taste is a little surprising as it isn't as sweet as it smells.

Really good depth to the flavour with some oak on the finish.

Nice harshness in an alcohol burn but comes through a little 'thin' and taste fades quite quickly.

Tasted this back to back with the Real McCoy 12 yr old (also from foursquare) which tastes older and more developed but not as good.

Even if this wasn't good rum you should get it for the bottle which is like a melted candle but with a very ergonomic shape. Looks very cool and feels amazing in the hand.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

I will revisit this rum when I don't have a cold, but from what I can tell this will go on my top shelf with my favorites.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

This is the bottle that first got me in to rum.

I'd seen in Barbados and was put off buying it due to the gimmicky bottle which I assumed was designed to sell a sub-standard drink. I opted to buy a bottle of Mount Gay XO instead, then later I visited the Foursquare distillery and tried the rums and it blew me away. Incredibly smooth - my favourite rum so far. Once home and tried it against the XO which itself is a very good rum, but can't compare with this. Sadly a bit of a rarity in Europe though the bottle occasionally can be seen standing out in good cocktail bars.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by El Capitan Mal from Canada with 1 rating

I love the taste and smoothness of this rum... Prefer this to a 12 y/o single malt scotch

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 319 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Vůně je suchá, kořenitá až citrusová, s vanilkou (ale bez sladkosti), hřebíček, nové koření, až trochu cítím lák od okurek. Hodně zvláštní vůně, která mi moc nesedla. (81 b)
Chuť: Úplně první chvilkový dojem na jazyku je lehce nasládlý, ale postupně vysychá, až do takové strohé, kořenité suchosti a anýzu, je tam i trocha cedru a nějakého exotického dřeva. (83 b)
Body: 82
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno na vydařené rumové degustaci u josého v Hořicích, což byla neformální akcička domluvená na Whiskyfestivalu. Toto byl druhý panák ochutnávky, a přiznám se, že mi stylově moc nesedl, hlavně vůně mě nezaujala, v chuti už to bylo o něco lepší. Jsem ale rád, že jsem mohl ochutnat, protože případný nákup celé lahve by mě asi mrzel (pokud bych mu nepřišel na chuť časem). Ale pro ty, kdo nemusí sladké rumy, je to možná dobrá volba, svým způsobem je to i rum originální, nemůžu ho přirovnat k žádnému z těch, co jsem zatím pil. Takže zkuste a udělejte si svůj úsudek, což ostatně platí vždy.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Dry, oaky, nutty, fruity. An amazingly good rum.....excellent bottle, excellent liquid. Every collection NEEDS this!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

One smooth mother of a rum. Absolutely gorgeous stuff just as good if not better than Mount Gay XO.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 113 ratings

Caramel and vanilla aroma, quite complex body, decent tail.