Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


206 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum comes in a nice fancy bottle, although I prefer to see the colour of the rum I'm buying. The rum actually has a nice golden colour, and a hint of caramel and smoke in it's smell. The minor caramel and smoke can be tasted as well, although it doesn't last long as the harsh burn kicks in. The way it warms you up, it's kinda more like a scotch than a rum (to me).

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Not a high end sipper, but still enjoyable.
Can taste vanilla, caramel and some oak.
A bit too harsh and too much alcohol burn/taste to get a higher rating.
I put this on a similar rating as Bacardi 8 and Doorly's XO for example.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 4 gpl. Nice butterscotch taste and a bit of sharpness in the nose at first. Traces of vanilla, honey, nuts, and oak tasted in the follow up. It has a sweet taste at first but that fades away and is replaced with some heat, probably due to the slightly higher 43% alcohol. Cool bottle and the price in Total Wines was $20 making this a great deal. When sipping it needs ice. Otherwise this is a very high end mixing rum. Well worth having in your collection.

Posted almost 5 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

En soit je lui mettrai normalement un 7 pour le rhum en lui même, je monte à 8 pour saluer la transparence liée à cette fabrication sans additifs, ce côté brut et le prix tout à fait convenable et cohérent. Pas un rhum d'exception mais très bon sec, arômes riches, un bon rhum à déguster facilement.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

So I recently tried this rum and... you know what? It was good. It was really good. I believe this would taste like heaven in some coke. Or perhaps a rum daiquiri. Or something else. It is, IMO, the best mixer I've tried so far.

But I would not sip this rum straight. It has way too much burn, and as such is simply not smooth. There's an almost acetone(?) quality to it, which I expect from most mixing rums, but not from a sipping rum.

So mix it. Use it in your cocktails. But don't sip it straight.

Posted almost 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This unique bottle made me pull it off the shelf and the price of $22 was great motivator. Sealed with a imitation cork stopper. The body is light but flavorful. This sips great and is a wonderful rum for those that are just getting into aged rums.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

This is an aged rum that is excellent with Cola, but not complex enough to drink on the rocks or straight up. Sweet and woodsy. The bottle is awesome.

Posted about 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Really nice, sweet rum. I could drink this all night

Posted over 5 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

This is either an excellent mixing rum or just a fair sipping rum. Almost too good for mixing. Unfortunately, it's just not great as a sipping rum. It has a good caramel nose. Sweet vanilla at first. Then spicy a bit nutty but quickly turns harsh. Just not smooth enough to be a good sipping rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by David Hollander from Netherlands with 23 ratings

R.L. Seales 10 Y.O. is een gouden Rum die 10 jaar in kleine eikenhouten
vaten heeft gerijpt. Complexe aromas met hints van noten en intensief en rond in smaak met noten van zoete vanille. In de afdronk lang met tonen van gebrande amandelen.

De fles heeft dezelfde vorm als de vroegere flessen waar de zeelieden hun
rum in bewaarden.

Posted over 5 years ago by Ghibz from France with 4 ratings

At the Mabel bar in Paris :
Fist thing you notice is the cool design of the bottle itself !
Nice looking in the glass smells good and most important thing : very nice sensation in the mouth !
Dry rum spice and vanilla maybe anis and cedar notes !
Great one !

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

This rum was recommended by a rum connoisseur I met. Interesting and enjoyable. The opaque bottle plays a mean trick on you because before you can realize you're running low, it's gone.

Posted over 5 years ago by Darren from United States with 7 ratings

I find it sweet with a good alcohol flavor. Nice sipping rum for sure

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I guess when comparing the main stream rums, the biggest competitor is the Mount Gay XO. But the biggest difference to me with this, is that it has better and softer wood than the XO. The 43% alcohol is also better integrated and less spirity. Good.

Posted over 5 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Very smooth rum good aroma vanilla, smooth finish. No after burn.

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Outside of Mount Gay Extra Old this is what Bajan run should taste like. Slightly dry comparatively but that's what makes it a great choice as well.

Posted over 6 years ago by Case from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

Fresh nose, incredibly smooth to start with but then develops a real strong punch that lingers on your tongue. Plenty of oak, a bit of toffee sweetness but overall on the dry side. Really good.

Posted over 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Richard Seale is an advocate of purity in rum - no additives, all the flavors come from aging in barrels. Those with a sweet tooth will prefer rums like Diplomatico or Zacapa, but this is what rum should taste like.

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Love the bottle and the rum. Very Nice Smooth rum, great daily drinker

Posted over 7 years ago by Yablo Dratch from United States with 26 ratings

IMO, the third-best from Barbados, behind Doorly's and Mt. Gay XO

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A great rum, almost a must have, definitely a must try. The price tag is a bit much though. Not sure of the marketing dept thinking on that one. It would probably be a 9 if it didn't leave your wallet so light.

Posted 7 days ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum peu complexe sur la cerise et la vanille. Alcool pas trop présent et c’est bien fait pour un rhum de ce prix.

Posted 7 days ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

very nice gentle aroma. First taste is smooth, with wooden and boirbone tones. After starts a bit burning. Aftertaste is not very long and dry with biiter and oak. Overal I'm missing a bit more complexity and more pleasant aftertaste.

Posted 10 days ago by Jbarber from United States with 13 ratings

Not my favorite, but still nice when I want a change.

Posted 16 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Very full-bodied rum, great for sipping on the rocks. One of my favorites and typically much cheaper than rums of the same quality.

Easily has the richness and flavor of the Doorly's 12-year - this belongs on any rum drinkers bar.